Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing

(If you register a free account you won't see all these ads!)
Adolf Anderssen vs Gustav Richard Neumann
Berlin (1864), Berlin GER
King's Gambit: Accepted. Muzio Gambit Accepted From Defense (C37)  ·  0-1


explore this opening
find similar games 81 more Anderssen/G Neumann games
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: You can get computer analysis by clicking the "ENGINE" button below the game.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.

Kibitzer's Corner
Jul-13-09  Knight13: Anybody know where White went wrong?

It's not like Anderssen to mess up King's Gambit like this!

Premium Chessgames Member
  tamar: 15 Bxg8 looks like a clunker. Why exchange off an unmoved piece when Black has spent 5 moves to get the other knight from b8 to e8?
Premium Chessgames Member
  An Englishman: Good Evening: This is a puzzler--anyone notice that the "misplaced" Knight on e8 was the cornerstone of Black's defense *and* counterattack? It's extraordinary what Neumann does with this Knight. Perhaps Anderssen should have chopped off this Knight instead of the other?
Premium Chessgames Member
  tamar: A case of the wrong knight?

Taking 15 Bxe8 would give White d6 square, and White can plunk a piece there after 15...Kxe8 16 Bf4. I like it.

Anderssen probably had a similar idea to cramp Black with 16 e5 but missed 16...Qe6, which guards the g8 rook and thereby frees the bishop to take e5.

Premium Chessgames Member
  tamar: <This is a puzzler--anyone notice that the "misplaced" Knight on e8 was the cornerstone of Black's defense *and* counterattack?>

Players in Anderssen's time had a horror that these "ugly" defensive manouevers, championed by Steinitz and here by Neumann, could actually work.

Black's position looks terminal, but the knight on e8 performs heroic functions on both sides of the board.

After 15 Bxe8 Rybka shows Black can hold the draw with the zwischenzug 15...Be5.

Is there a way to leave both knights on the board? Rybka shows an elegant solution.

15 Bf4! If 15...Ngf6
16 Bc7+ Nxc7
17 Qxg7 Ne8
18 Qxh8 Qxf7
19 e5 Qg8
20 Qxg8+ Nxg8

click for larger view

A funny scene. The knights end up on their original squares after a forced sequence. White will pick up the h pawn, and black still must find a way to develop.

Premium Chessgames Member

click for larger view

14.Bc5 Qg5
Would have left Black's position crimped beyond uncrimpability.

click for larger view

Premium Chessgames Member
  fredthebear: Black's 10...c6 comes in handy. 11.Qg3 looks useful with bishop threats on the g-file. In hindsight, the White queen has little impact. Ugly or not, the Black knights do their job!
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply. Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous, and 100% free--plus, it entitles you to features otherwise unavailable. Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should login now.
Please observe our posting guidelines:
  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
  3. No personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No posting personal information of members.
Blow the Whistle See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.

NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page. This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of, its employees, or sponsors.
Spot an error? Please submit a correction slip and help us eliminate database mistakes!
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)

Featured in the Following Game Collections [what is this?]
KGA. Muzio Gambit Accepted From Def (C37) 0-1 Every U has a job
from g-pawn/file demolition after Fredthebear's ECO C by fredthebear
KGA. Muzio Gambit Accepted From Def (C37) 0-1 Useless moves
from x( C37 ) KGA Quade, Salvio, Muzio Gambit, etc. by fredthebear

home | about | login | logout | F.A.Q. | your profile | preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | new kibitzing | chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | privacy notice | contact us
Copyright 2001-2018, Chessgames Services LLC