< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 4 ·
|Apr-04-12|| ||agb2002: Curiously, I forgot the bishop in my line B.1, and typed 23... Qxg2 instead of 23... Ne2#.|
I should have calculated a little further in line B.2. After 23... Ne2+ White can play 24.Kh2 because the pawn on h2 was captured so there's no intermediate check when playing 24... Rxf1. However, after 24... Nxc3 25.Rxf8+ Kxg7 Black can save the knight.
Actually, the best line seems to be
B.2) 22.Kg1 Rh1+ (instead of 22... Rg2+) 23.Bxh1 (23.Kxh1 Qh3+ 24.Kg1 Ne2#) 23... Ne2+ 24.Kh2 Rxf1
B.2.a) 25.Qe3 Rxa1 26.Qxe2 Kxg7 - + [R+2P vs B].
B.2.b) 25.Rxf1 Nxc3, etc.
|Apr-04-12|| ||OhioChessFan: I am surprised how easily I found this. Maybe my tactical skills are improving. <FSR> do you ever sleep?|
|Apr-04-12|| ||newzild: WEDNESDAY: 4.57pm - 5.09pm
White has a brutal discovered check looming, so Black must act fast. Candidates:
Let's try the last one first:
21. Rxf4 Rxf4
22. gxf4 Rxb2
White has a bishop for two pawns. Let's try:
Or 21. Kh1 Rxh2+ 22. Kxh2 (22. Kg1 Rg2+ - ) Qh3+ 23. Kg1 Ne2#
22. Kh1 Rxf1+
23. Rxf1 Nxc3
24. bxc3 Kxg7
With two pawns and a queen for rook and knight, Black is winning.
Time to check.
|Apr-04-12|| ||newzild: I missed the fascinating variations provided by <Phony Benoni> and <FSR>. Well spotted, lads!|
|Apr-04-12|| ||viking78: missed it today, didn't saw Ne2# so I thought Kxh2 Qh3+ Kg1 is safe for White.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||Oxspawn: Spent a little time thinking it was white to move and wondering what the problem was since black is pretty well doomed. Then woke up, played with the idea of Nh3+ before settling on Rg2+. I like it because it makes white box the king in with the bishop, a defender that in the end just gets in the way.|
21. Bxg2 Ne2 forks the King and queen
22. Kh1 (forced) Rxf1+ (otherwise the black rook is lost for nothing)
23 Rxf1 Nxc3
I didnt find a mate but this leaves black with Q+N+5p versus whites R+B+N+5p, each with one piece hanging. Is that a win for black?
21. Kh1 Rxh2+
22 Kxh2 Qh3+
And white cannot prevent mate on g2
By the way how do I go back to a game kibitzed at an earlier date if I can remember the date but not name of the game?
|Apr-04-12|| ||newzild: I did a rare thing and opened Rybka 2.2 to check. The best line, according to the silicon monster, is this:|
20. Kh1 Rxh2+
21. Kg1 Rh1+
22. Bxh1 Ne2+
23. Kh2 Rxf1
24. Qe3 Rxa1
25. Ne6 Rxh1+
26. Kxh1 Nxg3+
27. Qxg3 Qxe6
Black has a three-pawn advantage in this queen ending.
Definitely a tough one for Wednesday!
I missed this line in my initial analysis, so no point for me today...
|Apr-04-12|| ||Oxspawn: Whoops I threw it away in the last line - the white bishop is still there to prevent the queen mate. As <Phony Benoni et al> have pointed out, the position gets quite diffixult and beyond my powers without shifting pieces around.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||whiteshark: Oh no, I have been fork-blind today. Hope it's just a shortterm thingy and curable.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||Memethecat: Blacks position is fragile. This should make solving the puzzle easier as its all or nothing.|
20...Rg2+ 21Bxg2¹Ne2+ 22Kh1 Rxf1+ 23Rxf1 Nxc3
¹21Kh1 Rxh2+ 22Kxh2 (22Kg1 Ne2+ 23Kxh2 Nxc3) Qh3+ 23Kg1 Ne2#
Pleased I saw the R swap as well, but I almost got this very wrong. I wrote a mate in 4 winning line (with variations) then spotted whites LSB & had to start again. Chess blindness.
|Apr-04-12|| ||TheaN: Wednesday 4 April 2012
Material: White up, ♗ vs ♙
Candidates: Qh3, Nh3, <[Rg2]>
The easy part of this puzzle comes from the fact that White's threats are so alarming (any N move with a fatal discovery check, and the Black N on f4 en prise and pinned) that Black's options are only full forcing moves, checks. Black has only two: 20....Nh3 doesn't do much after Kh1, however, the other one is interesting.
