< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Sep-09-10|| ||Figs: What a fantastic game, one of my favourites. This game epitomises what I admire about chess sacrifices, but sadly will never be able to replicate in my own games.|
|Feb-23-12|| ||Jonathan Sarfati: GM Keene might have seen the touch-move incident, which Kasparov talks about in his recent book Garry Kasparov on Garry Kasparov, part I; (2011, Everyman Chess). He says that Karpov agreed that Georgiev touched the wrong piece, but of course a team-mate could not be considered an impartial witness.|
|Feb-23-12|| ||King Death: This is a touch move incident involving Kasparov that I never heard about until now. It's very funny that any strong player should have a couple of these.|
|Feb-23-12|| ||Jim Bartle: Where did Kasparov stand in the chess world at the time of this game? What position was he playing on the Soviet team?|
|Feb-23-12|| ||tamar: Played as second reserve for the victorious Soviet team. |
Can you imagine being Krum, and seeing them trot Kasparov out?
|Feb-23-12|| ||tamar: On further checking, I see Hungary tied the USSR for 1st that year http://blog.chess.com/cgs/sprint-ra...|
Kasparov was not yet a GM, when this game was played.
|Feb-23-12|| ||keypusher: <Jim Bartle> <tamar>|
Not yet 18, he was the third rated player in the world per chessmetrics, behind Karpov and Korchnoi. Don't know what his elo rating was.
|Feb-23-12|| ||King Death: < tamar: ...Kasparov was not yet a GM, when this game was played...>|
He'd already made the norms and was awarded the title during that Olympiad.
|Feb-23-12|| ||King Death: < keypusher: <Jim Bartle> <tamar>
Not yet 18, he was the third rated player in the world per chessmetrics, behind Karpov and Korchnoi. Don't know what his elo rating was...>|
In Schiller's book, if I remember right he was 2595 at the World Junior in Dortmund held soon before Malta, but I'm not sure either.
|Feb-23-12|| ||Jim Bartle: Thanks, everyone.|
|Feb-24-12|| ||Penguincw: Kasparov had to have a couple of defeats along the way.|
|Feb-24-12|| ||Jim Bartle: He only lost three games of 58 in 1980.|
|Feb-24-12|| ||SimonWebbsTiger: GK appears on the ELO list in Informator 30 back then at 2625|
|Feb-24-12|| ||SimonWebbsTiger: ps. Addendum!
He had the GM title there, so that was after Malta. Looking at the other list prior to that (Inf. 28), he was a 2595 IM, which harmonises with <King Death>s post
|Feb-24-12|| ||King Death: <Simon> Informant 30 would be through the end of 1980 so that have to be the January 1981 list I think.|
|Feb-24-12|| ||King Death: < Jim Bartle: He only lost three games of 58 in 1980.>|
At most Jim it was actually 2 because the game with Hofmann was from a simul and there's some question if he was Black in this game, Smyslov vs Kasparov, 1980.
Now check out this score from another source. http://www.365chess.com/search_resu...
It's no wonder that Schiller never mentioned this loss in his book on Kasparov, I doubt it ever happened!
|Feb-25-12|| ||Jim Bartle: I just looked at the games here, KD. My point was that Kasparov losses were already rare in 1980. If they're even more rare than I stated, it makes my point stronger.|
|Apr-11-12|| ||Marmot PFL: <"At the 1980 Malta olympiad Kasparov tried to use the "touch move" rule differently. In a hopeless position against Bulgaria's Krum Georgiev, Kasparov claimed that his opponent touched his pawn while he was trying to retake his bishop. Georgiev denied it. If enforced he would have lost a rook and could have resigned. The tournament arbiter, Lothar Schmid of Germany, did not buy Kasparov's claim and allowed the Bulgarian to proceed with the move he intended.">|
Maybe playing on so long in a lost ending was GK's way of protesting. On the other hand I can't see where white's infraction as described in the article could have occurred.
|Apr-11-12|| ||acirce: At move 21 according to an earlier post. Kasparov tried to enforce 21.Rxd6 (apparently).|
|May-17-12|| ||Poisonpawns: Kasparov was IM 2595 at the time. He was board 6. The team was 1.Karpov 2735 2.Polugaevsky2635 3.Tal 2705 4.Geller 2565 5.Balashov 2600|
|Aug-10-13|| ||dastak2: Where did Kasparov made mistake in this opening?
I put this game into analysis in Houdini 2.0 Pro w32 and it wasn't able to understand white's opening moves and evaluated them wrongly, giving plus points to black after the Knight sacrifices and only understanding white's advantage after about 20 forced moves in different variations!
Kasparov just played the Houdini's choices and got lost!
As far as I'm concerned, Black is dead after the first 15 moves!!!
|Jul-14-15|| ||tivrfoa: <Pencho: How it came that this hasn't been GotD yet?> I thought the same thing. =)|
|May-24-16|| ||Razgriz: This needs to be GoTD. We just need the pun.|
|Mar-28-17|| ||zanzibar: 11.Ncb5!? might be theory today, but it was a TN in 1980. |
This game marks its debut on <CG>, but <MB> has an earlier game, again with Georgiev as White:
<Georgiev--Rashkovsky, N. (1979) Dubna 20 1/2-1/2>
Maybe someone with an old Informant can check that the TN is attributable to Georgiev?
|Mar-29-17|| ||Retireborn: <z> Georgiev-Rashkovsky does seem to be the first game in which 11.Ncb5 was played. It was published in Informator 27 (likely Kasparov saw it there) and the annotator (Lepeshkin) suggested that 11...axb5 12.Bxb5+ Nfd7 13.Qh3 would give White the initiative. No doubt Kasparov had discovered that in that case 13...b3! wins for Black (mentioned by Georgiev in his Informator notes to this game.)|
So 13.Nxe6! is the real novelty and Georgiev awards it the N symbol in Informator. And it pretty much wins by force!
The next game in Informator with this line was:-
A Kosten vs A Kuligowski, 1981
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·