< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Jun-21-04|| ||donhart: <Everyone> I've seen very few chess diagrams, in puzzles or otherwise, in which White was NOT travelling north. While there are some exceptions, 'White heads north' is still the rule. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||donhart: I'm no genius when it comes to puzzles, but I got this one instantly because of the work that I've done with Capablanca's "Chess Fundamentals." I would suggest this slim, easy-to-read volume to anyone who wants to sharpen their endgame skills. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||MatrixManNe0: Whew, It's a good thing that I was brushing up on my endgame skilles, eh?|
|Jun-21-04|| ||kevin86: I still find it quaint that in one variation,white stalemates himself:|
66♔b6 ♔c8 67♔a7 ♔c7 68 a6 ♔c8 69 ♔a8 ♔c7 70 a7 ♔c8 draw.
With a rook pawn it is always a race-can white get to b7 before black can get to c8-here the answer is no,so we have a draw.
|Jun-21-04|| ||gilbertv: Can someone explain why this is a draw to me? It looks like White can get a Queen to me. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||AntonioSonoQui: Well, you see, Gilberty... a rule about queening Rook pawns is that if the defender (in this case being Black) can reach the Bishop square of the 8th rank nearest the Rook pawn, then he can hold a draw. So, in this case, the Bishop square on the 8th rank would be the c8 square. As you can see, Black can reach that square and White cannot stop him. The reason that this rule exists is that if the defender can reach this key defensive square, White can make no headway. For instance, (make sure to play these variations out in order to get a good grasp of this rule) in the finish position, if White continues 66.Kb6, Black plays 66...Kc8 (on the key Bishop square)-- if then 67.a6, then 67...Kb8 68.a7+ Ka8 and now any White move is a draw (69.Ka6 stalemate or 69.Kc7 Kxa7). Now, another variation may run (starting from the beginning) 66.Kb6 Kc8 67.Ka7 Kc7 68.a6 Kc8 (keeping on that c8-square) 69.Ka8 Kc7 70.a7 Kc8 stalemate... and then there is also (from the beginning) 66.Kb6 Kc8 67.Ka7 Kc7 68.a6 Kc8 69.Kb6 Kb8 70.a7+ Ka8 and then we get back into the same position as in the first variation where any move will be a draw. Hope this helped, Gilberty! |
|Jun-21-04|| ||kevin86: There are two possible conclusions:
In the first,black is able to get his king to a8 and b8-after which,white can never chase him away and can only stalemate him. With other pawns,white can chase the king out the other side-but with a rook pawn,there is no other side.
Second,white's king can go in front of the pawn himself-but then is unable to escape from the rook file and is himself-stalemated.
|Jun-21-04|| ||AntonioSonoQui: By the way, Gilberty, if White just decides to push his a-pawn instead, then Black will just get to it in time and eat it up. 66.a6 Kc8 67.a7 Kb7 and the pawn is going to be with the Lord. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||ruylopez900: Classic endgame sacrifice in which the Bishop is worth quite a lot less then the great and mighty "Connected Passed Pawn" :) |
|Jun-21-04|| ||Whitehat1963: I usually have no problem seeing the solution to the Monday puzzles, but I think it always helps knowing that they get harder as the week progresses. So you know to look for simple solutions early in the week, like today's. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||Poohavez: Quite instructive endgame!
In fact, position was definitely drawn long before, by White's 58th move at least.
But, the situation after 48...Kf5 seems clearly to be won by White, despite unfortunate position of White's king. Where did he blunder?? My current guess is that the 49.b4 is THE mistake, 49.Kg3 seems to be much better. White's pawns a2-b3 restrict Bishop's manouvers along a2-g8 which allows White king to move around to c3-d3 without loosing pawn f3. After that Black is doomed.
