|Sep-20-04|| ||mjk: 10.0-0? White probably though he was pretty safe--after all the exchanges, Black is uncastled, has doubled pawns, three pawn islands, and no pieces developed.|
The problem is White is undeveloped and cramped.
This game is in (at least) two collections, but there is no kibitzing (until now)!
|Feb-17-11|| ||madhatter5: 8.♗xc6 is the real blunder. White, thinking that black's doubled pawns would cripple him in the ending, traded his bishop for the knight, and Steinitz pounced on the mistake by exploiting white's weak light squares and using the 2 bishops to their maximum nominal potential. Very instructive.|
|Apr-03-15|| ||Honza Cervenka: 17...Rxg2+!! is genial shot. Black bishop pair was a monster.|
|Apr-14-15|| ||ToTheDeath: Steinitz must have felt like God in those days, understanding the laws of positional chess amongst a world of primitive pushers.|
|Apr-15-15|| ||Honza Cervenka: <ToTheDeath> In this case he rather shows his tactical genius. By the way, to sacrifice the Rook on g2 was possible already in the move 16. Instead of 17.b4(?), which seems to win material but which in fact "forces" black to pull out his winning combination, it was better to play 17.Be5 Re6 18.Bf4 preventing it. Of course, instead of 16.Bc3(?) allowing 16...Rxg2+!! white should have played for example 16.Bf6 Rd6 17.Be5 Re6 18.Bf4.|
|Apr-15-15|| ||lentil: Why did B wait with 16. ... Rd6. 16 Rxg2+ seems to accomplish the same result.|
|Apr-15-15|| ||Honza Cervenka: <lentil> Steinitz just missed that it works already in the move 16. He probably wanted to have the Rook on the 6th rank because in some lines the Rook can check on h6 but it was not necessary, as white is so paralysed to organise any successful defense, and on the other hand white could prevent the combination in a way I have suggested above or by playing simple 17.g3. But Steinitz definitely saw the whole combo already when he played 16...Rd6 and he expected that white is going to play 17.b4, so 16...Rd6 was a tactical trap.|
|Apr-15-15|| ||ToTheDeath: <Honza Cervenka> I was referring to the opening phase, in particular the winning bind he has after 11..Bd3, which of course no modern master would allow. Really nice combination too.|
A free online guide presented by Chessgames.com
Spot an error? Please
submit a correction slip
and help us eliminate database mistakes!
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply.
Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous,
and 100% free--plus, it
entitles you to features otherwise unavailable.
Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should
Please observe our posting guidelines:
- No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
- No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
- No personal attacks against other members.
- Nothing in violation of United States law.
- No posting personal information of members.
See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.
NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page.
This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or
this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.|
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)
your profile |
Premium Membership |
Kibitzer's Café |
Biographer's Bistro |
new kibitzing |
Tournament Index |
Player Directory |
World Chess Championships |
Opening Explorer |
Guess the Move |
Game Collections |
ChessBookie Game |
Chessgames Challenge |
privacy notice |
Copyright 2001-2017, Chessgames Services LLC