Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing

🏆 European Team Championship (1992)

  PARTICIPANTS (sorted by highest achieved rating; click on name to see player's games)
Garry Kasparov, Vladimir Kramnik, Vasyl Ivanchuk, Peter Leko, Michael Adams, Evgeny Bareev, Victor Bologan, Zoltan Almasi, Loek van Wely, Vladimir Akopian, Nigel Short, Aleksey Dreev, Alexander G Beliavsky, Ivan Sokolov, Ilia Smirin, Kiril Georgiev, Viktor Korchnoi, Aleksej Aleksandrov, Andrei Istratescu, Predrag Nikolic, Jeroen Piket, Tony Miles, Giorgi Kacheishvili, Rafael Vaganian, Lajos Portisch, Zbynek Hracek, Eduardas Rozentalis, Ljubomir Ljubojevic, Jonathan Speelman, Friso Nijboer, Ulf Andersson, Johann Hjartarson, Smbat Lputian, Zdenko Kozul, John Nunn, Vasilios Kotronias, Eric Lobron, Lev Psakhis, Branko Damljanovic, Alberto David, Artashes Minasian, Alexey Vyzmanavin, Alexander Chernin, Mihail Marin, Christopher Lutz, Oleg Romanishin, Boris Alterman, Gerald Hertneck, Igor Novikov, Giorgi Giorgadze, Gyula Sax, Pavel Blatny, Ashot Anastasian, Vasil Spasov, Florin Gheorghiu, Vlastimil Hort, Ferdinand Hellers, Vladislav Nevednichy, Vereslav Eingorn, Joerg Hickl, Bogdan Lalic, Zurab Sturua, Hannes Stefansson, Jozsef Pinter, Helgi Olafsson, Jordi Magem Badals, Zoltan Varga, Alon Greenfeld, John van der Wiel, Lars Bo Hansen, Ognjen Cvitan, Bojan Kurajica, Viacheslav Dydyshko, Andrei Kovalev, Mihai Suba, Miso Cebalo, Aleksander Wojtkiewicz, Thomas Ernst, Jozsef Horvath, Krunoslav Hulak, Csaba Horvath, Andras Adorjan, Goran Dizdar, Dorian Rogozenco, Michele Godena, Vladimir Bagirov, Spyridon Skembris, Jose Luis Fernandez Garcia, Zvulon Gofshtein, Petar Popovic, Manuel Rivas Pastor, Jacek Gdanski, Jon Arnason, Manuel Apicella, Margeir Petursson, Arnaud Hauchard, Aloyzas Kveinys, Darius Ruzele, Pia Cramling, Emir Dizdarevic plus 102 more players. Chess Event Description
European Team Championship (1992)

The 10th European Team Championship was contested between 40 national teams (including Hungary B and C) in the Aranybika Hotel in Debrecen, Hungary from 21-29 November 1992. It was a 9-round Swiss system tournament organized by the Hungarian Chess Federation and the European Chess Union. Each team consisted of four players plus one reserve, and for the first time there was separate event for women. Time control: 2 hours for the first 40 moves followed by 1 more hour for the next 20 moves. Rounds 1-8 started at 3 pm local time, Round 9 at 10 am. The most notable absences were Anatoly Karpov, Alexey Shirov, Boris Gelfand, and Jan Timman. Azerbaijan forfeited Round 1 vs Netherlands and withdrew from the event, while Yugoslavia (under the FIDE flag) was excluded from the competition after Round 1. Number of games played: 719 (Supatashvili vs Rota in Round 1 was not played).

Russia (Kasparov, Bareev, Kramnik, Dreev, Vyzmanavin) won with 25/36 game points, ahead of Ukraine (22.5/36) and England (21.5/36).