<chessgames.com> Would be interesting to hear Crafty's opinion about that.
|Jun-21-04|| ||crafty: 49. ♔g3 ♗e2 50. f3 ♗d1 51. e4+ ♔e5 52. ♔g4 ♗e2 (eval 1.20; depth 20 ply; 1000M nodes)|
|Jun-21-04|| ||acirce: <Poohavez> Why is crafty's line won? |
|Jun-21-04|| ||Poohavez: <acirce> I looked at (after Crafty's line) 53.a4 Bd1 54.a5 Bxb3 55.a6 and it is won. But after 54.Be2 it again looks like a draw.
So, maybe was it draw from the beginning (after 48...Kf5)? I don't know. |
|Jun-21-04|| ||midknightblue: suddenly endgame 101 from chessgames. Hello Monday. I got it even quicker than ferocious beast! |
|Jun-22-04|| ||Calli: <Poohavez> I am not sure Kg3 is really any different than the game. Without f3, black can play Ke4 at some point. White's golden opportunity came at move 40. He can put the Black king almost out of the game with 40.Rc7! followed by Nd4 must be a win. |
|Jun-22-04|| ||Elrathia Kingi: Does 58.a4 win? |
|Jun-22-04|| ||Poohavez: Well, it seems that the Crafty's line might not be the best:)
Here is my analysis (w/o blunders, I hope). The winning idea for White is to create advanced a-pawn (or b-pawn) tying the Black bishop, then get king to g5 and march f-pawn.|
After 49.Kg3 Be2 50.a4! three most interesting main lines are:
1) 50...Bd1 51.a5 Bxb3 52.a6 Bd5 53. a7 Ke4 54. Kg4
2) 50...Bd3 51.b4 Ke4 52.b5 Ba6 53.f3 Bb7 54.e4+
3) 50...Ke4 51.b4 Kd5 52.f4 Bd1 53.a5 Be2 54.Kh4 Bd3 55.Kg5 Ke6 56. e4 Bxe4 a6
Other variants are linear combinations of these three.
|Jun-22-04|| ||Poohavez: <Calli> < I am not sure Kg3 is really any different than the game.> Kg3 makes all the difference, because it not allows Black bishop to get on a4-e8 where it controls both pawns a3, b4 and forbids advance of White king through square g4. |
|Jun-22-04|| ||Calli: <Poohavez> Sorry, I wasn't looking at Crafty's line, but 49.Be2? looks bad to me. After 49.Kg3 Bd5 stops the pawn advance short of a6. If 50.a4 Bxb3 51.a5 Bc4 |
|Jun-23-04|| ||Poohavez: <calli> 49...Bd5 leads to an almost forced line:
50.f3 Bf7 51.Kf2 Ke5 52.Ke2 Bh5 53.a3 Bf7 54.b4 Bh5 55.a4 Kd5 56.e4 Kc4 57.a5 Kxb4 58.a6 Be8 59.a7 Bc6 60.e5 and White wins. |
|Jun-23-04|| ||Poohavez: <calli> 49...Bd5 leads to following line: 50.f3 Bf7 51.Kf2 Ke5 52.Ke2 Bh5 53.b4 Be8 54.Kd3 Bb5 55.Kc3 Bc6 56.f4 Ke4 57.Kc4 Kxe3 58.Kc5 and White wins |
|Jun-24-04|| ||Calli: <Poohavez> Looks good! |
|Nov-08-05|| ||DP12: What a ridiculous save!
|Jan-20-17|| ||Smothered Mate: All relevant mates are less than 50
after the most recent [capture or pawn move] that was
_not_ after the relevant move, so the 50-move rule
does not affect any of the rest of this post.
According to the Lomonosov tablebases:
Black is lost after 46. ... Kxh6 , and 46. ... Bf3+ 47. Kxh3 Bxh5 would've lost at least one move faster.
50. a3 just draws. Kh5! was the only winning move.
56. ... Bc6 and 57. ... Bxf3 (both played)
were both only-drawing-moves.
According to at-most-6-piece tablebases:
59. ... Kxe3 and 62. ... Ke6 (both played) and all of
black's subsequent moves were all only-drawing-moves.
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·