Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing
Viktor Korchnoi vs Anatoly Karpov
SWIFT Tournament 2nd (1987), Brussels BEL, rd 9, Apr-21
Queen's Gambit Declined: Vienna. Quiet Variation (D44)  ·  0-1



Click Here to play Guess-the-Move
Given 12 times; par: 79 [what's this?]

explore this opening
find similar games 120 more Korchnoi/Karpov games
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: If you missed a Game of the Day, you can review the last year of games at our Game of the Day Archive.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.


Kibitzer's Corner
May-08-08  MichAdams: On move 48, Korchnoi accidentally touched his King, and sweeeeeept all the pieces from the board. Oh, the drama!
May-08-08  aazqua: That's pretty funny. He certainly has an easy draw here with the pawns on one side and the wrong colored bishop.
Sep-13-14  Howard: Yes, I do recall there was something strange or irregular about the way this game ended----Chess Life explained it, but I don't recall what they said.
Jun-24-17  Sally Simpson: "Yes, I do recall there was something strange or irregular about the way this game ended----Chess Life explained it, but I don't recall what they said."

Here (White to play)

click for larger view

Korchnoi touched his King. Any Knight move draws.

He then made an angry remark about playing on in a drawn position, swept the pieces off the board and 'stormed out of the room.'

BCM June 1987.

Jun-24-17  offramp: Which such few pieces left, instead of making a dramatic clatter they would just have made a SORRY tinkle, and Karpov would have laughed:

<"Viktor, you already hate me 10/10, it's no good pretending you've gone up to 11.">

Dec-03-18  Sally Simpson: ***

Final Position

click for larger view


Premium Chessgames Member
  Plaskett: I was there. Karpov reacted with his customary ice cool, but Shelby Lyman was animated and a calm Lyuboyevic said to he and his film crew, " It give you something to write about". Not the first time Korchnoi resigned after unintentionally touching a piece. In his autobiography he relates how in the latter rounds of the 1960 Championship of the USSR - an event he won, he picked up the wrong bishop - one that was attacking nothing - and so picked up his jacket and walked out of the playing hall, leaving many fans in bewilderment "...which shortly turned to grief". I have already written that "The touch move rule is an absurdity". (Incidentally I co-authored a book four years ago - Bad Show - which actually has a chapter headed "The wrong bishop" !)
Dec-26-19  Petrosianic: Two people here have insisted that the touch was accidental, and honestly, it sounds like the kind of damage control excuse that people make for Top GM's rather than admit fault.

A truly inadvertent touch, like a sleeve brush or something isn't enforceable under touch move. Isn't it more likely that he touched the King <deliberately>, (maybe because he had a brain fart and had already started thinking about the next move), and that the "accident" excuse was concocted on the spot, to make Korchnoi seem like a victim instead of a bonehead? The fact that he was that angry at himself, and didn't even try to claim to a TD that it was an accident strongly suggests that it was not.

Jan-09-20  PJs Studio: I SAW the video footage of this event and a couple of things I can add;

1. Kochnoi did touch the King. He must’ve been calculating deeply and when in time trouble forgot the knight was hanging. But he certainly touched it as if to move it.

2. When Victor knocked the pieces off the board they went FLYING. Like across the room. Loudly. Karpov just sat there and wrote on his scoresheet (probably ”0-1”)

I felt bad for Victor. Quite a difficult man but Karpov and the soviets really stuck it to him in Baguio City. At the time I remember thinking it Would've been funnier if he bounced the king off Karpov’s head.

Mar-09-23  savagerules: Whoops, Viktor! Touch move rule loses the game for him. Must have been really irritating to lose a drawn ending to his arch nemesis Karpov. Even if he later sacs the Knight for the b pawn and gives up his last two pawns it's still a draw because a1 square is opposite color of the Bishop. The only good thing about mindlessly losing like this is you just drop a half point from draw to loss, it's worse if you're winning and blow it that it hurts even more.

NOTE: Create an account today to post replies and access other powerful features which are available only to registered users. Becoming a member is free, anonymous, and takes less than 1 minute! If you already have a username, then simply login login under your username now to join the discussion.

Please observe our posting guidelines:

  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, duplicate, or gibberish posts.
  3. No vitriolic or systematic personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No cyberstalking or malicious posting of negative or private information (doxing/doxxing) of members.
  6. No trolling.
  7. The use of "sock puppet" accounts to circumvent disciplinary action taken by moderators, create a false impression of consensus or support, or stage conversations, is prohibited.
  8. Do not degrade Chessgames or any of it's staff/volunteers.

Please try to maintain a semblance of civility at all times.

Blow the Whistle

See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform a moderator.

NOTE: Please keep all discussion on-topic. This forum is for this specific game only. To discuss chess or this site in general, visit the Kibitzer's Café.

Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of, its employees, or sponsors.
All moderator actions taken are ultimately at the sole discretion of the administration.

This game is type: CLASSICAL. Please report incorrect or missing information by submitting a correction slip to help us improve the quality of our content.

<This page contains Editor Notes. Click here to read them.>

Featured in the Following Game Collections[what is this?]
from 1987 S.W.I.F.T. Brussels by KingG
Queen's Gambit Accepted
by Chessdreamer

Home | About | Login | Logout | F.A.Q. | Profile | Preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | New Kibitzing | Chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | Privacy Notice | Contact Us

Copyright 2001-2023, Chessgames Services LLC