< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|Sep-12-08|| ||ketchuplover: The other games was drawn.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||whiteshark: The Knight is caught on the edge. Zappa calculates it already as draw white Rybka still gives it as . Let's have a look and await further developments...|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Ulhumbrus: 60...Bc1 pins the f pawn and attacks it a second time.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||whiteshark: * while|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Shams: Aronian has done well leaving his c-pawn on its original square. Pushing it would have allowed white's knight to free itself.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Geronimo: Hey <ketchuplover> and <wolfmaster>. You two ever think of meeting in person? Your avatars get along like a house on fire....|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Woody Wood Pusher: chucky blew the win....DOH!|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Kings Indian: What is going on in chucky's head, he could have taken that pawn..|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Ulhumbrus: Perhaps Ivanchuk was short of time.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||tpstar: Fine technique by Aronian to hold the draw.
Great fighting game. =)
|Sep-12-08|| ||grebenarov: thechnically if Aronian choses to keep playing he will inevitably win on time|
|Sep-12-08|| ||chessgames.com: Thanks to everybody for participating today.
Tomorrow is the FINAL ROUND, STARTS ONE HOUR EARLIER than previous rounds. That's 10:00am (USA/Eastern). Hope to see you all back for the exciting finale to the Bilbao Grand Slam!
|Sep-12-08|| ||Geronimo: Not exactly <Grebenerov>, there is a rule (I forget which) by which a winning player can ask the arbiter to rule on whether the opponant must accept the draw. Here Aronian cannot simply play out the clock because he has no possible chance of winning.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||whiteshark: Thank you chessgames.com for broadcasting all three games today !!!|
|Sep-12-08|| ||Ulhumbrus: Perhaps at move 47 Ivanchuk is short of time and so misses the resource 47 Rd8! which deprives the black King of mobility if the black King has to defend the bishop eg 47...Be7 48 Rd4 Rc5 49 Re4+ this is the point: the black King has to guard the bishop and so can't attack White's Rook. On 49...Kf7 50 Nd4 and White has got the N into play.|
|Sep-12-08|| ||grebenarov: Thanks, Geronimo, yeah there's a lot of sense in what you are saying|
|Sep-13-08|| ||willychess: Geronimo:
A player with a knight and king can give mate vs a player with a king and pawn (i have to admit that the player with the pawn must colaborate. The arbiter can set a draw, if it is asked, when the opposite player is not trying to win by normal ways.
|Sep-13-08|| ||Aspirador: As far as I know, Ivanchuk had about 30sec left in the end. So he could have easily eliminated the last black pawn during that time.|
More interesting question is: where did white go wrong? How could he have won this ending?
|Sep-13-08|| ||arnaud1959: A typical Chucky game. Nothing is done in the usual manner. Unexpected moves, unexpected lines opened, unexpected pieces kept on the board and severe time trouble to finish. Congratulations also to Aronian who deals better and better with the positions difficult to defend.|
|Sep-15-08|| ||Resignation Trap: Chucky did not leave the board until well after the game ended. Even after the two Kings were moved to the center by the arbiters, Ivanchuk was still seated there. See: http://www.chesspro.ru/_images/mate... , http://www.chesspro.ru/_images/mate... and http://www.chesspro.ru/_images/mate... .|
|Oct-30-08|| ||gorgo: I think even 43.f5 instead of winning a pawn with Nf5+ could have maintained a big advantage, i don't see how the two advanced pawns can be stopped without loosin material, the knight can cooperate with the pawns and also shelter the king from checks. for example 43...Rb4+ 44.Kh5 Rb1 45.g6 Kf6 Ng4+ etc|
|Nov-03-08|| ||drunkbishop II: what?? is ivanchuk making some kind of retarded statement at the end by not taking the pawn? does he somehow think that a K+N vs. K+P in that position is NOT a draw even though K+N vs. K IS???? or is he really a class A idiot that even a typical chessgames-kibitzing-40-yr.-old-still-living-in--
my-parent's-basement-socially-inept-moron could beat??|
the answer, I believe, is PROBABLY.
|Feb-16-09|| ||Bob726: The game score is wrong, he did take the pawn on c6. |
http://www.chessvibes.com/videos/, look under biblio grand slam final 2008, 9th video "disappointment"
|Feb-23-09|| ||WhiteRook48: why isn't the game score fixed yet?|
|Dec-28-14|| ||Sargon: Game score has been fixed.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·