< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 23 OF 24 ·
|Jan-23-08|| ||whatthefat: <Resignation Trap>
You seem to have quite a knack for finding amusing topical images!
|Jan-28-08|| ||notyetagm: Final position after 73 d5-e5 1-0:
click for larger view
Very instructive endgame play by Short.
White (Short) has just <RETURNED MATERIAL> by giving back the exchange with 72 a7xe7+! f7xe7. But now after 73 d5-e5, Black resigned immediately. Why?
Because in this theoretical pawn ending position, the <KEY SQUARES> are f6, e6, and d6 and since -White- has the <OPPOSITION>, he wins one of these squares and hence the game, since his pawn is already on the <5TH RANK>.
|Mar-07-08|| ||D.Observer: Probably, a continuation of Short vs I Cheparinov, 2008.|
|Nov-15-08|| ||rogge: Chepa could talk the talk but not walk the walk.|
|Apr-20-09|| ||WhiteRook48: 72...Kxe7 73 Ke5 Kf7 74 Kd6 Kg7 75 Ke6 Kh7 76 Kf6 Kh8 77 Kxg6 Kg8 78 Kf6 Kh8 79 Kf7 Kh7 80 g6+|
|May-05-09|| ||WhiteRook48: the handshake game should be deleted from the database|
|Jan-25-10|| ||znsprdx: |
<WhiteRook48:the handshake game should be deleted from the database>
Well not exactly - but <CG> certainly has it the WRONG way around - the forfeit & commentary should be the first post
72...Kxe7 73 Ke5 Kf7 74 Kd6
OR ...Kf8 75 Ke6 Kg8 76 Kf6 Kh7
77 Kf7 Kh8 78 Kxg6 Kg8
79 Kf6 Kf8 80 g6 Kg8 81g7
|Feb-23-10|| ||dumbgai: Heh, Cheparinov was never the same again after this game.|
|Jan-14-11|| ||Maatalkko: <dumbgai> Ah, there is still time for Cheparinov to become World Champion.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||LoveThatJoker: GG
|Jul-15-12|| ||FSR: Everyone except me seems to know the story behind this game. What happened?|
|Jul-15-12|| ||perfidious: < Riverbeast: According to the chessbase report, Nigel Short showed up 10 minutes late for this game.
This is the same guy who claimed that anyone showing up more than 5 minutes late for a game should be forfeited....> |
Under such a rule, there was a strong New England player who would have either mended his ways or forfeited many a game; it was routine for him to show up 15-30 minutes late, back in the day.
|Jul-15-12|| ||Alien Math: <FSR>
To shake or Not to shake? FIDE answers the Question. http://blog.chess.com/Chessbuff/to-...
They don't seem to have a problem enforcing it upon the folk at Corus 2008 right now. In Group B, Nigel Short went to the arbiter for his Round 8 game against Ivan Cheparinov due to Cheparinov refusing to shake hands with him. The game was quickly forfeited, giving Short the point.
Corus 2008 | reaction Danailov after no-handshake incident http://youtu.be/0Rsm3fWvRQ8
|Jul-15-12|| ||FSR: <Alien Math> Thanks. And I gather that someone overturned that decision, Short vs I Cheparinov, 2008, and so this game was belatedly played.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Shams: Remind us why Cheparinov refused to shake in the first place?|
|Jul-15-12|| ||FSR: <Shams> Dunno. Here's an article on the controversy, but it doesn't explain Cheparinov's (in)action: http://www.chessbase.com/newsdetail...|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Shams: <FSR> I vaguely remember that Short said some candid and unflattering things (no, really) about Topalov and Danailov. I think this incident was Cheparinov's response.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Cibator: I've never understood all this current hoo-hah about arriving a wee bit after the scheduled start time. I mean - who's disadvantaged when it does happen? The one who turns up late, of course! By all means default him if it's an hour or more, as used to be the case. But a couple of minutes?? Get over it!!|
|Jul-15-12|| ||perfidious: <Cibator> Fair enough; that strikes me as a mite obsessive, and I'm the type who's always on time for appointments, etc.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Qxf7: <shams>
He did it for the same reason Short showed up late for the match. It's a deliberate display of poor-sportsmanship and contempt, designed to screw with the opponent's mental state.
Some very strong players are particularly vulnerable to this sort of thing because of their psychological makeup. Fischer was notoriously weak in this area, as are Topalov, Short and Kramnik.
Other players won't bat an eyelash. Kasparov tried this sort of thing on Anad a few years back and it barely even registered. Ditto Korchornoi, Ivanchuck and Carlsen.
|Jul-15-12|| ||Dionysius1: And Kasparov arrived pointedly late for a game with Carlsen when he was 13. The game was a draw, and K went through his staring, head shaking bit too. I wonder how much of that was natural, and how much of it meant as a distraction?|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Jim Bartle: I don't know, but Kasparov did the same staring, shifting, head shaking, etc. when he played Deep Blue, and I don't think that would have distracted DB.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||psmith: <WhiteRook48> and <znsprdx> give flawed analysis. After 78. Kf6 in <WhiteRook48>'s line, 78... Kh7! (rather than 78... Kf8) draws! The only winning line is 78. Kh6! (since there is an e-file but no i-file). Similarly for 79. Kf6 in <znsprdx>'s line.|
|Jul-15-12|| ||Dionysius1: <Jim> thanks - that settles it in my head, at least about the body stuff. I do think turning up late against a 13 year old is a bit off - glad he didn't win. I know the argument that if Carlsen's old enough to play with the supergrandmasters, he's old enough to take the bad behaviour. (Doesn't convince me though).|
|Jul-15-12|| ||perfidious: < Jim Bartle: I don't know, but Kasparov did the same staring, shifting, head shaking, etc. when he played Deep Blue....>|
One that always got me was John Nunn's description of Kasparov's typical reaction to an unexpected move, wherein he curls his lip and/or some other mannerism I don't recollect at the moment. In one of their games, Gazza gave what Nunn described as 'a force-ten lip curl....'
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 23 OF 24 ·