|Jul-27-02|| ||refutor: the positional queen "sac" always impresses me... |
|Mar-30-04|| ||Lawrence: 36...Rxb7? loses. Should have played 36...Qa2. (Junior 8) |
|Dec-14-04|| ||Everett: Lawrence, any analysis after Junior's improvement? |
|Dec-15-04|| ||Lawrence: <Everett>, Junior 8 suggest
39.♔g2 ♖d7 eval +0.41 (50 min.)
36.......♖xb7 gets an eval of +2.78
|Dec-18-04|| ||Everett: A shame, really. So many of these games are salvagable all the way to the end, yet they are often considered inexorable wins. |
|Sep-06-05|| ||Everett: Any improvements for white before that point?|
|Jul-11-08|| ||pikket: In Anatoly Karpov's Best Games, he writes: "34 ...♖xb7 would have lost: 35 ♗d5! ♕a5 (35...♕xd5 36 ♖xa6+ ♔b8 37 ♖h8+) 36 ♗xb7 ♔xb7 37 ♖xa6 ♕xa6 38 ♖xa6 ♔xa6 39 f4!"|
However, in the position after 39 f4 I can't find a win for white. It seems to me that (even though black probably can't take the f-pawn en passant) he will use his c-pawn to keep white's king tied down, eventually forcing white to play f5 (leaving the protection of the g-pawn) and the best white can do is to end up with a drawn ending (K+ g pawn v K) where black can easily get the opposition. Am I missing something especially subtle and clever though?
|Mar-04-12|| ||Abdooss: From Inside Chess, 1998/12
<S.W.I.F.T. World Cup I, Part Three
by Yasser Seirawan
A crazy round. Five of the six decisive games were won by Black. Karpov and Timman played the game of the tournament. See my annotations in Issue 10, page 5.> <http://www.chesscafe.com/yaz/yaz.htm>
|Mar-04-12|| ||SChesshevsky: <<Karpov and Timman played the game of the tournament.>>|
This was a great game.
I was thinking maybe Black could have been better off by getting White's rook back with 26...Qa1+ 27. Rd1 then again getting a tempo with 27...Qa2.
Eventually he's probably going to have to give up the Rook for the Bishop and advanced pawn but by holding the tempo and getting one rook back and pressuring the backward b pawn and postponing White luft, I'm thinking maybe he can get and hold a Q + P vs R + R ending.
|Apr-23-15|| ||positionalgenius: Great game played here between these two legends of chess. |
17.dxc6! is an innovative idea in this position
|Nov-25-15|| ||lentin: Hello pikket,
Yesterday I read this game from the book you mentioned. I also thought that 39 f4! and a claim of white win was some kind of error.
I checked with StockFish engine with SCID after 39 f4. It is a dead draw. Black does not need to capture the pawn with En Passant to achieve the draw.
StockFish recommends to keep the 2 rooks after Bxb7 for +0.60 advantage.
|Nov-25-15|| ||Olavi: An embarrassing mistake for Karpov to make, reminiscent of Shirov vs Timman, 1996 where black resigned because of 49...Kd6 50.h4 Kxc6 51.f5 and 52.f6, but it's a draw. The thought of a protected passed pawn in a pawn ending is suggestive.|
|Nov-29-15|| ||Howard: Evans commented on this game in a 1998 issue of Chess Life---I think a reader won the Best Question award in that month's column for inquiring about this game.|
I don't recall the exact month in 1998, but I remember this---an 11-year-old kid named Nakamura was on the cover.
|Mar-03-16|| ||Howard: Anyone have access to that particular issue, as well as what the question was?|
|Mar-03-16|| ||DLev: Howard, you are correct about the cover. It was May, 1998. The question, submitted by Charles Hertan, was similar to pikket's July 11 2008 post and gives a diagram after 39. f4 in Karpov's note and a couple lines showing that black draws, with one line reminiscent of Reti's famous study. Evans' answer begins, "Right on all counts."|
|Mar-04-16|| ||Howard: Yes, I do recall in that issue, someone pointed out that Karpov's note was incorrect.|
Incidentally, didn't Hertan also say that that game was judged as one of the best in the Informant? If so, I think that was incorrect---but I'll double-check that volume later today.
|Feb-02-17|| ||hoodrobin: It was a beauty prize for Karpov (Queen sacrifice). However Timman had the advantage before <22...Nc6?>. Had he played <22...c6!> he could have won (Timman).|