< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Mar-10-14|| ||TheTamale: Black is already in dire straits by move 14. Looks like his only hope is 14)... Ne5 (as to be able to block with the knight) followed by moving the bishop to give his king an escape route. But then his game absolutely sucks.|
|Mar-10-14|| ||Penguincw: The classical queen sacrifice. :) As soon as I saw this, it reminded me of this: Greco vs NN, 1619.|
|Mar-10-14|| ||stingray0104: @TheTamale Black is fine at move 14; all he has to do is either move the light square bishop or the queen.|
|Mar-10-14|| ||thegoodanarchist: I was lucky enough to get the chance to play a similar combination against an expert in the Greenwich Open [the Greenwich in Vermont, not NY] about 10 1/2 years ago.|
However, my opponent was castle and so could decline the sac and survive to play on. I won anyway, though. So this puzzle brought back good memories :)
|Mar-10-14|| ||kevin86: EZ: fools mate with a queen sac.
Perfect Monday puzzle.
|Mar-10-14|| ||BOSTER: <mel gibson : Give us some mental stimulaton.> .|
I do not think that <CG> treat this.
|Mar-10-14|| ||Nullifidian: 15. ♕xg6+ ♙hxg6 16. ♗xg6#|
|Mar-10-14|| ||Once: Tattoo/ Knick Knack: "The plen! The plen!"
Khan Noonien Singh (in a crisp white suit) : "Welcome to fant-azzy eye -land!"
Today we find ourselves in a most unusual fantasy position. The two players have evidently decided to rewrite the rules of chess as if living out their late 1970s fantasies on a tropical island.
Instead of going for material or development or even checkmate, white and black have decided to contest for the honour of having the "most useless dark squared bishop"
White chooses the infamous Alekhine's diamond formation, with his Bc1 hemmed in by a diamond formation of prawns surtopped by his LSB.
Meanwhile black has gone for the risky but more exotic double e prawn stack from the "all you can eat" menu.
Up until move 14, we were heading for a draw with each DSB as rubbish as the other.
But then ... shock, horror, gasp ... black makes a fatal error. He forgets that we are playing "my DSB is rubbisher than yours" and plays 14...g6 intending 15...Bg7 and 16...0-0. All good sensible moves if we had not been playing DSB suicide chess. But on our fantasy island, it proves immediately fatal. Queen sac on g6 and it's a fool's mate.
Intriguingly, black would have also lost if he had played a pass move and left his g7 pawn where it was. If he had played, say, 14...b5 white would still have mated with 15. Qg6+.
Black would have saved himself if he had remembered that the aim of the game was to rubbishify your bishops. Instead of the anti-thematic 14...g6, he should have played the principled 14...Bc8 so that 15. Qg6+ hg 16. Bxg6+ could be met by 16...Ke7. Black wins (on fantasy island at least) because he has blocked in both of his bishops.
Or 14...Qc8, when neither black bishop can move.
Bruce Lee famously said that his fighting style was the art of fighting without fighting. In this game, both players seem intent on a fighting style of winning without moving. Their bishops, at least.
Somehow I don't think it will catch on.
Now here's a thought, if they ever get round to doing a remake of Fantasy Island, I'd vote for Benedict Cumberbatch as Roarke. That would really make Ricardo Montalban paranoid that he was being followed.
|Mar-10-14|| ||Ratt Boy: What about 14...♗c8? Black's position is cramped and ugly, to be sure, butt White only has a ♕ and ♗ developed, and Black might be able to play ...g6 and fianchetto the ♗, castling soon after.|
This plan would be better than 14...g6. Butt then, so would 14...♘e5, so that's not exactry saying much.
|Mar-10-14|| ||agb2002: White is a knight down.
Black threatens 15... Bg7 and 16... 0-0.
Pattern recognition finds 15.Qxg6+ hxg6 16.Bxg6#.
|Mar-10-14|| ||Once: <Ratt Boy> 14...Bc8 would be absolutely fine for black, as would 14...Qc8/Qb8. If we count the pieces, we see that white has sacrificed a whole minor piece in return for just one threat - the reloader on g6.|
All black has to do is avoid that one threat and he has an easy win on material.
For that matter, black could thumb his nose at white and say naa-naa-na-na-na by playing 14...Kf7.
Fritzie even reckons that 14...Ne5 15. Qxe5 Bc6 gives black a slight edge.
All black has to do is avoid a disaster on g6, either with 14...g6 or with a move that doesn't create luft for the black king.
Defeat snatched from the jaws of victory, perhaps?
|Mar-10-14|| ||Cheapo by the Dozen: Normally I don't like the typical super-easy Monday.|
But after a rough puzzle-solving week just ended, I approve this one!!
