< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|Nov-19-12|| ||vinidivici: Kasparov has done the perfect endgames measured by human skill. |
And too bad for Polgar, knight vs rook + knight should end DRAW with just a little bit difficulty,
Anyway, this game deserves a GOTD!!
|Aug-19-13|| ||notyetagm: Judit Polgar vs Kasparov, 1996|
<efused: Yes, it's a text book draw.
Judit sacrificed her piece in order to get into that ending, back then. But Kasparov kept on poking her and she eventually stumbled into the mate.
As she started to lose the thread in that game, she switched her seating position on the chair to cross-legged (tailor fashion thing), in the final position, she took a few sad moments to look at her position on the demonstration board before she resigned.>
|Feb-26-14|| ||Hime: What is the answer to 91. Rf8?|
|Feb-26-14|| ||barryh1976: 91...Kg6 92. Rg8+ Kf7 93. Kh7 then knight forks or 93. Rook down followed by discovered check with mate to follow.|
|Feb-26-14|| ||ChemMac: Why not 65. Ra6+? Keep checking until e.g. the N interposes, then get that King away from the edges of the board. Just common sense.|
|Nov-17-14|| ||Ke2: for those criticizing magnus today, this game is worth a look. it's a bit different because judit's king was less active. according to the tablebase, 79. Ra1 loses, 79. Rf1+ draws.|
|Aug-25-15|| ||Penguincw: Hehe, not a bad pun. I have to say though, I thought this was the longest RN vs. R ending (say what) out there that ended in a win, but that's obviously not true. Just last year in the WCC a game lasted 120+ moves with this ending. The longest ending of this type would be this: V Neverov vs S Bogdanovich, 2013 (210 moves).|
|Aug-25-15|| ||HeMateMe: great pun. I thought this was going to be the game where Kaspy touched a Knight, but then didn't move it, because it would lead to a lost position?|
|Aug-25-15|| ||RookFile: Tough game. Nothing to talk about if Polgar could have gotten her king more towards the center at the end. Kasparov wouldn't let her and kept making dangerous threats.|
|Aug-25-15|| ||Naugh: <psmith> That move would be illegal, because Kasparove would check himself with the White queen.|
|Aug-25-15|| ||morfishine: I agree with <ChemMac>|
|Aug-25-15|| ||thegoodanarchist: thegoodanarchist: <HeMateMe: great pun. I thought this was going to be the game where Kaspy touched a Knight, but then didn't move it, because it would lead to a lost position?>|
Well, first of all, IIRC Kasparov <did> move the knight in that famous game. He just changed the destination of the knight, but still moved the piece because he had to, by the rules of the game.
Secondly, that has already been GOTD before:
Judit Polgar vs Kasparov, 1994
|Aug-25-15|| ||HeMateMe: no, I believe he also put the Knight down on a square that leads to a lost position, then quickly grabbed the piece and put it on the correct square. That's cheating.|
|Aug-25-15|| ||kevin86: White must have expired on time...the game is not won as pictured!|
|Aug-25-15|| ||thegoodanarchist: <HeMateMe: no, I believe he also put the Knight down on a square that leads to a lost position,>|
<<HeMateMe: ... I thought this was going to be the game where Kaspy touched a Knight, but then didn't move it>
Uh, you do realize you are contradicting yourself? I am not sure which of your two statements you adhere to - could you clarify your thoughts?
|Aug-25-15|| ||5hrsolver: Gotta love the winning idea at the end.
91.Rf8 Kg6 92.Rg8+ Kf7 93.Rg4 (or Kh7) then 93..Nf6
If 92.Kg8 then Nf6+ mates next move.
|Aug-25-15|| ||mruknowwho: 89.Rg1 seems like a blunder. How is Kasparov supposed to mate the king if White keeps his rook on the eighth rank?|
|Aug-25-15|| ||talljack: Some of the things that make a world champ are tenacity and naked aggression. I love Judit, but GK wore her down, as was his prerogative. Regarding the "knight touch" game, I would note two things: 1) I've seen the most honest chessplayer I know touch a piece, change his mind and forget after much thought, that he had to move it, so, it's possible GK did something similar. I don't know his character enough to judge. I'm just saying it may not have been deliberate. 2)Judit knows the rules. You have to call the touched piece when it happens, not complain about it after the game. That would be unfair to the "toucher." It gives his opponent two ways to win the game, either in the move he finally chose or the one he should legally have played. So, GK won that game fairly, no cheating involved, though his intention may be called into question. It was JP's responsibility to call it.|
|Aug-25-15|| ||Bycotron: Kevin86, I think the game is won by black as pictured after his 90th move.|
93.Kh7 Nf6+ 0-1
Admittedly, I'm just doing this in my head as I can't move the pieces and I don't have a computer to check my work. Why did you state that black hasn't won yet? Did you find a draw for white?
|Aug-25-15|| ||newhampshireboy: Why didn't Kasparov take her knight with the queen? Go easy on me guys as I am only a 1500 player! Sacking a piece in the opening against Kasparov and then he doesn't take it? Can someone please explain this as I am having a serious brain cramp. Thanks!|
|Aug-25-15|| ||newhampshireboy: Ok, I see now. The queen is trapped after taking the knight. I just needed to clear my head for a moment!|
|Aug-26-15|| ||kevin86: A bit of chessboard magic...and I missed it-|
|Sep-10-17|| ||mcb: On move 30 why not...QxBmate?|
|Sep-11-17|| ||mcb: Dumb question about move 30. It's late and I'm stupider than usual. Queen can't take with mate because White has Queen pinned on King. Other than that it's a wonderful move..|
|Dec-19-18|| ||KnightVBishop: is the touch move controversy game?|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·