Jan-30-10 | | zluria: 7. ... Ng4 is a terrible tactical blunder. Anna was counting on the threat Nxf3 and Qxh2, and missed the powerful reply 8. Bxf7, which counters the threat, wins a pawn and wrecks Black's position. The fact is, Black wasn't developed enough to start an all out attack on move 7. Something like 7. ... e6 should have been played, blunting the scope of the Be4 and preparing Be7 and 0-0. |
|
Jan-30-10 | | notyetagm: Li Chao vs M Muzychuk, 2010 7 ... ♘f6-g4??
 click for larger view<zluria: 7. ... Ng4 is a terrible tactical blunder. Anna was counting on the threat Nxf3 and Qxh2, and missed the powerful reply 8. Bxf7, which counters the threat, wins a pawn and wrecks Black's position.> 7 ... ♘f6-g4?? is a *great* example of what I call the <AVERBAKH RULE: THE ROLE OF ATTACKER AND DEFENDER IS DETERMINED BY WHOSE MOVE IT IS>. After 7 ... ♘f6-g4?? Black is *NOT*, repeat is *NOT* threatening h2 <BECAUSE IT IS NOT HER MOVE!!!!!!!>. Instead, after 7 ... ♘f6-g4??, it is <*WHITE*> to move and White has the classic <DISCOVERED ATTACK> on an <UNDEFENDED> Black piece on g4 8 ♗c4xf7+! followed by ♘f3-g5+ and ♕d1x♘g4. 8 ♗c4xf7+!
 click for larger viewA superb example of this <AVERBAKH RULE> theme, that <YOU DO NOT GET TO MAKE TWO MOVES IN A ROW!>. After 7 ... ♘f6-g4??, Black is *NOT* threatening the h2-square becuase it is *NOT* Black's move! White *IS* threatening a <DISCOVERED ATTACK> against the <UNDEFENDED> Black g4-knight because it is now <WHITE, NOT BLACK, TO MOVE!>. |
|
Jan-30-10 | | notyetagm: I am just amazed that a 2446-rated player could make such a horrible blunder as 7 ... ♘f6-g4?? on the <7th(!)> move of the game. No time trouble to blame here. |
|
Jan-30-10
 | | tamar: Not so clear to me that 7...Ng4 is a blunder.
Database here has three examples, all Black wins!
E Moradiabadi vs Eljanov, 2004
U Atakisi vs D Frolyanov, 2007
J Horner vs B Lalic, 2008
Does anyone know the theory lines? |
|
Jan-30-10 | | shalgo: Funny that everyone is so convinced that 7...Ng4 was a simple blunder, when it has been played several times in the past, sometimes by strong GMs, usually with success. I have found 10 previous games with 7...Ng4, in which black has scored 6 wins, 3 draws, and only one loss, including a win by none other than Mariya's sister Anna. Eljanov actually played the move twice. In other words, Mariya Muzychuk did not blunder here, but followed a prepared line. In fact, this game followed Horner-Lalic until 13.d4, which was Li Chao's novelty. Incidentally, the engines I have checked give black an advantage even after this move. Of course, computers are materialistic, so those evaluations perhaps deserve to be taken with a grain of salt. In fact, she got into trouble with 14...b6 and 15...Bb7 (instead of 14...cxd4), which left her queen with few squares, followed by the terrible blunder 16...Qe6?? The position after 7...Ng4 is obviously very sharp and black has to be very careful, but practice suggests that the move is not a blunder. |
|
Jan-31-10 | | notyetagm: <shalgo: ... The position after 7...Ng4 is obviously very sharp and black has to be very careful, but practice suggests that the move is not a blunder.> The <AVERBAKH RULE> is still applicable, even if the move is not a blunder. |
|
|
|
|