< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Jun-21-09|| ||molinov: Actually 65... Kd3 is met by Nc1+ followed by 67.Ne2 giving white considerable advantage. A great fight by two amazing players that, through ups and downs, continue to play exciting and quality chess.|
|Jun-21-09|| ||hedgeh0g: Absolutely incredible finish! I would never consider that anything like this would come up in a game, but Chucky found it and played the endgame beautifully. It seems like Chucky has one fantastic tournament each year: this year it's Bazna!|
|Jun-22-09|| ||syracrophy: Much faster is 84...♔g7 85.♗h6+ ♔h8 86.♗f8 and mate in three|
|Jun-22-09|| ||nuwanda: |
this is one of the rare cases where an OTB-game ends up in a position of perfect harmony and beautiness.
In the final position you dont have to add anything and you cant take away anything, every piece has its specific task...
|Jun-22-09|| ||Mate Hunter: <visayanbraindoctor> Shirov couldn't claim draw because repetition didn't occur. The positions after moves 43, 47, and 49 might have been the same, but only in the latter it was Black's move, which isn't counted as the same position as if it'd be White's move.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||solskytz: take a look again - the positions after Black's 43rd, 47th, 49th. Shirov shouldn't have played his 49th, but rather stop his clock and say to the referee (I forget how he is called in chess) - "if I will make a move which is written in my scoresheet, a position will arise which will constitute a 3-fold repetition". |
If he makes his move he can no longer claim it.
I know because I once lost a very frustrating tourney game exactly to this little impreciseness, to a player rated some 300 points above, who later crushed me to dust
|Jun-22-09|| ||percyblakeney: <Shirov couldn't claim draw because repetition didn't occur. The positions after moves 43, 47, and 49 might have been the same, but only in the latter it was Black's move, which isn't counted as the same position as if it'd be White's move.>|
Yep, the same thing happened in Morozevich vs Carlsen, 2006 and the game was (mistakenly) declared drawn. The Arbiter Gijssen later wrote:
<My conclusion was that the same position appeared three times on the board, but not with the same player having the move. It means that the claim was wrong and my decision was wrong as well>
|Jun-22-09|| ||percyblakeney: Just checked the rules to make sure, and they say that only the player to move can claim the draw, so only Ivanchuk could have done that (before playing his 50th) if he had wanted to.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||acirce: Yes, and Shirov could have done so before playing his 49th. That's what <visayanbraindoctor> said from the beginning.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||percyblakeney: <Yes, and Shirov could have done so before playing his 49th>|
OK, must have misunderstood the rules again, a bit strange that one can claim threefold repetition before it occurs but now I recall that something similar happened in Radjabov vs Anand, 2008. The latter could apparently have claimed a draw if he had played 63. ... Ra7.
|Jun-22-09|| ||acirce: http://www.fide.com/fide/handbook?i...|
The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by the player having the move, when the same position, for at least the third time (not necessarily by a repetition of moves)
1. is about to appear, if he first writes his move on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
2. has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
Positions as in (a) and (b) are considered the same, if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares, and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same. Positions are not the same if a pawn that could have been captured en passant can no longer in this manner be captured or if the right to castle has been changed temporarily or permanently.>
|Jun-22-09|| ||percyblakeney: Interesting that so many top players miss these repetition draws, not only Ivanchuk and Shirov here, but also Radjabov and Anand in Corus as well as Morozevich and Carlsen, none of them in time trouble when the position occurred.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||Ulhumbrus: <visayanbraindoctor> Or, to put it another way, after 84...Kg7 85 h8/Q+! Kxh8 86 Bh6! Black can do nothing and simply has to wait for White to play the moves Bh6-f8, Kg5, Kh6 and Bg7 mate.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||Marmot PFL: < percyblakeney > An incorrect ruling can be appealed, but most likely both players knew the position was drawn anayway.
