fredthebear: You are correct <Z legend 000000001>.If you touch the opponent's bishop, you must capture it if legally possible. This applies throughout the entire game. ("j'doube - I adjust" units of either color on my running clock is a different matter.)
Promotion to a new queen is not official, even if the queen sits on the board, until your hand leaves the new queen on the board. Just because you touch the queen as an extra piece does not mean that you have to place her on the board. It's when your hand LEAVES her on the board, the move is official.
This type of situation actually happened to me in a tournament game with the tournament director standing there watching. I saw the stalemate as I held the queen in hand, and then changed to another piece. No problem. Nobody said a word. The promotion move is not complete until the hand quits the new piece on the promotion square.
Your next tournament director may not know this rule and get it wrong. (Your opponent is desperate for the draw and may make a wrong claim.) If it happens and s/he calls it in your game, have the TD look up the rule in the rule book before proceeding.
It's my experience that young TDs that learned the game on the internet don't know the rules nearly as well as old timers that learned playing over-the-board. On the other hand, young TDs may know the modern rule changes better.
Also, there's a difference in some cases between USCF rules and FIDE rules. Know what applies to your particular game. You might be breaking a FIDE rule, but not the USCF rule.
Far and away, the most common broken rule is the opponent talking or adjusting pieces on my running clock. He's supposed to sit still and be quiet until it's his turn, his running clock. If he wants to borrow my scoresheet, he's supposed to ask on his clock time.