< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Oct-11-07|| ||syracrophy: C'mon, Chad! Were you really expecting the blunder 54...♔xh6?? You have to read better the name of your opponent next time you try this kind of silly traps|
|Oct-11-07|| ||khense: Chandler didn't know about the wrong bishop??? After black plays Nh6 there must have been lots of ways for white to proceed with a patient win.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||think: Wow. This isn't quite as spectacular as a stalemate trap, but it is quite clever. Perhaps they were in time trouble when Chandler fell into the trap.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||Judah: Of course, Chandler needed to keep his g-pawn, since his bishop can't get to h8. As <who> commented, he must have expected KxP, allowing him to get to the corner with his King, and eventually queen the pawn; still, it was a careless mistake.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||Aspirador: <After black plays Nh6 there must have been lots of ways for white to proceed with a patient win.> I wouldn't say that the win is entirely trivial. Black toggles his knight on either h6-g4 or h6-g8. How would you win this as white?|
|Oct-11-07|| ||Giearth: We have to remember that this was a 27-year-old Chandler vs 18-year-old Polgar :) Not yet a GM (I mean Polgar... perhaps I should check about that too, the GM-thing I mean... ;)), I think perhaps Chandler just underestimated her a little bit, and perhaps a little bit overconfident, perhaps......|
|Oct-11-07|| ||nuwanda: hi <Aspirador>, nowadays these questions are rather easy for us SuperPros, we dont need our head, only the tablebase...|
against your plan: white moves the pawn to h5, the king to f4 and the bishop to the diagonal a2-g8... and there is no toggeling anymore
|Oct-11-07|| ||Wolfgang01: I don't see there a swindle. If white takes the K, he can't promote. He should know this. Susan knows the rules better than Murray. You can't save points by resigning. Let's smile for both of them: Susan being lucky and Murray being foolish (this time).|
On board we also have sometimes situations like these. We do our move and notice suddenly, that we've made an error. If our opponent doesn't notice our error we're lucky otherwise not. That's all.
|Oct-11-07|| ||ILoveCrazyhouse: what a donkey.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||arnaud1959: Years ago I saved a game against an opponent who had +600 rating points then I did. I had N against B+2P but the position was totally different. It was something like white with pawns d4, e5 and black coloured bishop and black with Ke6 + Nd5. I only moved my knight back and forth and my opponent had never been able to cover all 8 squares available to the Knight. Basically I was lucky.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||ILoveCrazyhouse: <arnaud> i hesitate to make the following joke, but i can't resist. were you rated 900?|
|Oct-11-07|| ||Peligroso Patzer: <think: *** Perhaps they were in time trouble when Chandler fell into the trap.>|
It is hard to imagine any other explanation for 54. gxh6+??. It is elementary that two (or more) pawns on a rook file with the wrong color promotion square are no more able to win than is one pawn in this type of ending [King, Bishop and pawn(s) versus lone King].
Perhaps after 53. ... ♘h6, Chandler in time pressure touched the Black Knight a split second before realizing that the position would be drawn after the capture. Not being world champion, once having touched the Knight, he would have been subject to the touch-move rule and therefore obligated to play 54. gxh6+??. (Compare: Judit Polgar vs Kasparov, 1994.)
|Oct-11-07|| ||znprdx: Actually it is a pity Zsuzsa didn't win... her time control move was truly inspired...|
if 41.Rxd3 Ne3+ forces 42.Kh3 (h5? ...g5 discovered check bags the bish)
and now the beautiful .... Ra7: she was robbed!
|Oct-11-07|| ||Peligroso Patzer: <znprdx: Actually it is a pity Zsuzsa didn't win... her time control move [40. ... ♘d5] was truly inspired... if 41.♖xd3 [sic; 41. ♖xd6 was presumably intended] [then 41. ...] ♘e3+ forces 42.♔h3 ([If 42. ♔h5? [then 42.] ...g5 discovered check bags the bish[op]) and now the beautiful [42.] ... ♖a7: she was robbed!>|
Nice analysis. Perhaps the time Chandler took to analyze this trap was what might have left him short of time at move 54.
|Oct-11-07|| ||arnaud1959: <ILoveCrazyhouse: were you rated 900?> I was about 1600 and without knowing what I was doing I obtained a very good position in the late middle game but later I messed up everything. My opponent had several ways to win but I guess he thought this was the easiest way. He was wrong.|
The problem is that the white king can control not more than 2 squares where the N can go at the same time and the bishop can control 4. The pawn e5 can control the f6 square so in total it makes 7. There's still 1 square left for the knight.
|Oct-11-07|| ||kevin86: I don't know if you can blame white too much for capturing the knight at h6-after all,the knight could have sacrificed itself for the pawn at virtually any time. The fact that the position is won-could be an optical illusion. The position is most unfavorable for the superior side. The black king is in front of the pawns and the bishop is of the wrong color. Clearly,if the bishop is a dark square bishop,the pitfall would be a non-facror.|
|Oct-11-07|| ||aragorn69: One of the worst games between GMs I've seen in a while...|
|Oct-11-07|| ||twin phoenix: gxh6?? wish i could say i've never fallen for that trap. but alas this very same end position occurred in a speed game of mine about a month ago. i was the idiot that took the knight as in the game. draw results when white was clearly winning.|
i disagree with aragorn i thought it was an interesting game with plenty of fireworks. take for example the 17.e5! dunno why black doesn't accept the sack. it just screams danger.
|Oct-11-07|| ||pawnofdoom: In the endgame position after 36. ♖xa2 Black is up 3 pawns to 2 pawns. But then a while later at 49. ♔xf4 somehow black lost all three of the pawns! Seems like bad endgame play. Strange how black manages to do that, but still draws the game|
|Oct-11-07|| ||PhilFeeley: Where did Polgar go wrong earlier? I thought she had a comfortable attack and was winning. How did she end up two pawns down?|
|Apr-04-08|| ||Thomas Pitcher: 54. h4 leads to a white victory. I had the B+P+K v K which is drawn and it took my opponent 11 moves to realise that is was a drawn!|
|Apr-16-08|| ||IMFSTJP: "Hey, Murray, look -- free knight!" from below. I like it very much. Interesting Mr. Murray still tried on moves 55 and 56 to force a counter-blunder. The draw trap was well prepared and should become a part of any chess syllabus. Premature resignation would have spoiled this game a lot.|
|Aug-05-09|| ||WhiteRook48: 54 h4|
|Oct-21-10|| ||Tigranny: Oops is right Whitehat1963. Chandler should've been more patient by moving his h pawn. And whenever there's a match, they can't expect blunders back after they blunder. Also, why did Polgar play horribly in the endgame? She had 3 pawns and gave them all away. She could've had a chance to win if she took care of them.|
|Dec-04-10|| ||Tigranny: I forgot to add, I think this is my favorite blunder.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·