chessgames.com
Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing

(If you register a free account you won't see all these ads!)
Levon Aronian vs Hikaru Nakamura
Sinquefield Cup (2016), Saint Louis, MO USA, rd 8, Aug-13
Queen's Gambit Declined: Harrwitz Attack. Main Line (D37)  ·  1-0
ANALYSIS [x]

FEN COPIED

NOTE: You are using our new chess viewer, "Olga." For more info see the Olga Quickstart Guide. You can switch back to the old viewer (pgn4web) from the pulldown menu below. If you have questions or suggestions see our Olga chessforum.

explore this opening
find similar games 81 more Aronian/Nakamura games
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: You can make these tips go away by registering a free account then visiting your preferences page. Simply check the option "Don't show random tips on game pages." and click the Update Profile button at the bottom.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.
PREMIUM MEMBERS CAN REQUEST COMPUTER ANALYSIS [more info]

Kibitzer's Corner
Aug-14-16
Premium Chessgames Member
  An Englishman: Good Evening: I would hate to sit opposite Aronian during one of those games where he weaves a seemingly impossible win out of a seemingly hopelessly drawn endgame. It must rank among chess' greatest agonies to watch him appear to do nothing for 75 moves and yet your position continues to deteriorate ever so slowly.

One good example: from moves 49-54, watch how he rearranges his Rook and Bishop with the goal of placing the prelate on e6, the perfect square from which it can protect the b-pawn.

I don't understand one part of the game, when Black had a Rook on h2 and numerous chances to snatch the g2 pawn (e.g., after 40.Bd7). Why didn't Nakamura take the pawn?

Aug-14-16  Jamboree: An Englishman sez:

"I don't understand one part of the game, when Black had a Rook on h2 and numerous chances to snatch the g2 pawn (e.g., after 40.Bd7). Why didn't Nakamura take the pawn?"

I believe the reason is because Aronian was ready to spring a diabolical trap!

If 41. ... Rxg2, then white plays

42. Rh1! and suddenly black's rook has no flight squares! White is threatening simply Kf1 or Bh3 and the rook is lost!

No black king or pawn move does anything to rescue the rook, so his only hope is something like 42. ... Nf5, but then white just goes 43. Kf1 anyway, and it looks like black either has to sac the knight to save the rook with 43. ...Nxe3+, which leads to a lost endgame, or his only hope to hang on to the material which would be then 43. ... Rg4, but that leads to a terribly cramped position for black, with the knight pinned and the king protecting the knight, and it looks like white could then go 44. Rh8, the swing over and nab the undefendable a pawn, while black struggles to untangle his knot of pieces over on the kingside.

The problem then for black is that if he tries for counterplay with 44. ... Rh4, 45. Ra8 Rh1+ 46. Ke2, now white is threatening to win the knight with 47. Ra6+, and black has to deal with that problem instead of playing the hoped-for 46. ...Rb1. So then white will win the a-pawn uncontested, and will easily usher the two connected queenside pawns down the board, as black's king and knight are way offsides and won't be able to stop them.

So, THAT's why Nakamura didn't play 41. ... Rxg2?

I think.

Aug-14-16  5hrsolver: I think in some lines the rook is in danger of getting trapped if it takes on g2. For example, 40...Rg2 41. Rd1 (to prevent Pf5) Nc4 42. Rh1 followed by Kf1 or Bh3.
Aug-14-16  5hrsolver: Another thing I noticed is that 37...Ng4 is not possible because of 38. Be6 skewering rook and knight.
Aug-14-16  Ulhumbrus: Can one suggest what is wrong with Black's game after 19...b6? One answer is this: White's pieces enjoy a lead of two moves in development but in effect four moves if we consider that White's rooks have reached the open c and d files whilst Black's rooks have not.
Oct-27-16  Open Defence: One question which could arise is 15...Nxf4 instead of 15...Nf6

followed by 16.exf6 Ra7


click for larger view

e.g. 17.a3 a5 18.Rac1 b6 and now if 19. Ne5 Rc7 20. b4 here Black can ply 20...Bd6 as the Bishop cannot be taken without losing to Rxc1+

and after 21. Rxc7 Bxc7


click for larger view

I dont see anything nasty

NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply. Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous, and 100% free--plus, it entitles you to features otherwise unavailable. Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should login now.
Please observe our posting guidelines:
  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
  3. No personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No posting personal information of members.
Blow the Whistle See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.


NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page. This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.
Spot an error? Please submit a correction slip and help us eliminate database mistakes!
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)


home | about | login | logout | F.A.Q. | your profile | preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | new kibitzing | chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | privacy notice | contact us
Copyright 2001-2017, Chessgames Services LLC