chessgames.com

  
Walter Grimshaw
Number of games in database: 2
Years covered: 1872 to 1886

Search Sacrifice Explorer for Walter Grimshaw
Search Google for Walter Grimshaw


WALTER GRIMSHAW
(born Mar-12-1832, died Dec-27-1890) United Kingdom

[what is this?]
Walter Grimshaw was a British composer of chess problems. In 1854 he won the first ever chess problem solving competition in London. He is perhaps best known for a popular interference theme of chess problems, commonly known as simply a Grimshaw.

Wikipedia article: Walter Grimshaw


 page 1 of 1; 2 games  PGN Download 
Game  ResultMoves Year Event/LocaleOpening
1. W Grimshaw vs Steinitz 1-017 1872 ViennaC45 Scotch Game
2. W Grimshaw vs A Love 1-019 1886 WhitbyC26 Vienna
  REFINE SEARCH:   White wins (1-0) | Black wins (0-1) | Draws (1/2-1/2) | Grimshaw wins | Grimshaw loses  

Kibitzer's Corner
Jun-08-05  aw1988: Responsible for the "Double Grimshaw"?
Mar-22-08
Premium Chessgames Member
  Sneaky: <aw1988> Like in mathematics, it's always hard to say somebody is responsible for something... chess is more of a process of discovery than invention.

Here's an example of a double Grimshaw interference:


click for larger view

White to play and mate in two. (Loshinsky, 1930)

Scroll down for solution.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Solution:

1. Bb3!!

Creating no direct threats but leaving Black in a state of zugwang, in spite of his wealth of movable pieces.

The Grimshaws occur on b7 and g7 here, hence it's a "double grimshaw". For example if 1...Rb7, Black will block his own bishop on a8, allowing 2.Rc6#. But if Black plays 1...Bb7 then he blocks his own rook, allowing 2.Re7#.

On g7 another grimshaw interference takes place. On 1...Rb7 the h8-bishop is blocked to allow 2.Qe5#. On 1...Bb7 the h7-rook is blocked to allow 2.Qxf7#.

There's even another interference going on: that of the f-pawn. E.g. if 1...Bc6, white has 2.Qg4#, because the bishop blocked the f-pawn.

A very famous puzzle.

<Grimshaw vs Novotny interference>

For years I puzzled over the difference between a Grimshaw interference and a Novotny interference, but now I think I finally know the difference. In a Grimshaw, it's Black (the losing player) who blocks himself, so that every defense to one mate cuts off another piece to allow a different mate. In a Novotny interference it's White (the winning player) who plunks a piece down on the interference square which curiously cannot be captured due to the same interference problem. Novotny tactics are often breathtaking, because a player will put a piece on a square which can be captured so many ways, and yet it's immune to capture. And it's not a revealed attack--it's pure interference. Puzzles with Novotny solutions often appear so outlandish they look like typographical errors.

Mar-22-08
Premium Chessgames Member
  TheBB: <Sneaky> Finally! :)

<E.g. if 1...Bc6,> You mean ...Bf6 of course. Took me a while to figure out... lol.

Remind me never to be a problemist.

Anyway, from your description it would seem to me that the following game features an example of a Novotny interference, but on the game page it's talked about Planchutta-something-or-other.

Tarrasch vs Allies, 1914

I don't really care what the names are. It's really the examples that matter.

Mar-22-08
Premium Chessgames Member
  acirce: <TheBB> Yeah, the theme in Tarrasch vs Allies, 1914 <is> a Plachutta. The difference is well explained by <Gilmoy> on the game page:

<- Nowotny is when they move differently, e.g. R+B. This implies that the moving piece <cuts off> the non-moving piece, which instantly gives the -1 defender.

- Plachutta is when they move similarly, e.g. R+R. This implies that there is no <cutting off>, but the moving piece does become <overworked>. Then you can deflect it further for the -1.>

and in the Wikipedia article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plachu...

Mar-22-08  xrt999: I love trying to follow lines with a bunch of errors.
Aug-31-09  PE56: Sneaky, this is indeed an excellent problem by the great Lev Loshinsky. However, there are actually three Grimshaws in the problem!!

1...Bf6 2.Qg4#
1...f6 2.Qe4#

We have here a reciprocal interference by the Bishop and Pawn, as opposed to a Bishop and Rook in a regular Grimshaw. This is called "Pickabish". Don't miss the fact that both defenses on f6 are also self-blocks.

Oct-29-10
Premium Chessgames Member
  GrahamClayton: Here is an excellent website on the history of the Grimshaw family:

http://www.grimshaworigin.org/index...

The Walter Grimshaw page is still under construction.

Sep-18-11  vonKrolock: Article by Edward Winter on his alleged victory, in an off-hand game, over the World Champion <Grimshaw vs Steinitz> http://chesshistory.com/winter/extr...

And also <Chess Notes> 7271/2 with more bio-data, pictures etc

Jul-23-13
Premium Chessgames Member
  thomastonk: From "The Bristol Mercury and Daily Post" January 3, 1891: "A Whitby telegram states that Mr Walter Grimshaw, the eminent chess player and composer, committed suicide on Saturday morning by cutting his throat with a razor."
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply. Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous, and 100% free--plus, it entitles you to features otherwise unavailable. Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should login now.
Please observe our posting guidelines:
  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
  3. No personal attacks against other users.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
Blow the Whistle See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.


NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page. This forum is for this specific player and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.
Spot an error? Please suggest your correction and help us eliminate database mistakes!


home | about | login | logout | F.A.Q. | your profile | preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | new kibitzing | chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Little ChessPartner | privacy notice | contact us
Copyright 2001-2014, Chessgames Services LLC
Web design & database development by 20/20 Technologies