< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|Sep-01-05|| ||brainzugzwang: <sanferrera> 37.Qh3?? Bxh3 38.Kxh3 Rh5 mate.|
BUT ... I have a question on what the annotator gives as the probable winning line: 37.e6 bxe6 38.Rxb5. What happens after 38... Rg6? That renews the mate threat on the h-file, and I don't see a defense other than reverting to Qg2 (which was my original idea, anyway).
|Sep-01-05|| ||headmutant7: <brainzugzwang> 39.Rh5 should stop the mate and White remains a Queen up.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||chessic eric: <sanferrera> if 37.Qh3??,Bxh3 then: 38.Kxh3?,Rh5#
There is nothing forcing the white king to recapture the bishop, however, especially given that white is trying to return material to achieve at least equality (this should be the defender's mindset). Even though the following lines also fail, they should be examined by the defense to see what options are available.
Again, after 37.Qh3??,Bxh3:
39.Rg2 (making flight square),Rxg2+
40.Kh1,Rg3 then #
This was a great puzzle, and I'm glad to see <CG> making good on their promise to have 'white to play' puzzles of a defensive or drawing nature. Several postings have alluded to the 'sacrificial sickness' a defensive player can feel after being the 'victim' of a sac. Too often this results from the defender feeling that their only remaining advantage is a material one after the sac. Yet, as 37.e6!! and 38.Rxc5! show, if the defender can analyze how to return all or some of that material in an advantageous way, a defensive brilliancy might be the result. Finding a defensive counter-sacrifice, even if it establishes only a draw, is one of the great pleasures in chess.
|Sep-01-05|| ||kevin86: A most unusual problem! It took a rook and bishop sacrifice to save the game black had "won " with the queen sac!!! Too bad,white missed it. No doubt,I would have missed it too.|
Here,I thought the answer was based on the ettiquite of resigning a lost position.
|Sep-01-05|| ||Rocafella: For white I looked at 37...Qa6, must be the long day at school :P|
|Sep-01-05|| ||snowie1: Eureka! I did get e6! CG.COM presented this finished game as a teaching tool! I love it. There are many times that higher rated players resign, giving the opponent credit for playing it out in imagination_when in fact, the game is not lost or won.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||teme: All I saw was Qg2 but was not sure it won, I saw e6 but I didnt see rxc5
|Sep-01-05|| ||Deadly Pawn: Teaching tool?
Where can you learn here?
|Sep-01-05|| ||TheSlid: <In the initial position Black is down a queen...> Hmmm, so he is. Rats, I missed that one. Put me down as a "deferred success" on this puzzle.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||Snow Man: One should play chess as a Klingon would: Fight on to the bitter end. Heghlu'meH QaQ jajvam!|
|Sep-01-05|| ||midknightblue: My solution skillz were very patzer like. It makes perfect sense now, but I missed the boat.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||karnak64: I'm stunned. I solved it. Most unusual.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||tiburon92: I saw e6! but I didn't see the rest of the line.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||weirdoid: This is item No. 28 in http://www.xs4all.nl/~timkr/chess2/... - Very funny, until we realize that many players (perhaps me included) would have resigned with white (this world is indeed very funny for those who only watch).|
You may like to explore http://www.xs4all.nl/~timkr/chess/c... - this Tim Krabbé guy (who is better known as a writer) turns out to have quite a collection of all sort of chess curiosities, from awesome to amusing to ... well, just odd. Enjoy!
|Sep-01-05|| ||BishopofBlunder: I spent 10 minutes studying this puzzle and thinking, "Are you sure it's 'White to move'?". Qg2 was the best I could come up with.|
How would you like to have been black in this game and seeing that white, after you've sacrificed your queen, can stop your mating net? Imagine sitting there, sweating it out, hoping and praying that your opponent doesn't see the "saving" move. I can't imagine the relief you would feel when he finally resigns.
|Sep-01-05|| ||patzer2: The solution to today's puzzle is the winning defensive resource 37. e6!, which White should have played instead of resigning (as
pointed out in the game notes).
Fritz 8 provides the following winning lines for White after 37. e6! (@ 17 depth):
1. (4.59): 37...Rh5+ 38.Qh3 Rxh3+ 39.Kxh3 Bxe6+ 40.Kh2 cxb4 41.axb4 Rd8 42.Nc4 Rd4 43.Ne5 Kg7 44.b5 Kf6 45.Nc6 Rd3 46.Kg2
2. (5.72): 37...Bxe6 38.Rxc5 bxc5 39.Rxc5 R5g6 40.Rh5 Rd8 41.Nb1 h6 42.Qc1 Rdg8 43.Qd2 Kh7 44.Rc5
3. (7.84): 37...Be8 38.bxc5 Rh5+ 39.Qh3 Rxh3+ 40.Kxh3 bxc5 41.Rxc5 Rg6 42.Rc7 Rxe6 43.Rxa7 Rg6 44.Rc8 Rg8 45.Rcc7
4. (8.59): 37...Bc6 38.Qh3 Be8 39.bxc5 Rh5 40.c6 Rxh3+ 41.Kxh3 Bh5 42.Kh4 Bg6 43.c7
5. (8.59): 37...Bb5 38.Qh3 Be8 39.bxc5 Rh5 40.c6 Rxh3+ 41.Kxh3 Bh5 42.Kh4 Bg6 43.c7
6. (8.69): 37...Bc8 38.Qh3 Bxe6 39.Qxe6 Rh5+ 40.Qh3 Rxh3+ 41.Kxh3 cxb4 42.axb4 a5 43.bxa5 bxa5 44.Ra1 Ra8 45.Rca2 a4
|Sep-01-05|| ||patzer2: The alternative 37. Qg2? is not good for White after 37...Rxg2+ 38. Kh1 R2g6! 39. Nc4 cxb4 40. axb4 Ba4 41. Rh2 Rc6 42. Rg2 Rxg2 43. Kxg2 b5 , When Black wins the pinned piece and the game.|
|Sep-01-05|| ||al wazir: Exactly who is hurt if I play on for a few moves in a lost position? I'll do it every time. Show me where the rules of chess say that etiquette requires resignation at the earliest opportunity|
NOBODY EVER WON (OR DREW) BY RESIGNING.
|Sep-02-05|| ||RookFile: Tartakower said the same thing.|
|Sep-02-05|| ||patzer2: <Exactly who is hurt if I play on for a few moves in a lost position?> It depends on the position and the situation. Is it the last game at the end of a round and delaying the start of the next round of a tournament for all the other participants? Is it a technically lost but difficult position which holds good chances for a draw or a swindle? Is there anything to be learned by playing out the position?|
For me playing out positions which both players recognize as obviously lost is usually a waste of time, which serves little or no purpose. However, I recognize that some players simply want to see the winning technique of their opponent and so may play on for instructional purposes.
P.S. I once knew a very likable fellow who would play on in lost positions and ask his opponent if he was feeling OK, since his only chance of avoiding a loss was if his opponent fell ill and could not finish the game.
|Mar-16-06|| ||McCool: Iwonder if Antoshin knew about that. (the annotation)|
|Mar-25-07|| ||Timex: Did Igor Valerievich Samarin run out of time?
|May-07-07|| ||brainof7: Well actaully, Kxh3 is an illegal move because of the bishop. A lot of posts have that there without taking out the bishop. |
Rh5+ Qh3 Rxh3 is Mate, you cannot take with the king.
|Aug-11-07|| ||ahmadov: <Timex: Did Igor Valerievich Samarin run out of time?> Maybe the opponent's confident play made him believe that there was no way out of loss...|
|May-26-09|| ||WhiteRook48: or maybe...|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·