Mar-13-11 | | stst: From move 56 since, Bk could just resign, as W ultimately will queen its extra P. Yet Bk just prolong it to show a sportsman spirit... |
|
Mar-13-11 | | checkmateyourmove: he wiped him off the board like a tsunami hitting the shorelines of japan. |
|
Mar-13-11
 | | Penguincw: A nice final move prevents Gashimov from checking.
For example,if 85...Qe8+,Qf7+,Qg7+,Qh7+,Qf5+ or Gg4+ then white will just take the queen. If 85...Qc6+,Qd6+ or Qe6+ is met with 86.Qf6+ which forces the exchange of queens. If 85...Qd3+ then 86.Qf5+ forces the exchange. (see diagram below). If black doesn't check then white will eventually force the exchange of queens and then mate black.  click for larger view |
|
Mar-13-11
 | | tamar: <stst: From move 56 since, Bk could just resign, as W ultimately will queen its extra P. Yet Bk just prolong it to show a sportsman spirit...> Not really.
This is where tablebases help. It was a draw until move 73 Kd3 when White wins in 51 moves. Gashimov actually played it very well, finding for example 66...Kc4 the only move to avoid loss. 73...Kb3 73...Kb4 73...Qf4 or 73...Qc6 all drew. |
|
Mar-13-11
 | | HeMateMe: <tamar> I was wondering the same thing, it looked like a tablebase draw. Of course, a little harder to find those moves OTB blindfold. Is 73.....K-b3 needed to give black's Queen more range to keep checking? It just doesn't seem possible to queen a R pawn with nothing but Queens on the board. |
|
Mar-13-11
 | | tamar: <HeMateMe> The rule I learned was to run to the corner furthest from the pawn with your King. But all these rules are being rewritten by tablebase. It looks to be possible to hang around the center like Gashimov does, but at certain moments you must dash for the side. The corner is easier for humans to handle because it reduces the calculations necessary. I think Seirawan said something like he didn't have the brainwidth to handle the positions when the Black King was at d5. |
|
Mar-14-11 | | Jim Bartle: Carlsen: It was a tablebase draw, but by no means an easy one, and after he made a critical mistake on move 74, I managed to queen my pawn and win the game. |
|
Mar-16-11 | | Gilmoy: Magnus "learned" his lesson about pawn race breakthroughs. (To be fair, it's more like he was reminded of something he already knew, but that rule was lost amidst the din of a thousand other rules in his mind.) In Carlsen vs Nakamura, 2009 blitz, after <61..Ka4>:  click for larger viewCarlsen blundered with <62.Kf6??>, converting a win to a loss. It's easy to count <tempi until f5>: with 63.Kxg6 he needed 4 tempi, but with 62.f4! 63.g4 he would need only 3. That 1 lost tempo, by itself, probably only lets Black draw; except that now Black <queens with check!!> (and Carlsen didn't even notice this until <65..b3>), and that's a 2nd tempo, which wins for Black. Scroll forward 15.5 months, to just after <44..Kb4>:
 click for larger viewA rule once scorned is twice as loud -- so now it commands his attention :) He correctly plays <45.f4> (to immobilize g6) <47.g4> and gets his <48.f5> breakthrough, wasting no tempi. Here, doing it right converts a loss to a draw; Gashimov blundered later. |
|
|
|
|