< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 4 OF 4 ·
|Jul-30-11|| ||BiteByBits: <sevenseaman> wow very nice puzzle took me a while because i had to connect the idea of blocking the Rooks from checking and to save the knight in order to checkmate the king...by moving the queen. What happens if your opponent can take one of your pieces that you want to checkmate with?
Create a double mating threat and it cant be stopped!! Qd6!!!|
|Jul-30-11|| ||Fezzik: Hmm.
I thought that was rather easy. The only difficulty was that since it was a puzzle with a relatively high difficulty rating, was there any tricky way to win.
Once it's clear that Black's worse, the solution is pretty clear.
|Jul-30-11|| ||Phony Benoni: <sevenseaman> Back at your mate in two problem:|
click for larger view
The solution is quite simple. Point toward the door and say, "Hey, what's <Once> doing here?" When your opponent looks away grab the White queen, throw it out the window, and play Nf4# before he looks back at the board.
However, if there's no open window handy or it's your chess set, play <1.Qd6>, and Black cannot stop both 2.Qg6# and 2.Nf4#.
|Jul-30-11|| ||Akavall: <mate in two problem:>|
Do I get full credit for 1...Rd1+!! ?
|Jul-30-11|| ||SuperPatzer77: <Akavall>: <<mate in two problem:>
Do I get full credit for 1...Rd1+!! ?>
<Akavall>: You gotta be kidding me!!
<Phony Benoni> said 1. Qd6!! to prevent 1...Rd1+ from leading to a quick mate.
|Jul-30-11|| ||Akavall: <SuperPatzer77> My attempt at humor was that <Phony Benoni> didn't specify who's move it was, so it could've been black to move in the initial position. In that case 1...Rd1+ would indeed lead to mate in 2.|
|Jul-30-11|| ||M.Hassan: I thought it would be a draw but could not solve it.|
|Jul-30-11|| ||Gypsy: The point of the <desperado> 51...Nxf4 is not so much that it draws (Ultimately, it draws on the account of the wrong bishop.) but that it is a true desperado. Black knight is doomed and the game would be lost after any other move. Eg,|
<50...Nc1+? 51.Kc2 Na2 52.Kb3 Nc1+ 53.Kb2... 1-0>
<50...Ng1? 51.Kf3 Nh3 (51...Kf6 52.Bf1...) 52.Bf1 Nxf4> (too late) <53.Kxf4...> ... White wins the endgame because he preserves his g-pawn.
|Jul-30-11|| ||Gypsy: On a second thought: <50...Ng1 51.Kf3 g5!> also draws.|
|Jul-30-11|| ||Funicular: just imagine sammy's face as the draw rendered obvious.|
Nice puzzle, Nf4 is rather obvious as the knight has nowhere to go. Then just head to h8 and thats it
|Jul-30-11|| ||ounos: <(not 53... Kg6?? 54.h4 h6 55.Be8+ followed by g6)>
Many people follow Kg6 with weak play by black. 54. ...h6 loses obviously, but the tricky variation is 54. ...Kh5.|
Thus 50. ... Nxf4 51. gxf4 g5 52. fxg5 Kg6? 53. h4 Kh5 54. Ke3 Kxh4 55. Kf4, securing at the nick of the time the g pawn (Kh5 Be8+, and eventually black's king is forced to h3, which is way off). Only refuting this for 53. ...h6 is rather strawman-ish :)
|Jul-30-11|| ||dzechiel: <<FSR>: ... I made my move and thereafter realized, to my horror, that I had just stalemated him. The pawns were blocked, so he had no pawn moves. He also had no king moves, and his other pieces were all pinned against his king in various ways, rendering them immobile. He surveyed his position sadly, made some remark about how tied up he was - and resigned! I quickly set the pieces back up before anyone came along and examined the position. Whew - ridicule averted!>|
I think according to the rules of chess, that game was a draw. Once you made the move that created the stalemate, the game was over and the result was 1/2-1/2. Your opponent could not "resign" any more than he could make another move, as the game was finished. Had he shown the score to a friend and noticed the actual outcome, he could make a very good case to the TD that the result should be logged as a draw. Just sayin'.
|Jul-30-11|| ||scormus: <dzechiel: <<FSR>: ... I quickly set the pieces back up before anyone came along and examined the position.>|
I think according to the rules of chess, that game was a draw.>
Yes, draw. Chess is not like soccer
|Jul-30-11|| ||scormus: <ounus .... tricky line is 54 ... Kh5>|
well spotted that it doesnt save B
|Jul-30-11|| ||FSR: <meppi> Something like the 75% rule was in effect in 18th century Spain. In a game played for stakes, the stalemater would win half the stake. At various other times and places, stalemate has also been: |
A win for the stalemater in 10th century Arabia and parts of medieval Europe.
