< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 9 OF 15 ·
|Jan-20-08|| ||KamikazeAttack: <Have my doubts about that. Short is already saying he will not play and then the Bulgarian team will score another free point... this time it actually appears legally, but ethically is quite another matter. If Short <does> play, he will of course be unsettled enough.
I think Short would play. He recognises the loophole in the FIDE rule as it hasn't been ratified yet.
To refuse to play would undermine his own case and the appeals committee whose decisions, I am sure Short knows are fair and by the book.
|Jan-20-08|| ||Per: <acirce: Short is already saying he will not play >
Where did you see that?|
|Jan-20-08|| ||KamikazeAttack: <simsan: <KamikazeAttack> The statement from the appeals committe doesn't say anything about "approval" of the apology from any of the parites.
It only says that the apology has to be received (presumably by the appeals committe) by a certain deadline.|
If that apology contians the heading "apology" and somewhere on the page it says "Ivan Cheparinov apologizes for not having accepted Nigel Short's handshake offer" then it is hard for the committe to claim that Cheparinov's obligations have not been fulfilled.
I hope I am wrong, but I think it will be difficult to discard the "apology", even if the rest of the page/document contains a lot of selfrighteousness and random attacks at Danailov's many "enemies".
And one more thing. The statment does not say anything about the apology having to be accepted by N. Short. Maybe it's just me, but I don't think that would work either. Because somehow I think he wouldn't accept even the most sincere of apologies. Especially if it gives him the full point in the match
Regardless of its contents, an apology must be seen as such.
If not, the aggrieved party would complain and it would be up to the committee to decide if the apology is satisfactory or not.
|Jan-20-08|| ||simsan: I REALLY hope the game is played tomorrow and that everything plays out in accordance with the intents of the appeals committe.|
But I would not be surprised if we see some additional twists and turns (e.g. Short appealing to the appeals committe that the apology wasn't sincere enough) :-)
|Jan-20-08|| ||acirce: <Per> Several places. I guess we can completely disregard Chessdom as a reliable source but for example TWIC says the same. <In being ordered to replay Short clearly thought he had lost and said immediately afterwards he wouldn't play. However he won on every other point in the appeal and there was clear censure of Cheparinov's behaviour.> http://www.chesscenter.com/twic/twi...|
|Jan-20-08|| ||simsan: <KamikazeAttack> Yes, exactly what I fear will happen.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||nikooshu: shame on short! his behavior was childish and ridiculous! a man of his age cannot behave in this manner in front of a 20-year old guy.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||simsan: <nikooshu> They are both silly. |
I personally believe Short exhibited an overeagerness to get Cheparinov forfeited.
The arbiter(s) also exhibited poor judgement in letting themselves be overrun by Short's arguments.
But clearly Cheparinov - with his childish and unsportsmanlike refusal to shake hands - started the whole thing in the first place.
|Jan-20-08|| ||Squares: I hope Short plays and thrashes the immature boy.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||whiteshark: Cheparinov's apology will not be worth the paper it is written on.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||Per: This is just a joke, but how inclined toplay do you think Short would be upon receiving the following...?|
"Dear" Nigel Short,
Reacting to some very rude things you said about our team recently I refused to shake your hand at the beginning of our game. I do consider it extremely childish the way you behaved after that, approaching the arbiter as if to cry "Moooommy!
Really I think that You are the one that ought to think for a while about Your behaviour.
But on the other hand I perfectly realize that the only way to get to play this round without losing is to comply with the appeals committee.
So hereby I - according to the demand of the appeals committee - write you an apology.
|Jan-20-08|| ||simsan: <Per> If Danailov's mastery of the english language had been at your level, then I guess that's exactly what the apology would look like :-)|
|Jan-20-08|| ||acirce: <I think Short would play. He recognises the loophole in the FIDE rule as it hasn't been ratified yet.>|
Well, that's not the loophole. The Appeals Committee says the rule is actually in place. They are just referring to the other loophole.
<The Appeals Committee (GMs Vladimir Kramnik, Michal Krasenkow, Judit Polgar) agrees that refusal to shake hands with oneís opponent before the game is an obvious violation of the behavioural norms of players in chess events.
According to the decision of FIDE Presidential Board taken in June 2007, any player who doesnít shake hands with his/her opponent (and doesnít do it after being asked to do so by the arbiter) will immediately lose the game.
However, according to the information obtained by the Appeals Committee, in the relevant case GM Cheparinov, after his initial refusal to shake hands with GM Short, didnít clearly reject the arbiterís request to do so.>
All a bit confusing...
|Jan-20-08|| ||Squares: Per, name 3 rude statements made by Short against team Topalov. And then try to name one rude statement Shot made about Cheparinov.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||Mameluk: I still donīt get what is this Presidential board recomendation. Does it have no importance? The decision of the appeals commitee surely wants both players to behave like gentlemen, but is this supported by rules?|
|Jan-20-08|| ||acirce: Here is Chessdom's video of the incident. I hope they did not falsify it :-)|
|Jan-20-08|| ||brankat: Seems to be genuine.|
|Jan-20-08|| ||NakoSonorense: It's funnier than I thought it would be. :)|
|Jan-20-08|| ||nikooshu: Short doesn't look at all surprised by this. He was certainly expecting it, and for good reason obviously. He didn't look very distressed in his interview afterwards either. What a pitiful behavior! What a shameful end of a glorious carrier...|
|Jan-20-08|| ||Per: < acirce: >
Thanks! Fantastic vid! Comedy at highest level..!
|Jan-20-08|| ||minasina: Tomorrow (Mon-21-08) is resting day, but...but apparently there should be shaking heads ... hands after the arbiter demand http://www.coruschess.com/article.p... |
So, probably round #8 will continue Monday, Jan-21-2008 with one game
04:30 Pacific Standard Time (UTC/GMT -8)
07:30 Eastern Standard Time USA (UTC/GMT -5)
13:30 Central European Time (UTC/GMT +1)
16:30 Gulf Standard / Armenia / Azerbaijan Time (UTC/GMT +4)
20:30 China Coast Time (UTC/GMT +8)
http://www.coruschess.com/ official website; http://www.coruschess.com/schedule.... schedule, group B; http://www.coruschess.com/openlive LIVE game viewer
|Jan-20-08|| ||TrueBlue: I love Chepa's fake. He kind of moves to rich Short's hand but then goes for his jacket :)|
|Jan-20-08|| ||Stonehenge: How can the game be played tomorrow when it has already been played today? 1. e4 c5 1-0|
|Jan-20-08|| ||TrueBlue: come on Short, can't you see Chaparinov was too busy removing his jacket to shake your hand!?!?!?!|
|Jan-20-08|| ||PositionalBomber: No offense, but the best part if this video is Aronian walking out from a wall.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 9 OF 15 ·