And I agree that the game was very dubiously played. Please tell me that at least it was blitz or something.
|Mar-10-14|| ||MountainMatt: 15. Qxg6+ hxg6 16. Bxg6# and yes, this HAD to be either blitz or blindfold, right? Or maybe both!|
|Mar-10-14|| ||chrisowen: Aded queen bishop pawn one in dud g6 flight to cat,
a g6 land healthy if delve in freed bishop dug find battery in light diagonal b1 feel a g6 queen guffaw in every fan ease fade free end bishop queen minds a win edged on the rack kind of alternative jalt bind bid foot air in flowing like a beauty first of all g6 ala mode queen invested good aimless again cruise a bid bishop at enter g6 ide see a jostle go g6 lesson black stuck in the quagmire discern wave of gpawn having question shred skim palm see one of g6 ride a fazed queen bed path a bend inceed queen dangled see I flog 14...g6 light cleaned up ends in sight for honour in he a dead cad if ive got this correct plain cuffed after daylight robber edict of course it is a dip g6 up ply in light single mind goods I cross it you in rope a dope going black at call sevens accent fair enough queen gambled bishop free backer mitigate in one befored bishop,
effect calls the shot in sense g6 ment high sigh it paces freights teed a far flung back bind free deed,
it now in not one jot of an iota eddy queen cutoff path of clefts in foot being bishop dutiful in backing eh excuse enough save king e8 later ever more bueno aka would mid bishop in plenti c8 keeps the peace to have a g6 lambast creaking choose eg give dareing bullrush to e4 clog the arteries lingered chat in among hosts a plus three point,
lead until crash a pearly g6 whats the gig rudder?
unhinged queen bishop castigated you jib gyop rock see able g6 mate in band have crash underlay queen gutoff string one d3 and one g6 any port of call I'm afraid the plant g6 engrains king anguish e8 a beddy 15.Qxg6+ gafferd tape a king he feels e8 cornered line dash a gift g6 bishop a foilable king entombed fog in be finger true delight angle would ebb and flow offer goofed aground I grieve a grave 15...hxg6 16.Bxg6#.
|Mar-10-14|| ||JG27Pyth: The puzzle is fine for a Monday but what an awful game.|
|Mar-10-14|| ||Squire49: Just came back from the eye doctor.
The diagnose is cataracts in the right eye. Nonetheless it took just about 2 seconds to see 15.Qxg6+ hxg6 16.Bxg6#.
Monday is definitely rewarding.
|Mar-10-14|| ||gawain: When I spotted this one I guffawed loudly and gleefully. I couldn't help myself. Reminiscent of a fool's mate. Poor Black.|
|Mar-10-14|| ||PinnedPiece: Can't go wrong looking for a winning Q sac on Monday.|
Sometimes there's even mate to follow!
|Mar-10-14|| ||Patriot: 15.Qxg6+ hxg6 16.Bxg6#|
|Mar-10-14|| ||Caissas Clown: I like Phil Freely's comment about 'always sac the Queen'!|
Re:Phony Benoni's comment :
'There are endless arguments about whether to sacrifice the queen or the bishop.'
I do the daily Shredder puzzles : once or twice,I have delivered a mate, only for Shredder to exclaim 'Wrong answer!',because it prefers a different mate.Yes,my eyes were fine and I confirmed my line was a mate. First three or four moves match , but I gave the 'wrong' mate.
End result is the same,but I wonder - if the Q was on g3 , would the very advanced programs in the nTec tourneys evaluate the sac of Q or B equally?
They should , of course , but do they?
Personally,I would sac the Bishop every time - if I had overlooked something,I could battle on B for pawn down. Q for pawn down is a different matter.
|Mar-10-14|| ||M.Hassan: 15.Qxg6+ hxg6(forced)
|Mar-10-14|| ||1stboard: Ugly game,
Black's mistake was move 2, should have played d6 , standard for centuries ....
|Mar-13-14|| ||TheTamale: Oh yes, thank you, <stingray>. I didn't even see that moving the bishop works as well. This, alas, is why I am not an analyst. (I suck at real & complex analysis as well!)|
|Mar-18-14|| ||perfidious: <tga: I was lucky enough to get the chance to play a similar combination against an expert in the Greenwich Open [the Greenwich in Vermont, not NY] about 10 1/2 years ago.>|
There is no such place as Greenwich, Vermont--take it from someone who has been to every part of that state.
|Mar-18-14|| ||WannaBe: Sunday puzzle, translate what <chrisowen> posted.|
(Sorry, chris, couldn't resist =))
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·