<20....Rg2!> defended rooks on the second rank are usually a sign for trouble and White will know it. The passive sidestep 21.Kh1 makes 21....Rxh2 forced, which follows 22.Kxh2 (after Kg1 again Rg2 or immediately Ne2) Qh3 23.Kg1 Ne2 0-1, getting the Queen in with tempo. Hench:
<21.Bg2 Ne2 22.Kh1 Rxf1 23.Rxf1> what Black has done in only a handful of halfmoves is to remove the knight from f4 with tempo, exchanged the en prise rook on f8 with tempo and fork the white king and queen. As such:
<23....Nxc3> removes any sting in White's attack, the Knight on g7 is suddenly also en prise and can't escape, White lost his queen for rook, as after:
<24.bxc3 Kxg7 > Black's up indeed a queen for rook and bishop with a dominating position to boot. And all that in just five halfmoves.
|Apr-04-12|| ||Memethecat: <Phony Benoni><FSR> Good work! I was struggling with the 23Kxh2 problem, but by then I was on my 2nd round because of the invisible LSB so just fudged it.|
A lot of work for Wednesday.
|Apr-04-12|| ||gofer: Black is a piece down and cannot simply recapture.
20 ... Qxg7 21 Qxg7+ Kxg7 22 gxf4 keeps white's advantage.
Also, white has the huge threat of 21 Ne6+ Re5 (forced) 22 Nxf8 at which point its
all over, but white has slightly misjudged his attack and left his own king
<20 ... Rg2+>
21 Bxg2 Ne2+ 22 Kh1 Rxf1+ 23 Rxf1 Nxc3
White cannot retake immediately. He must be patient.
<21 Kh1 Rxh2+!>
22 Kxh2 Qh3+ 23 Kg1 Ne2#
<22 Kg1 ...>
Now, ironically, Ne2+ loses for black!
22 ... Ne2+ 23 Kxh2 Nxc3 24 Rxf8+ Kxg7 25 Rf7+ Qxf7 26 Bxf7!
Immediately repeating the original tactic is okay even though the king
has an extra flight square, but leaves things a little less than clear!
22 ... Rg2+ 23 Bxg2 Ne2+ 24 Kh2! Rxf1!?
But black still has a couple of tricks up his sleeve!
<22 ... Rh1+!>
23 Kxh1 Qh3+ 24 Kg1 Ne2#
23 Kf2 Nxd5+!
<22 Bxh1 Ne2+>
<23 Kh2 Rxf1!>
The rook is immune!
24 Rxf1 Nxc3
<24 Q anywhere Rxa1>
Black is a probably going to be an exchange and two pawns up.
Now this is far too much for a Wednesday, so I have probably missed
something amazing or white walked into one of the losing variations...
Time to check.
It was the latter. I wonder what Fritz says?!
|Apr-04-12|| ||gofer: <Oxspawn> just click on your name and you are taken to everything you have ever written on this site...|
...whether it is good and bad we can all review what we have left here!
|Apr-04-12|| ||ferri1234: For M. Hassan who wrote:
Other posibility is:
No. Qg2 is not possible, since the white bishop is still present on the board. But the mate is possible: ...23Ne2#
|Apr-04-12|| ||David2009: J D Thornton vs L Sanchez, 2012 Black 20...?|
Wild position but Black just gets there first:
20...Rg2+! and now (A) 21.Bxg2 Ne2+ 22.Kh1 Rxf1+! 23.B or Rxf1 Nxc3 makes it easy for Black:
(B) 21.Kh1 Rxh2+ 22.Kg1! and Black has a choice - take the draw starting 22...Rg2+ or play for more with 22...Rh1+ 23.Bxh1! Ne2+ 24.Kh2 Rxf1! If now 25.Nf5+ Nxc3! so 25.Qe3 Rxa8 26.Bd5 and White loses on material.