In this game = <After more than 6 hours of play Shirov makes the decisive mistake. 61...Bh7?? 61...g3 leads to an immediate draw: 62.Nxf4 (62.Bxf4 Ke4; 62.Kf1 g2+) 62...Kg5 and Black wins the h-pawn. It is curious that Ivanchuk also didn't see this possibility for Black (as he admitted after the game).> Rogoenko|
|Jun-22-09|| ||percyblakeney: <61...g3 leads to an immediate draw>|
Yes, Shirov missed the draw more than once but a very beautiful finish by Ivanchuk, it looks like an endgame study and I've never seen anything like it in a game.
|Jun-22-09|| ||Justawoodpusher: This is an interesting endgame. For ♗+♘+♙+♔ vs. ♗+♔ I would think that it is in all cases (same or opposite colour bishops, file of the pawn) a win as long as the pawn is resonably protected in the beginning. Do we have some endgame experts that know for sure or can refute this claim?|
|Jun-22-09|| ||Jimfromprovidence: Some games notes derived from the table bases.
The position after 78 Kxg2 is a theoretical forced mate for white in 27 moves.
After 78 Kg2 white made no moves that would allow black to draw.
Black accelerated his demise with 83...Bf5? (forced mate in 8) instead of 83...Kf7 (forced mate in 22.)
|Jun-22-09|| ||tamar: <hedgeh0g: Absolutely incredible finish! I would never consider that anything like this would come up in a game, but Chucky found it and played the endgame beautifully>|
Could not agree more. A remarkable feat.
I had no idea such a win was possible, having tuned out after 43...Bd5 and just stared at the 1-0 for a few minutes before the magical idea slowly dawned on me.
I hope Ivanchuk will annotate this game so it will be clear when he saw this possibility.
|Jun-22-09|| ||SimonWebbsTiger: Ivanchuk has given us some fun finishes in recent weeks: his dreadful blunder against Yue and now this one against Shirov! Hopefully the charming mate pattern will make up for his disappointment at missing ...h4 in the Yue pawn endgame.|
|Jun-22-09|| ||ajile: 5..c5 seems a bit optimistic for Black.
|Jun-29-09|| ||tamar: Annotations by Edgar Allan Poe from
"The Cask of Amontillado"
[Event "Bazna Tournament"]
[Site "Bazna ROM"]
[White "V Ivanchuk"]
[Black "A Shirov"]
1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 d5 4. Bg5 Ne4 5. Bh4 c5 6. cxd5 Nxc3 7. bxc3 Qxd5
8. e3 Bg7 9. Nf3 Nc6 10. Be2 cxd4 11. cxd4 O-O 12. O-O b6 13. Rc1 Bb7 14.
Qa4 e6 15. Rc3 Rfc8 16. Rfc1 a6 17. Ne1 b5 18. Qc2 Nxd4 19. exd4
The thousand injuries of Fortunato I had borne as I best could, but when he ventured upon insult I vowed revenge.
Bf3 Rxc3 21. Qxc3 Bxc3 22. Bxd5 Bxd5 23. Rxc3 Bxa2
He had a weak point -- this Fortunato -- although in other regards he was a man to be respected and even feared.
24. Bf6 b4 25. Rc7 b3
click for larger view
He prided himself on his connoisseurship in wine. (And difficult endings. -ed)
26. Nd3 "I have received a pipe of what passes for Amontillado, and I have my doubts."
27. Nc5 "I have my doubts.
28. Rb7 "And I must satisfy them."
...h6 29. Nxb3 a4 "Amontillado!"
End of Part 1
|Jun-29-09|| ||tamar: "The Cask of Amontillado" Part 2
Recap: In part 1, Shirov assays a typically unclear piece sacrifice. In part 2 Ivanchuk wins back a pawn, and offers to repeat the position. This seems to act as a spur to Shirov as he ignores the draw by repetitions.
30. Nc5 Bd5 "Come, let us go."
31. Rd7 "Whither?"
...a3 "To your vaults."
