|Dec-17-05|| ||Honza Cervenka: Pretty miniature.|
|Sep-10-10|| ||GrahamClayton: Kottnauer won the tournament, while Paoli was one of the tail-enders. Looking at this game, you would think that the opposite was the case!|
|Feb-24-13|| ||TheTamale: What took me a while to see is that after 19) ... Qxb5, White just plays 20) Nxc7, threatening mate in 1 and picking up the queen as a result.|
|Aug-13-17|| ||Jamboree: "TheTamale: What took me a while to see is that after 19) ... Qxb5, White just plays 20) Nxc7, threatening mate in 1 and picking up the queen as a result."|
Actually, in that line, can't black stave off mate with 20. ...Nxe5, since that allows the black queen to cover the mating square at d8 -- while the black knight also attacks the white queen? If then 21. NxQ black has 21. ... NxQ -- so the line doesn't pick up black's queen.
Sure, white then has a different win with 21. NxB+ Ke7 22. Qxg7+ Kxe6 23. Qxh8 Qxb2, where white is up an exchange and black's king is unsafe, but even in that position black should play on for several moves to ensure that white can convert the win, or perhaps instead dither around and let black wriggle out for some miracle draw. Definitely not resignable quite yet.
|Aug-13-17|| ||Stonehenge: <Kottnauer won the tournament>|
Stahlberg won the tournament:
|Aug-13-17|| ||Ironmanth: Agreed, Jamboree! There seem to be lines where Black can challenge White to go pretty deep in to prove the win. Nice analysis, great game!|
|Aug-13-17|| ||RandomVisitor: Black misses the best move 4 times in 5 moves:
13...Bb4, 14...Qc8, 15...0-0, 17...Qxd8
when this happens it is not surprising when you lose the game...
|Aug-13-17|| ||Domdaniel: <RV> - <when this happens it is not surprising when you lose the game...>|
Surely this is only true when the best or first-choice move is also an only move?
Otherwise - when the evaluations for the first, 2nd and perhaps subsequent moves are bunched close together - it is quite possible to make 2nd-best moves and win.
|Aug-13-17|| ||RandomVisitor: <Domdaniel>That is true, and a good point.|
In this case, black's position progressively worsened with each non-best choice: from 13...Bb4 where he would have had a small advantage, until 17...Qd8 where he would be disadvantaged, but not clearly lost...
|Aug-14-17|| ||kevin86: Black will lose the queen or be mated.|
Spot an error? Please
submit a correction slip
and help us eliminate database mistakes!
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply.
Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous,
and 100% free--plus, it
entitles you to features otherwise unavailable.
Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should
Please observe our posting guidelines:
- No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
- No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
- No personal attacks against other members.
- Nothing in violation of United States law.
- No posting personal information of members.
See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.
NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page.
This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or
this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.|
<This page contains Editor Notes. Click here to read them.>
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)
your profile |
Premium Membership |
Kibitzer's Café |
Biographer's Bistro |
new kibitzing |
Tournament Index |
Player Directory |
World Chess Championships |
Opening Explorer |
Guess the Move |
Game Collections |
ChessBookie Game |
Chessgames Challenge |
privacy notice |
Copyright 2001-2017, Chessgames Services LLC