chessgames.com
Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing
Hikaru Nakamura vs Garry Kasparov
St. Louis Rapid & Blitz (Rapid) (2017) (rapid), St Louis, MO USA, rd 2, Aug-14
Gruenfeld Defense: General (D80)  ·  1/2-1/2

ANALYSIS [x]

FEN COPIED

Get this game explained with Decode Chess
explore this opening
find similar games 9 more Nakamura/Kasparov games
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: The tournament is found above the game. For the newest chess events, this information may be a link which takes you to the tournament page which includes other games, a crosstable, discussion, etc.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.
PREMIUM MEMBERS CAN REQUEST COMPUTER ANALYSIS [more info]

A COMPUTER ANNOTATED SCORE OF THIS GAME IS AVAILABLE.  [CLICK HERE]

Kibitzer's Corner
Aug-14-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  ajk68: Naka not showing much respect Kasparov. Playing on in a clearly drawn endgame.
Aug-14-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  saffuna: Agree. It's disrespectful.
Aug-14-17  zborris8: <ajk68 - playing on in a drawn game> Nakamura's last move was an Illegal promotion - the pawn never reached h8. This is an automatic forfeit:

https://youtu.be/Iw3rsUIC3RU?t=10101

Kasparov could have taught him a lesson.

Aug-14-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  RookFile: Is that a rule? I've never heard of it.
Aug-15-17  zborris8: It was stated by GM GSerper in his article, and I took his word for it.

<GM GSerper: <"You are supposed to first push the pawn to b8 and only then replace it with a queen.">>

He cited this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Prk...

Now he's just edited his article as a lot of people have taken notice.

<GM GSerper: <[In fact removing the pawn and putting the new piece on the square of promotion is allowed, in any order. — Ed.]>>

Do You Know How to Promote a Pawn? -by GM GSerper

Aug-15-17  zanzibar: FIDE handbook gives this:

<4.6
The act of promotion may be performed in various ways:

the pawn does not have to be placed on the square of arrival,

removing the pawn and putting the new piece on the square of promotion may occur in any order.

If an opponent’s piece stands on the square of promotion, it must be captured.>

https://www.fide.com/component/hand...

But these rules are stated only valid to July 1, 2017 (?).

Not sure about USCF rules on the matter (aside- FIDE disallows the upside-down rook often used in US play to denote a queen).

Aug-15-17  MKalafatas: I'm thinking young Garry would've plumped for 13...fxe5 in place of 13...Be6 --- and not taken very long about it, either.
Aug-15-17  Strelets: Well, that lasted for about thirty moves more than it needed to.
Aug-15-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  ajk68: Commentary pointed out that Naka missed the win. A typical knight screening the pawn from the bishop would have led to promotion.
Aug-16-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  chessgames.com: We tested this game with our upcoming Stockfish feature, you can see the results here: Nakamura vs Kasparov, 2017 [eval].

The skinny is this:

Kasparov's 38...Ke5 was inaccurate: 38...g5 would lead to equality, but after Naka played 39.Ke3 the eval was +1.08 in White's favor.

Kasparov's 44...Kc5? was a big mistake because he opened himself up to 45.a4!! Bf6 46.a5 Kb5 47.Nh2 Bg7 48.a6 Kxa6 49.Ng4 Bf8 +- +6.72 (42 ply) — but lucky for him Naka didn't see it and played 45. Nd4? instead, keeping the game level.

Kasparov's 44...Bb6? was a losing move, and Naka correctly replied with 48. Nf4 +- +10.26 (42 ply)

But as luck would have it for Gazza, Nakamura let the win slip through his fingers with 52. Ke4? — instead he could have gone on to win with 52.Kc4 Bf2 53.Kb5 Ke8 54.Kc6 Kd8 55.Kb7 Be1 56.Ne3 Kd7 +- +128.34 (75 ply).

(Note that enormous evaluations over 100 like that is Stockfish's way of saying "It's virtually certain there is a forced mate, even though the details are not fully computed." The huge ply depth is an indication that tablebase was heavily used.)

After 52...Ke6 Stockfish calls the game a draw (+0.15), and soon it was evaluated as a rock-solid tablebase draw, and it remained so for the rest of the game.

