< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 7 ·
|Jan-26-11|| ||Rawprawn: <Ulhumbrus> Not sure that achieves a lot. The phonetic conversion from the Russian alphabet can vary quite a bit I think.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||plang: It ought to be illegal to have a pair of ch's in your name.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||AdrianP: I recall we have a user here who goes by the name of <chancho>|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Domdaniel: < I have managed to memorise the spelling of Nepomniachtchi's name by breaking it down in the following way: Nepom + niacht + chi>|
I find 'Nepomnia' (a state of sleeplessness caused by one's relatives) + 'chtchi' is easier ...
|Jan-26-11|| ||Chesschatology: I think this looks grim for White. It reminds me of Jon Speelman's comment on a position he had against Kasparov: "in this position, a true aesthete would have resigned on principal". He later drew.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Marmot PFL: a threat is 41...Ng5 if Bxg5 Rxe2+ or if Rxe6 Nf3+|
|Jan-26-11|| ||SCUBA diver: R-g2 needs to be played. Then c4.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||taofelix: nepomniaschyij means the one with no memory, the one that does not recall... etc|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Kazzak: As FIDE used the screwed up French rules for transliteration of Nepomnishi's name, and as his name is actually pronounced Nepomnjishi, I find that writing Nepomnishi serves me well, and I will continue doing so until the whole world does the same.|
If he wins today, I will without exception call him Napalm, and things will be OK.
|Jan-26-11|| ||AdrianP: Both players have played this pretty perfectly since the perpetual was spurned. And I agree that White is still in trouble. |
Rg2 g5 seems likely. It is committal of Black to move the g-pawn and expose his K a bit more, but if he doesn't want to win this game he's going to lose it.
|Jan-26-11|| ||Kazzak: He who doesn't remember (his origin)
You might want to add a soft "a" in the name, though when you hear Svidler or Yermo pronouncing it, they use Nepomnishi, with the last i as an afterthought. Nepomniashi if you want.
|Jan-26-11|| ||Eyal: Carlsen probably misplayed it somehow toward the time control - most likely on move 40, as happens so often... An interesting nuance pointed out by Shipov: <It was worth exploiting the black king's delay on g8 via
40.Qc4! Qf7 41.Qd5, so that after 41...g5 there was the reply 42.Be5!>|
|Jan-26-11|| ||AdrianP: I suppose on Rg2 g5 Black plays Bc1 and Bb2, whereupon Black's king is in difficulties.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Domdaniel: If he wins today, the last Sunday in January will henceforth be Napalm Sunday.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||lost in space: Nepomuc is better, I guess.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||taofelix: jan is a favorite sipov's pupil and the master is, needless to say, is a greatest fan of his
bhw, great comments of shipov on this tournament|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Kazzak: Correction - WHEN Napalm wins today's game, etc...|
|Jan-26-11|| ||AdrianP: But yet, I suppose if White moves his Bishop off the h2-c8 diagonal he'll be in serious trouble first. |
|Jan-26-11|| ||anandrulez: Rybka gives a -1.63 for Nepo but I bet its a difficult position . And btw this is one of the rarest games where Carlsen is losing Sicilian and I think last time around he lost was in 2007 ?|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Ulhumbrus: <AdrianP: I suppose on Rg2 g5 Black plays Bc1 and Bb2, whereupon Black's king is in difficulties.> It is conceivable that Black cannot stroll easily towards victory but must instead exert himself and perspire in exactly the right way so as to appear to stroll easily towards victory.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Eyal: <I suppose on Rg2 g5 Black plays Bc1 and Bb2, whereupon Black's king is in difficulties.>|
No, once White removes his bishop from the h2-b8 diagonal he loses on the spot: 41.Rg2 g5 42.Bc1?? Qc7+ followed by Rd6.
|Jan-26-11|| ||mack: 'Ian' is such a lame name.|
|Jan-26-11|| ||Domdaniel: < It is conceivable that Black cannot stroll easily towards victory but must instead exert himself and perspire in exactly the right way so as to appear to stroll easily towards victory.>|
|Jan-26-11|| ||achieve: square <g2> has now become "one to watch"|
|Jan-26-11|| ||vonKrolock: <41.e3> may be a sub-optimal move, because now g7-g5 is more dangerous in some lines than with the in 'e2' - but black played g6 - safety first... (or "less radical", as Christian Bauer puts it)|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 7 ·