I think we'll play for more. Time to check:
I got enough of it, <Phony Benoni> and others got there first. Here's the puzzle position with Black to play:
click for larger view
This is a good position for <sevenseaman> to set up colours-reversed on Crafty End Game Trainer using his new-found skills: see sevenseaman chessforum
|Apr-04-12|| ||LoveThatJoker: <20...Rg2+ 21.Bxg2> |
[21.Kh1 Rxh2+ 22. Kg1 (22. Kxh2 Qh3+ 23. Kg1 Ne2#) 22...Rh1+ 23. Kf2 (23.Kxh1 Qh3+ 24. Kg1 Ne2#) 23...Nxd5+ 24. Nf5+ (24. Kg2 Qh3#; 24. Ke1 Rhxf1+ and 25...Nxc3 ; 24. Ke2 Nxc3+ ) 24...Nxc3 ]
<21...Ne2+ 22. Kh1 Rxf1+ 23. Rxf1 Nxc3 24. bxc3 Qxg7>
(24...Kxg7 25. Bxb7 c6! also looks very good for Black)
(25. Bd5 c6 )
<25...Qxc3 26. Bd5 Qd4+ 27. Kg2 c6 (so as to destroy the Bishop's comfortable outpost)>
Conclusion: Black has a decent advantage and may still win. This said the position is voiding itself of pawns and White may be able to hold this. Yet seeing as how the puzzle position at "20...?" was very double-edged, Black is happy to have to have an advantage and if he converts it into a win then all the better.
|Apr-04-12|| ||LoveThatJoker: I would just like to add that in my main line
20...Rg2+ 21.Bxg2 Ne2+ 22. Kh1 Rxf1+ 23. Rxf1 Nxc3 24. bxc3 Qxg7 25. Bxb7 25...Qxc3 26. Bd5 <c6>
While coming up with this final part of my main line, I had forgotten that the K had already been forced to h1 - through looking at the diagram, I thought it was still on g1.
Thankfully this doesn't affect my earning the full point for today.
I would like to add that after the mainline 20...Rg2+ 21.Bxg2 Ne2+ 22. Kh1 Rxf1+ 23. Rxf1 Nxc3 24. bxc3 Qxg7 25. Bxb7 25...Qxc3 26. Bd5 <c6>, it is obvious to me now that Black is clearly winning and my original evaluation of is better expressed as a full .
|Apr-04-12|| ||WinKing: This seems about right for a Wednesday. Not too taxing on the mind but it makes you think a little.|
21.Bxg2 <[if 21.Kh1 Rxh2+ 22.Kg1(or 22.Kxh2 Qh3+ 23.Kg1 Ne2#) Rg2+ - now if 23.Kh1 then ...Qh3#]>
22.Kh1 Rxf1+ <(not 22...Nxc3?? 23.Rxf8+ & white lives!)>
24.bxc3 Kxg7 <(& black should win this ending)>
|Apr-04-12|| ||CHESSTTCAMPS: In this two-sided attacking position, white has a bishop for a pawn and threatens serious discovered checks by the knight. The response 20... Qxg7?? is met simply by 21.Rxf4 and black remains a piece down. But the active Re2 can deliver a remarkable counter punch.|
Once again, a forcing move setting up a royal fork is decisive for the attacking side:
A) 21.Bxg2 Ne2+ 22.Kh1 Rxf1+ 23.Rxf1 Nxc3 24.bxc3 Kxg7 25.Bxb7 c6 26.Ba6 Qc7 and the Q should beat the uncoordinated B+R in the ending.
B) 21.Kh1 Rxh2+ 22.Kxh2 (Kg1 Rg2+ 23.Bxg2 [otherwise 23.Qh3#] Ne2+ is worse than A) Qh3+ 23.Kg1 Ne2#
Time for review...
|Apr-04-12|| ||CHESSTTCAMPS: I see from prior kibitzing that B is flawed - a common board vision problem experienced by many.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||Penguincw: Oh yah! Bad start, now 2/3.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||WinKing: I see there are a few 'tricks' involved with today's puzzle. Excellent work by <Phony Benoni> & <FSR> to get to the truth of the position.|
|Apr-04-12|| ||goodevans: Way too hard for a Wednesday!
Here's the position after 20... Rg2+ 21.Kh1 Rxh2+ 22.Kg1
click for larger view
Black must now play <22... Rh1+> after which <23.Bxh1 Ne2+ 24.Kh2 Rxf1 25.Qe3 Rxa1 26.Ne6 Rxh1+ 27.Kxh1 Nxg3+> leaves him two pawns up.
Note that <22... Rg2+> is not as good because after <23.Bxg2 Ne2+ 24.Kh2 Rxf1 25.Qe3 Rxa1 26.Ne6> the B capture is not available and it is black that is on the back foot.
|Apr-04-12|| ||goodevans: I find that if CG.com post a "Friday" puzzle on a Wednesday I don't give it sufficient thought. I don't look for all the tricks and nuances that I would look for when the puzzle is declared "difficult". When I later see this all then I get disappointed that I hadn't spent more time on the puzzle in the first place.|
But maybe that's <MY> problem, not CG.com's. Maybe I should treat the early week puzzles with a bit more respect just in case they are harder than their classification suggests.
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 4 ·