|Mar-08-05|| ||Hesam7: What else do you expect from Karpov? Teaching Anand endgame of opposite colored Bishops! Karpov again shows his skill in endgame.|
I don't understand Anand's 39.c6
|Nov-01-05|| ||Karpova: <I don't understand Anand's 39.c6>|
Black threatens the pawn on h5. White has to prevent bh5: at any cost because white couldn't stop the pawn on a5 and the pawn storm on the king's side.
With 39.c6 he prevents 39...bh5:?? (40.c7 and white wins) and gains time for f3 and g4.
it didn't change the result but it makes sense
|Nov-21-05|| ||Hesam7: <Karpova> your comment makes sense but IMO 39. f3 looks much better. For example:|
39. f3 Bxh5 40. c6 Be8 41. c7 Bd7 42. Kf2
And this does not look that winning to me. Here is a line:
42... f4 43. Ke2 Kg6 44. Bc5 Kf5 45. Bf8 Kxe5 46. Bxg7 Kd6 47. Bxh6 e5 48. Bg7 a4 49. Kd3 a3 50. Ke4 Bc6 51. Kf5 Bd7 52. Ke4 Bc6 =
|Jan-28-06|| ||Karpova: black is in no hurry to take on h5 and answer 39.f3 with f4
karpov jut leaves his bishop on e8 and maybe moves his king to the centre via g8, f8 and e7
what is white supposed to do? with the black king in the centre, white has no c6-c7 threat anymore while his bishop remains passive and the pawn on h5 weak.|
|Oct-04-08|| ||plang: With 7..Nxd5 Karpov transposed the game into the Semi-Tarrasch defense. 12 h4 was a relatively new move that had been played a few times previously but not at this level. 12..Nf5, which decreased White's attacking chances was a new move; 12..Bd7 had been played previously. Karpov was not worried about the continuation 13 Bxf5..exf 14 Nxd5..Qxd5 15 Bg5 although this probably would have been a better continuation for Anand who ended up exchanging his powerful bishop on e4 under less favorable conditions. Anand probably should have played 19 exf..Qxf6 20 Be3..Qf5 which Karpov felt would have led to a draw although Seirawan thought that White would be better after 21 Qxf5..exf
22 Bc5..Rd8 23 Re7. Karpov showed that 22 Qxb7..Bc6 23 Qc7..Rc8 24 Qxa7..Qxh5 25 f3..Bxf3! leads to a winning attack for Black. Seirawan was critical of 30 a4? for allowing Black an outside passed pawn. Ftacnik showed that a draw was probable after
35 Qd8..Qxh5 36 Be3..Qg6 37 Qa8!. Kasparov on 39 c6?:"..if White had retained his c-pawn the win for Black would have been more difficult. Anand was hoping to ease his defense by retaining an equal number of pawns on the kingside". Karpov's clever 40..f4! led to an advantage for Black on the kingside; Anand could not defend both sides of the board. This win put Karpov up 2-1 in the six game match. It was his first win with Black against Anand.|
|Oct-10-08|| ||Woody Wood Pusher: 20..Bb5! and black gains an important tempo to regroup his pieces.|
Anand pressed too hard for the win in this game, when he could have forced the draw a couple of times early on, succumbing to the awesome endgame skills of the 12th world champion.
|Oct-10-08|| ||talisman: how many days off did anand get before he had to play for the world championship?|
|Oct-10-08|| ||Jim Bartle: Three days.|
|Oct-11-08|| ||Woody Wood Pusher: The question should be, 'how many fewer days did Anand get than was stipulated in the original contract which he agreed to before the first pawn was pushed?' The answer is of course, NONE!|
If Anand thought that the time table was too much he should have protested before signing the contract and playing in the event. He could have either gotten it changed or not taken part.
Either way, complaining about the 'fairness' of the arrangements you agreed to play under after you have lost is bad-sportsmanship. If he had won, then he would not have complained.
|May-13-09|| ||WhiteRook48: Ouch by Anand|
|May-03-10|| ||alexrawlings: Could Anand have held on for a draw with 49 Ke3? I thought endgames with opposite coloured bishops were almost always theoretically drawn, whether on not one side had an extra pawn...|
|Aug-02-12|| ||PSC: <alexrawlings: Could Anand have held on for a draw with 49 Ke3?> 49.Ke3 then 49...g5 and Black creates a distant passed pawn on the k-side.|
<I thought endgames with opposite coloured bishops were almost always theoretically drawn, whether on not one side had an extra pawn.> With passed pawns on both wings the winning chances increase - with passed pawns on the a- and h-files, the winning chances increase dramatically as the defender's bishop is easily overworked, as in this game.
|Aug-02-12|| ||PSC: <plang> Karpov says of 39.c6?!: |
<Despite the opposite-colored bishops, the endgame is very difficult for White, and he couldn't hold it. He could have put up more resistance by 39.Bc3 a4 40.Bb4, although with 40...Bxh5! 41.c6 Be2 42.c7 Ba6 Black still has excellent chances for success.>
|Sep-15-12|| ||QueentakesKing: <I recommend this game> End game technique.|
|Sep-22-12|| ||Gambit All: Karpov's whole series of moves 16-20 is typical of his ingenious positional play. First leaving all his pieces on the back rank; then giving himself a backward King Pawn; then seemingly exposing his Queen in a combination that would have won him a pawn. Most people would just never consider any of those moves.|
|May-20-13|| ||JoeSydney: I am reading about this game in "Find the right plan with Anatoly Karpov" I am having diffuculty comprehending the comment after white move 19. Qe2. The comment is "Overestimating his chances. It was time to play for equality - 19 ef", as black move 18 is f5, e5 cannot take f5... plang on Oct-04-08 makes a similar assertion when he says "Anand probably should have played 19 exf.." so what is the fault in my reasoning, can anybody put me on the right track?|
|May-20-13|| ||Eggman: <<JoeSydney>> Surely you're familiar with the en passant rule?|
click for larger view
In the diagram above Black's pawn has just gone to f5 from f7, allowing White to capture en passant, thus 19.exf5, whereupon White's e-pawn winds up on f6, which will look like this:
click for larger view
If this doesn't make sense to you then search the term "en passant" on wikipedia.
|May-20-13|| ||JoeSydney: Thank you, I woke up at 4am I was dreaming that, I was missing an 'en passant', I woke up to delete my comment but it was too late.|
|May-20-13|| ||JoeSydney: Just as an aside, the time stamp are probably USA time zone, here in Australia we are already May-21-13 4:34 am|
|May-21-16|| ||thegoodanarchist: <alexrawlings: Could Anand have held on for a draw with 49 Ke3? I thought endgames with opposite coloured bishops were almost always theoretically drawn, whether on not one side had an extra pawn...>|
No, it depends on the pawn structure and king positions.