|Mar-09-07|| ||Autoreparaturwerkbau: Lol. Black forced a nice way to settle for a draw.|
|Jul-05-08|| ||SufferingBruin: FWIW, this is the first game in Silman's "How to Reassess Your Chess," analyzed extensively starting on p. 29.|
|Aug-07-08|| ||ravel5184: Just wondering, but does "FWIW" stand for "for what it's worth"? I am not exactly the acronym-deciphering machine.|
|Feb-14-09|| ||ChessDaZaster: In Jeremy Silman’s book “The Amateurs Mind” (2nd Ed., page 52) he chides a student for saying that pawns in a particular position (Hort vs V Ciocaltea, 1973)
are backward (those on d6 and h7). He states:
“Those are not backward pawns! A pawn is only backward if it stands on an open file (which these don’t) and if it doesn’t have a brother pawn behind it or directly to the side of it.”
However, in his book “Reassess Your Chess” (3rd Ed. Page 32), he states that after 11…b5 12.cxb5 cxb5 from this game, “…Black would have made a gain in queenside territory and also created a weakness in White’s camp – a backward pawn on c3.” But after these moves the pawn on c3 has a pawn directly to side of it on d3 so by Silman’s definition, it can’t be a backward pawn.
That said, I have yet to find a good definition of "backward pawn". Comments?
|May-16-10|| ||Octal: Backward Pawn: A pawn that cannot easily be defended (or advanced out of danger) by other pawns. Whether or not it's subject to attack depends on the position, and whether or not it's weak or strong depends on the position.|
|Dec-02-10|| ||acea: Actually I don't see at all why it is draw. Couldn't white not just continue with Qxb5?|
|Apr-14-11|| ||OhioChessFan: I thought Qxb5 was a possibility too. Fritz 10 says:
24. Qxb5 Bc6 25. Qb8 dxe4 26. Qxa8 Bxa8 27. Bxf6 gxf6 28. dxe4 Bxe4 29. Rfe1 Bxb1 30. Rxe8+ Kg7|
and it's pretty drawish. I'll guess the draw was based more upon the tournament considerations than the position on the board.
click for larger view
|Nov-18-13|| ||onedog: Silman says white can't play 21.Rxb5 because of ...Ba6 and 22...dxe4 but it doesn't seem so bad for white after (say) 21...Bxa6 22.Ra5 dxe4 23.Bxe5! If black's knight moves to g4, white can play Bxg7 followed by Q(or R)g5+. If black plays 23...Bxd3 24.Rxa8 Qxa8 25.Qxd3!|
Also, in the final position, he seems to have missed the possibility of defending the Bd5 with Qc7. Is that still a draw?
What am I missing?
Spot an error? Please
submit a correction slip
and help us eliminate database mistakes!
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply.
Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous,
and 100% free--plus, it
entitles you to features otherwise unavailable.
Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should
Please observe our posting guidelines:
- No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
- No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
- No personal attacks against other members.
- Nothing in violation of United States law.
- No posting personal information of members.
See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.
NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page.
This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or
this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.|
<This page contains Editor Notes. Click here to read them.>
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)
your profile |
Premium Membership |
Kibitzer's Café |
Biographer's Bistro |
new kibitzing |
Tournament Index |
Player Directory |
World Chess Championships |
Opening Explorer |
Guess the Move |
Game Collections |
ChessBookie Game |
Chessgames Challenge |
privacy notice |
Copyright 2001-2017, Chessgames Services LLC