A win for the stalemated player (!) in 9th century India, 17th century Russia, on the Central Plain of Europe in the 17th century, and 17th-18th century England.
Not allowed. If a player made a move that caused stalemate, he had to retract it and make a different move (Eastern Asia until the early 20th century).
The forfeiture of the stalemated player's turn to move (medieval France, though some medieval French sources instead treat stalemate as a draw).
For sources and more details, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stalem... (largely written by me).
|Jul-30-11|| ||BOSTER: <FSR> <a most embarrassing sort of thing>.
Couple months ago I played blitz.
By mistake I put my king on d8, and queen on e8. We began to play, and couple moves later I castling with queen.
Here my opponent claimed , that I made illegal move and game was over. After this I asked him:"Why did not you say this at the beginning of the game?" His answer:" You could fix it".
|Jul-30-11|| ||FSR: <dzechiel: ... I think according to the rules of chess, that game was a draw. Once you made the move that created the stalemate, the game was over and the result was 1/2-1/2. Your opponent could not "resign" any more than he could make another move, as the game was finished. Had he shown the score to a friend and noticed the actual outcome, he could make a very good case to the TD that the result should be logged as a draw.>|
True, as a theoretical matter, but it was a completely meaningless, non-tournament, unrated game and there was no TD.
|Jul-30-11|| ||FSR: <BOSTER> You may have been had. In general, the rule in chess is that if it is discovered during the game that the starting position was incorrect, the game is restarted. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rules_... This might or might not be true in a blitz game, depending what rules you were operating under.|
This rule has some unfortunate corollaries. You could get an utterly winning position and your opponent could declare, "Woops. The initial position was wrong, so we have to start over from scratch."
|Jul-30-11|| ||SuperPatzer77: <Akavall: <SuperPatzer77> My attempt at humor was that <Phony Benoni> didn't specify who's move it was, so it could've been black to move in the initial position. In that case 1...Rd1+ would indeed lead to mate in 2.>|
<Akavall> It is good to laugh!! LOL LOL
By the way, you should've gotten a credit for that - 1...Rd1+. LOL
|Jul-30-11|| ||SuperPatzer77: < Gypsy: On a second thought: <50...Ng1 51.Kf3 g5!> also draws.
(My bad.) >
<Gypsy> you're not alone - my bad, too. <Patzer2> corrected me on that, too.
|Jul-30-11|| ||sevenseaman: <However, if there's no open window handy or it's your chess set, play <1.Qd6>>|
<Phony Benoni> You are without peer in impish chess humor and I am sure you play a great game of chess too. I'll award 10/10 for the presentation.
The moment I saw you wanted to be rid of own Q I knew the game was up.
<ByteBybits> Great to see you saw the merit in the problem. Isn't it an unusual case? The idea of blocking a counter-mate with a piece that you wish you didn't have on the day does not come easy. I am happy you saw it. Took some time or in a flash?
I assume more people have attempted it. In my view those who missed it altogether have missed a very good thing. I hate <closed doors >. Cheers!
|Jul-31-11|| ||LIFE Master AJ: In 1973, Reshevsky's ELO was around 2520.|
|Jul-31-11|| ||LIFE Master AJ: Nice drawing puzzle. [B (wrong color) + RP]|
|Jun-01-12|| ||wwall: But instead of 32.Rg8+, White should win after 32.Rh8! If 32...Kh6 [32...Rfxf2 33.Qg8+ Kf6 34.Qd8+ Kg7 35.Rg8+ Kh6 36.Qh4+ Qh5 37.Qxh5+ Kxh5 38.Rxf2] 33.Qg8 Kg5 34.Qxh7 Rfxf2 35.Qh4+ Kf5 36.Bh3+ Ke5 37.Re8+ Kd5 38.Qe4+ Kd6 39.Rd8+ Kc7 40.Rc8+ wins.|
|Jun-01-12|| ||RookFile: Tatai had no business drawing this game, but that's exactly what he did. Marvelous defense.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 4 OF 4 ·