< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Oct-20-19|| ||spingo: <Messiah: <spingo> In this tourney the earliest possible draw offer can happen just after Black's 31. move.>|
Thanks. I did not know that Swisses used that rule.
|Oct-20-19|| ||An Englishman: Good Morning: Happy Sunday! Awoke to a weird little game--for one thing, how often does White castle Queen side in the Run? For another, how often does White's dark squared Bishop end up on a3? And did Aronian blunder away a pawn in a simple two-mover? Probably need twice as much coffee as usual in order to achieve my usual level of bafflement.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Tomlinsky: Oh well, that was a complete waste of time.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||keypusher: < Check It Out: Nakamura seems to play better in these opens. He's a scrapper, they suit him.>|
I'll bet he's played the fewest moves of any of the leaders, including 17- and 21-move draws. And he sure as hell ain't scrapping today.
|Oct-20-19|| ||Jack Kerouac: Waste of time?
Time out here...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYL...
|Oct-20-19|| ||Atking: <Messiah: <spingo> In this tourney the earliest possible draw offer can happen just after Black's 31. move.> Are you sure? One game of the top boards has just finished at move 18 draw agree.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Pedro Fernandez: << Tomlinsky>: Oh well, that was a complete waste of time.> Didn't have you in your Bookie a draw? Too bad.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||saffuna: <One game of the top boards has just finished at move 18 draw agree.>|
That was probably due to perpetual check.
|Oct-20-19|| ||Pedro Fernandez: Made in Silicon Machine. 100% genuine!|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Absentee: <Atking: <Messiah: <spingo> In this tourney the earliest possible draw offer can happen just after Black's 31. move.> Are you sure? One game of the top boards has just finished at move 18 draw agree.>|
The 30-move rule only applies to draws by agreement. The players can still draw by repetition at any move.
|Oct-20-19|| ||Messiah: <Atking> Yes I am. All of the already finished games are either repetitions or Black had the 31. move. The official regulations of this tourney also contain the 31-move rule (it is also known as Sofia-rule). Not every tournaments use it, though.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Ulhumbrus: All rook and pawn endings are drawn. This helps to suggest to me that this game will end in a draw.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Atking: <Absentee>&<Messiah> Thanks. Indeed the game I saw ended by repetition.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Taxman: OK, so what happens if 26.axb5 Rxb5 26.c4 Rc5 27.cxd5 Rxd5 28.Rxd5 Rxd5....? My initial reaction is that White may be in trouble as his king is so far away and Black's outside passed a-pawn looks dangerous.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Messiah: <Taxman> 26.axb5 seems to be a very-very dubious move.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||eternaloptimist: <Ulhumbrus> All ♖ & ♙ endings are definitely not drawn especially double ♖ endings. If a player can get doubled ♖s on his/her 7th rank then it can be devastating for the opponent. Although even in single ♖ endings or double ♖ endings w/o doubled ♖s on the 7th, a player wins a ♖ ending a fair amount of the time.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||not not: naka hates endgame it seems, he always looks in his streams as if he was going to throw up whenever he has to calculate kings and pawns only positions. perhaps they need to add 5 knights each to occupy Nakas imagination?|
|Oct-20-19|| ||beatgiant: <eternaloptimist>
Ha is the first of a pair of exclamations, the second of which is ha. This suggests that if you start laughing early, you'll have a lead in development. But then it depends whether your sense of humor is a weapon or a target.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Messiah: <keypusher> Why did you delete your comment?|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Ulhumbrus: <eternaloptimist: <Ulhumbrus> All ♖ & ♙ endings are definitely not drawn especially double ♖ endings. > Indeed they are not. The saying that <all rook and pawn endings are drawn> is not to be taken literally. As it happens I have not said that this proves that the present ending is drawn, only that it suggests that it is drawn.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||eternaloptimist: <Ulhumbrus> Yes I already knew that u didnít take that quote literally. I just wanted to point out that players can win ♖ endgames more than a lot of people think. Tarrasch knew that not all ♖ endgames r drawn as well; he was just implying that they r really tough to win much of the time. Sometimes a player can b up an extra pawn (or even 2) & still not win the game. Hopefully u didnít take my comment the wrong way. Apparently <beatgiant> didnít understand my comment completely. My comment is neither a weapon or a target; I just merely stated facts|
|Oct-20-19|| ||beenthere240: Looks like Messiah is about to be overjoyed.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||perfidious: Always thought superior beings were above that sort of claptrap.|
|Oct-20-19|| ||Monocle: <Ulhumbrus: All rook and pawn endings are drawn. This helps to suggest to me that this game will end in a draw.>|
That's because all your opinions on chess are based on regurgitations of Tarraschian platitudes rather than anything concrete in the actual position.
|Oct-21-19|| ||beatgiant: This is a good illustration of "Poe's Law." I'm still not sure which kibitzes in this thread are serious and which are parody.|
click for larger view
The position itself at the start of the rook endgame is drawish, of course.
The joke reasons are "it's a game between top grandmasters," "material is equal," "it's a rook endgame," "the tournament situation," and "it's been a while since Nakamura beat a top player."
A serious evaluation shows there's no difference in piece activity, White's kingside pawn majority is more fluid than Black's queenside pawns, but White's queenside pawns are a little exposed so it's hard to generate activity. So as an amateur my first guess was <slight edge for White>, but the actual game continuation shows Black can easily steer the game into a draw.
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·