32.Rd8+ Rxd8 33. Bxd8 Kg7 34. Ba5 Kg6 35. Bc3 f6 36. f3 h5 37. Kf2 e5 38. g3
Kf5 39. Nd7 Bc6 40. Nc5 g4 41. fxg4+ Kxg4 42. h4 a2
43. Bb2 "My friend, no; I will not impose upon your good nature. I perceive you have an engagement."
Bd5 "I have no engagement; --come." (1st repetition-ed)
44. Nd3 Kf5
45. Ba1 Bc4
46. Nc5 "My friend, no. It is not the engagement, but the severe cold with which I perceive you are afflicted."
...Bd5 "Let us go, nevertheless. The cold is merely nothing. (2nd repetition)
47. Bb2 Kg4 48. Na4 Bb3
49. Nc5 "Come," I said, with decision, "we will go back; your health is precious.
" ...Bd5 "Enough," he said; "the cough's a mere nothing; it will not kill me. I shall not die of a cough."
(Shirov could have claimed a threefold repetition instead of playing this move.)
End of Part 2
|Jun-29-09|| ||tamar: "The Cask of Amontillado" Part 3
50. Nd7 We continued our route in search of the Amontillado.
Kf5 51.Ke3 Bc6 52. Nb6 Kg4 53. Kf2 Kf5 54. Nc4 Ke4 55. Ne3 Bd7
56. Nd1 We passed through a range of low arches, descended, passed on, and descending again, arrived at a deep crypt, in which the foulness of the air caused our flambeaux rather to glow than flame.
...Be6 It was in vain that Fortunato, uplifting his dull torch, endeavoured to pry into the depth of the recess. Its termination the feeble light did not enable us to see.
57. Nc3+ "Proceed," I said; "herein is the Amontillado.
...Kd3 ...he stepped unsteadily forward, (57...Kf5 was the last hope, and it is not clear White can win)
58. Ba1 Bc4
59. g4 while I followed immediately at his heels.
...hxg4 60. h5 e4 61. h6 e3+ 62. Ke1
...Bg8 In an instant he had reached the extremity of the niche, and finding his progress arrested by the rock, stood stupidly bewildered.
63. Nxa2 f5 64. Be5 Ke4 65. Bc7 f4 66. Nc3+ Kf5 67. Nd5 Bh7 68. Ke2 g3
69. Kf3 A moment more and I had fettered him to the granite. In its surface were two iron staples, distant from each other about two feet, horizontally. From one of these depended a short chain, from the other a padlock...
...e2 70. Kxe2 g2 71. Kf2 f3 72. Bb6 Ke6 73. Nc3 Kf7 74. Be3 Kg6 75. Nd5 Kf7 76. Kxf3 Bb1 77. Nc3 Bc2 78. Kxg2
...Kg6 "The Amontillado!" ejaculated my friend, not yet recovered from his astonishment.
79. Kg3 "True," I replied; "the Amontillado."
Kh5 80. Nd5 Kg6 81. Kh4
...Bb1 "For the love of God, Montresor!"
82. Bg5 Bc2
83. Nf6 "Yes," I said, "for the love of God!"
Bf5 84. h7 1-0
No answer still. I thrust a torch through the remaining aperture and let it fall within. There came forth in return only a jingling of the bells.
(If 84...Kg7 85 h8Q+ Kxh8 86 Bh6 with a mating net)
click for larger view
I hastened to make an end of my labour. I forced the last stone into its position;(It only remains to put the bishop on f8,walk the King to h6 while black has only bishop moves, and Bg7 is mate) I plastered it up.
In pace requiescat!
|Jul-03-09|| ||FrogC: Astonishing finish. I had no idea such a thing was possible. Black's complete helplessness is extraordinary.|
|Jun-18-18|| ||Omnipotent00001: If 76...Bg6 white mates in 28 with 77. Nf4|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·