|Bubo bubo: <zanzibar:
Shredder gives a loss in 63, again beyond the 50-move rule.
So, technically this is a draw.>
You are right, but your reasoning is a bit too simple: the Nalimov tablebases give <distance to mate>, so Black can force
click for larger view
mate in at most 63 moves from this position.
Since this number does *not* tell us when the knight gets captured, we must not conclude <63 is greater than 50, hence a technical draw!>
In order to decide whether this game can be won by Black under current FIDE rules, we have to look for the <DTZ> instead, the distance to zeroing the 50-move counter.
This information is provided by the <Syzygy> tablebases:
The position above is indeed a technical draw. Black is really close to winning, but White can keep his knight for 51 (!) moves by playing 70.Nd1!
But after the game continuation 70.Na4? Black could have won, the DTZ now being only 46 moves.
Conclusion: In a certain sense we are both right ;-), and of course no human should ever be blamed for not following the tablebase lines in one of these crazy pawnless endgames!