|Oct-09-04|| ||offramp: Another game where the 3-fold repetition rule seems suspended. |
|May-17-05|| ||Runemaster: I don't know what the exact rule was that applied to that tournament, but I expect that as usual the player wanting to claim triple repetition had to actually claim it as he makes his move, so it would not have been automatic.|
|May-22-06|| ||gulliver: The bishop maneuvere on moves 85-88 is nice and one can learn about endings from it. It is like black is earning a move, or saying to white now it is your turn|
|Jul-25-08|| ||Fusilli: <offramp: Another game where the 3-fold repetition rule seems suspended.>|
I think there's no three-fold repetition of position here. The rule is that you can claim a draw if the same position repeats itself three times, isn't it? What are the three instances where the position was repeated? I think there is no such thing between moves 65 and 74. In reading Black's Queen moves I don't see the Queen going to the same square three times. Do you mean some other occasion in the game?
Altogether, a very fine game by Bondarevsky with the Black pieces against one of the best players who ever lived.
|Nov-09-09|| ||Plato: One of only two games Botvinnik lost in this tournament (out of 20 games against very strong opposition).|
On move 39, probably in severe time trouble one move before the time control was reached, Botvinnik misses the win:
39.Nxd4 Rxd4, 40.Qc3 Qf6, 41.Rg7! (intending 42.Qg3) and Black is helpless.
|Feb-06-10|| ||crwynn: The opening did not turn out very well for Botvinnik here, of course there is the question of whether the Queen should go to d2 or c2 in this variation, but the answer is certainly not, "both"! 11.Qd2 essentially wastes a tempo to help Black carry out the ...d4 push, because of this White is soon forced to give up the idea of playing against an isolated pawn, and allows a symmetrical structure with 17.Nd4.|
<Plato: One of only two games Botvinnik lost in this tournament (out of 20 games against very strong opposition).
On move 39, probably in severe time trouble one move before the time control was reached, Botvinnik misses the win:>
This seems to imply Botvinnik was heading to his usual victory and got derailed somehow; it was actually Black that went astray in time trouble. By move 28 Black has a clear advantage; probably both players were somewhat inaccurate for the next few moves, but 35.Rce1? was a serious error and 35...Rc2 would win. Instead Black was worried about the d5 pawn and played 35...Be4? allowing an exchange that relieved the pressure.
|Aug-22-12|| ||perfidious: < Fusilli: <offramp: Another game where the 3-fold repetition rule seems suspended.>
....The rule is that you can claim a draw if the same position repeats itself three times, isn't it?....>|
There's more to it than that: the same player must be on move in each case and the dynamic elements of the position must remain as they were; eg, a player cannot have moved his/her king to f7 and e8 after, say, the second repetition.
For an incorrect claim under the rules, see this game (Keene vs P H Donoso Velasco, 1976) and White's annotations, particularly at his 78th move.
|Dec-08-16|| ||edubueno: Qué bien jugaba Bondarevsky|