Jaque 344, pp. 15-22:
Új Néplap, 30 November 1992, p. 7:
Tidskrift för Schack, 1993/1, pp. 2-11:
Délmagyarország, 19 November 1992, p. 16:

Next: European Team Championship (1997). Womens's section: European Team Championship (Women) (1992)

 page 1 of 29; games 1-25 of 719  PGN Download
Game  ResultMoves YearEvent/LocaleOpening
1. Adams vs J Magem Badals  1-0401992European Team ChampionshipE54 Nimzo-Indian, 4.e3, Gligoric System
2. Bagirov vs Romanishin  ½-½241992European Team ChampionshipA15 English
3. Ljubojevic vs Blatny  1-0461992European Team ChampionshipD43 Queen's Gambit Declined Semi-Slav
4. Dreev vs B Zueger  1-0351992European Team ChampionshipD02 Queen's Pawn Game
5. Z Varga vs Hort 1-0401992European Team ChampionshipD37 Queen's Gambit Declined
6. Ivanchuk vs Lanka  ½-½381992European Team ChampionshipB62 Sicilian, Richter-Rauzer
7. J Pinter vs J Norri  ½-½581992European Team ChampionshipA81 Dutch
8. Korchnoi vs Kasparov ½-½441992European Team ChampionshipE98 King's Indian, Orthodox, Taimanov, 9.Ne1
9. Kotronias vs V Akopian  0-1631992European Team ChampionshipB32 Sicilian
10. J Costa vs Kramnik 0-1261992European Team ChampionshipD47 Queen's Gambit Declined Semi-Slav
11. R Damaso vs Kupreichik  1-0321992European Team ChampionshipE92 King's Indian
12. Leko vs J Hickl  ½-½591992European Team ChampionshipB10 Caro-Kann
13. Miles vs F Izeta Txabarri  0-1721992European Team ChampionshipA35 English, Symmetrical
14. J M Gomez Esteban vs Nunn  0-1281992European Team ChampionshipE81 King's Indian, Samisch
15. M Rychagov vs Portisch  0-1571992European Team ChampionshipB43 Sicilian, Kan, 5.Nc3
16. Psakhis vs E Mortensen  ½-½231992European Team ChampionshipB42 Sicilian, Kan
17. M Rivas Pastor vs Short  ½-½281992European Team ChampionshipD78 Neo-Grunfeld, 6.O-O c6
18. C Daly vs Suba  0-1451992European Team ChampionshipB51 Sicilian, Canal-Sokolsky (Rossolimo) Attack
19. Wojtkiewicz vs M Dutreeuw  ½-½281992European Team ChampionshipE06 Catalan, Closed, 5.Nf3
20. J Arnason vs J Barle  ½-½331992European Team ChampionshipC28 Vienna Game
21. L B Hansen vs Smirin  ½-½291992European Team ChampionshipE92 King's Indian
22. Hertneck vs C Horvath  ½-½521992European Team ChampionshipD85 Grunfeld
23. C F Morris vs D Rogozenco  0-1601992European Team ChampionshipA21 English
24. B Alterman vs C Hoi  1-0431992European Team ChampionshipE85 King's Indian, Samisch, Orthodox Variation
25. Bareev vs L Brunner  1-0501992European Team ChampionshipE32 Nimzo-Indian, Classical
 page 1 of 29; games 1-25 of 719  PGN Download
  REFINE SEARCH:   White wins (1-0) | Black wins (0-1) | Draws (1/2-1/2)  

Kibitzer's Corner
There is no kibitzing for this page, yet.

NOTE: Create an account today to post replies and access other powerful features which are available only to registered users. Becoming a member is free, anonymous, and takes less than 1 minute! If you already have a username, then simply login login under your username now to join the discussion.

Please observe our posting guidelines:

  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, duplicate, or gibberish posts.
  3. No vitriolic or systematic personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No cyberstalking or malicious posting of negative or private information (doxing/doxxing) of members.
  6. No trolling.
  7. The use of "sock puppet" accounts to circumvent disciplinary action taken by moderators, create a false impression of consensus or support, or stage conversations, is prohibited.
  8. Do not degrade Chessgames or any of it's staff/volunteers.

Please try to maintain a semblance of civility at all times.

Blow the Whistle

See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform a moderator.

NOTE: Please keep all discussion on-topic. This forum is for this specific tournament only. To discuss chess or this site in general, visit the Kibitzer's Café.

Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of, its employees, or sponsors.
All moderator actions taken are ultimately at the sole discretion of the administration.

Spot an error? Please suggest your correction and help us eliminate database mistakes!

Copyright 2001-2023, Chessgames Services LLC