Jul-09-13 | | optimal play: <<<<<<CENTENNIAL CHESS CONGRESS.> At board 4, Brocklebank, of New Zealand, played Crane, of New South Wales, centre gambit. Brocklebank resigned after the 54th move.> - The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW) issue Monday 15 October 1888> THE CENTENNIAL CHESS CONGRESS>
On Board 4, Brocklebank, New Zealand, contested with Crane, New South Wales, with a centre gambit, but after the 54th move Brocklebank resigned.> - South Australian Register (Adelaide, SA) issue Monday 15 October 1888> |
|
Jul-10-13 | | optimal play: <<<<CHESS.> THE MELBOURNE CENTENNIAL CHESS CONGRESS.>
The game at board 4 between Mr. Brocklebank and Mr. Crane attracted much attention and lasted over six hours, Mr. Brocklebank taking 2 hours 50 minutes for his 54 moves, and Mr. Crane took 3 hours 12 minutes. This game had to be adjudicated upon in the evening by the playing committee. The evening play had to be carried on in the club rooms at the Thistle Cafe, the City Bank room being not available. Mr. Crane lost his way, and hence lost much time; his clock having been started according to rule by the director of play at 7 o'clock. Rushing in all heated and bathed in perspiration, he at once in reply to his opponent's move made the move he had written down to make prior to the afternoon adjournment, not knowing the director of play had made the move for him when he started his clock. This caused a position to occur the third time, which, according to a rule of the tourney, is a draw. The committee, however, ruled that the move by the director of play should be made in the presence of both players, hence the game was played out to the discomfiture of Mr. Brocklebank.> - South Australian Weekly Chronicle (Adelaide, SA) issue Saturday 20 October 1888> |
|
Jul-10-13 | | JimNorCal: I don't follow the description of "adjudication"? The final position seems pretty resignable.
What a rollicking good fight! |
|
Jul-10-13 | | optimal play: Jim, I was a little confused myself at first until I realised the "adjudication" by the playing committee was in regards to the move by the director of play (ie tournament director) not being made in the presence of both players, thus overruling Brocklebank's claim of a drawn game. |
|
|
|
|