If anybody can poke holes in that analysis I'd be very appreciative as it would help debug this upcoming feature.

Aug-16-17  zanzibar: <chessgames> I would think it mandatory to enhance your playback to allow variations in you intend to do this right.

Comments just don't cut it, I'm afraid.

.

Aug-17-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  offramp: Has there ever been any other game which had, in successive moves, B on R1 to R8 then back to R1?
Aug-17-17  Duracell: For the promotion rules: I don't know! FIDE rules are free, but you must pay for USCF rules... That's odd and bad.
Aug-17-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  perfidious: USCF are still trying to recoup legal costs incurred in defending a case from a while back--I shall not name names, but two of the parties used to post here on a great many occasions.
Aug-17-17  acirce: <FIDE handbook gives this: <4.6
The act of promotion may be performed in various ways:

the pawn does not have to be placed on the square of arrival,

removing the pawn and putting the new piece on the square of promotion may occur in any order.

If an opponent’s piece stands on the square of promotion, it must be captured.>

https://www.fide.com/component/hand...

But these rules are stated only valid to July 1, 2017 (?).>

Here are the updated rules, they say exactly the same thing. I dunno where the rumours come from.

https://www.fide.com/component/hand...

Aug-17-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  Petrosianic: <I dunno where the rumours come from.>

From zborris8. He assured us that Naka's way was an automatic forfeit.

Aug-17-17  zborris8: It all stemmed from Chess.com's discussions about this game which referred to rules of promotion laid down in this article:

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO PROMOTE A PAWN? Grigory Serper https://www.chess.com/article/view/...

"As you probably know, an illegal move is punished by an instant loss in blitz, so it is extremely important to follow the official rules. The woman who played White promoted her pawn by playing b7-b8=Q; what could go wrong? Well, she put her new queen on b8 and simply removed the b7 pawn from the board. As the result she lost the game for an illegal move.

It is both funny and sad to watch arbiters teach an international master how to promote a pawn. That is, you are supposed to first push the pawn to b8 and only then replace it with a queen."

Irony between the article's title, and the titled author getting it wrong.

Aug-19-17  zanzibar: <<Duracell> For the promotion rules: I don't know! FIDE rules are free, but you must pay for USCF rules... That's odd and bad.>

I agree. It is unfortunate.

A local library has a copy (or had(?)) of the USCF rules. Maybe I'll check it out again and look up the rule.

I am curious to see if they are specific about it.

NOTE: Create an account today to post replies and access other powerful features which are available only to registered users. Becoming a member is free, anonymous, and takes less than 1 minute! If you already have a username, then simply login login under your username now to join the discussion.

Please observe our posting guidelines:

  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, duplicate, or gibberish posts.
  3. No vitriolic or systematic personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No cyberstalking or malicious posting of negative or private information (doxing/doxxing) of members.
  6. No trolling.
  7. The use of "sock puppet" accounts to circumvent disciplinary action taken by moderators, create a false impression of consensus or support, or stage conversations, is prohibited.

Please try to maintain a semblance of civility at all times.

Blow the Whistle

See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform a moderator.


NOTE: Please keep all discussion on-topic. This forum is for this specific game only. To discuss chess or this site in general, visit the Kibitzer's Café.

Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.
All moderator actions taken are ultimately at the sole discretion of the administration.

This game is type: RAPID. Please report incorrect or missing information by submitting a correction slip to help us improve the quality of our content.

Featured in the Following Game Collections[what is this?]
Naka missed the win? -- N screens P from B will promote
from yUndrwear Serves A Purpose Butt Not 4Fredthebear by fredthebear
Naka missed the win? -- N screens P from B will promote
from 2019 The Big New Yorker Won't Last Long by fredthebear
77...Bxh8 1/2-1/2 (KN vs. K(B))
from Endgame: Insufficient Material by Penguincw
grunfeld
by cheerios6969
Bishop followed by a moon shadow
from Ground is shaking. Everything is burning. by offramp

Home | About | Login | Logout | F.A.Q. | Profile | Preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | New Kibitzing | Chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | Privacy Notice | Contact Us

Copyright 2001-2021, Chessgames Services LLC