|Apr-19-04|| ||Honza Cervenka: Nice game of Lasker. |
|Jan-14-05|| ||iron maiden: Lasker needed to win this last round in order to share first prize with Rubinstein, who led him by a half-point but could only draw his game.|
14...f6 is apparently where Black went wrong. Subsequent players have tried 14...Na5 in this position, with better results.
|Dec-11-05|| ||aw1988: <chessgames> As Lasker says, Rxg7+ should not be included.|
|Apr-03-10|| ||Cibator: Yes; as soon as "Richard the Fifth" had made his 27th he saw he was stuffed, and resigned before Manny could reply.|
|Nov-20-10|| ||xombie: I have to say, WOW. Lasker's game and annotations are highly impressive. Here is a point that I wish to add from my own sad experiences connected with the French. |
The position after 18.. Na5 is somewhat reminiscent of similar positions in the French, where the Dark B trades itself badly for the Nc3, while the white bishops point well into the kingside. Note the uselessness of the knight on a5 (no, please do not quote platitudes such as those that claim that knights on the rim are dim - an objective evaluation is always necessary, rules are for idiots). The point is, Lasker had to judge very carefully how he kept his diagonals active. The dim a5 knight becomes monstrous in the line that he gave (if not BxB).
Also, g4 (as in similar French positions to kick out the f5 knight) becomes possible because of the clogged center. Very instructive, I would say.
|Dec-24-11|| ||King Death: < xombie: ...an objective evaluation is always necessary, rules are for idiots)...>|
Rules are useful a lot of the time. Obeying them without thinking is for idiots and keeps a player from learning or enjoying as much as they might.
|Jun-17-13|| ||Everett: <King Death: < xombie: ...an objective evaluation is always necessary, rules are for idiots)...>
Rules are useful a lot of the time. Obeying them without thinking is for idiots and keeps a player from learning or enjoying as much as they might.>|
Exactly. Reminds me of that phrase "to generalize is to be an idiot," which is... ummm... a generalization. Funny how that works.
|Mar-03-15|| ||Ulhumbrus: One question is why Lasker says that 14...f6 is premature and that Black should have played 14...Na5 first.|
Suppose that Black follows Lasker's suggestion and plays first 14...Na5 15 Bc2 and only then 15...f6.
Then suppose that White proceeds as in the game by 16 h3 Bh5 17 g4.
Then instead of losing a tempo with his queen's bishop as in the game by 17...Bf7 18 e6 Bg6 Black can play 17...Bg6 at once and offer to exchange White's king's bishop for Black's queen's bishop.
In the actual game White is able to take Black's queen's bishop with his knight by Nh4 and Nxg6 and to keep his king's bishop to assist his attack
|Apr-28-15|| ||jerseybob: If the bio info in this database is correct, Lasker and Teichmann were born on the same day, 12/24/1868|
|Dec-25-17|| ||FSR: Happy 150th Birthday (on December 24, 2018).|
|Dec-25-17|| ||FSR: As others have commented, White's 28th move was, according to Lasker's own annotations, not played. So it should not be included in the game score. Correction slip submitted.|
|Feb-18-18|| ||CountryGirl: nice example|