< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|Dec-27-06|| ||crwynn: "black knight c6: It's a pity white resigned while in a winning position"|
What kind of nonsense is that? Nowadays every Russian schoolboy knows that after 23...Qxd5 24.Bf3 Qd3!!! White is lost. See Kasparov's analysis in OMGP:
"23.Qxd5!? This move encapsulates Alekhine's contributions to the understanding of dynamics in chess. For what, exactly, has the queen been sacrificed? Because of the difficulty in answering that very question, a player like Capablanca would never play such a move. Alekhine's concept is revolutionary; he understood that Black's extra queen is only a hindrance to his execution of the thematic plan in such positions (that is, transferring the bishop from e7 to b3), and furthermore allows a number of stalemate possibilities for White.
a)24...e4? The pawn is quite weak here; 25.Bd4 and this centralization is clearly decisive
b)24...Qxf3!? attempts to reach a drawn ending of opposite-colored bishops, e.g. 25.gf Rh6 26.Rd1 Ra8 27.Rxd7, but several decades later Huebner observed that in fact these bishops are of the *same* color, effectively burying this line.
But it turns out that Black can in fact play for a win from this position, incredible as it may seem:
c) 24...Qd3!!! and White is in complete zugzwang, for instance..."
And I should think the subsequent variations are obvious. Whether this is a true zugzwang position is debatable; according to the usual definition, zugzwang is a position in which each player wishes that the other did not have to move, and lobbies FIDE to amend the rules accordingly, but this is not universally accepted.
|Dec-16-07|| ||2021: How is this a Colle System if white played 4.Nc3?|
|Jun-12-08|| ||ravel5184: Is this the same NN that Greco beat 75-0?|
|Dec-22-08|| ||WhiteRook48: We should make a collection of ALL of NN's wins|
|Dec-23-08|| ||WhiteRook48: Alekwine|
|Dec-23-08|| ||Nullifidian: <WhiteRook48> <We should make a collection of ALL of NN's wins>|
There already is one. Chessgames allows you to search all of NN's games restricted to the wins. This is the page:
|Dec-23-08|| ||Calli: Not really "NN" as all of the teams in this exhibition are known. See Game Collection: Alyehkin's Record breaking Blindfold Performance In this game, Black is "Ecole Polytechnique Paris".|
|Dec-23-08|| ||WhiteRook48: I actually made a game collection of all of NN's wins. Just see my profile, click on my game collections, and it's the "Remarkable NN wins" collection.|
|Jan-24-09|| ||WhiteRook48: maybe Alekhine played a brilliant sacrifice but forgot the follow-up|
|Jan-26-09|| ||banane: i bet his mouse slipped|
|Feb-06-09|| ||WhiteRook48: what, so Alekhine played the game online?|
|Mar-04-09|| ||JointheArmy: <i bet his mouse slipped>|
|Mar-17-09|| ||WhiteRook48: wait this was played online?|
|Apr-23-09|| ||Eisenheim: whiterook - they are teasing u - there was no internet in 1925 to play online. also, the misheard theory doesnt hold water as i dont think the algebraic notation system was used back then|
|Sep-12-09|| ||Cercatore: Alekhine was drunk, or he's sleeping?|
|Dec-10-09|| ||ka.chessmate21: what a great sacrifice!!!!
that's the move!!!!
|Aug-10-10|| ||culei: I think that the best we can say for him is that
He taught when he played Bc3 he played Bf3 and that makes a
Lot of sense specially because when I was replaying
The game on my board I made the same mistake...
So for my convinience and his he really played Bf3 instead of Bc3??
Even though Bc3 is a good move prevents c6 but well we will never know
|Dec-01-10|| ||Tigranny: Never seen a blunder by Alekhine like this before.|
|Dec-01-10|| ||parisattack: NN certainly improved on his play over the thrashing he took from Damiano in yesteday's puzzle. But I guess in 400 years you're bound to learn something of the game.|
|May-14-12|| ||Llawdogg: A blindfold simul. It can happen.|
|Feb-23-13|| ||DavidStyles: As for mishearing "Qd6" as "Qb6", in descriptive notation in French that'd be mishearing "D3D" as "D3CD", which, if I understand correctly, would be read out either as "Dame sur Dame trois" and "Dame sur Cavalier de la Dame trois", respectively.|
But like people say: blindfold simul; even Alekhine can screw up, it seems. His mistakes simply attract more attention than ours, for their rarity.
|Mar-21-13|| ||Tigranny: How drunk was Alekhine during this game??? Hooray for NN!!!|
|Jun-13-13|| ||Medusaz: Incredible none of you noticed it's from a blindfold simul..|
|Jun-09-15|| ||TheFocus: From the blindfold simultaneous exhibition in Paris, France on February 1, 1925 at the Petit Parisien. |
Alekhine scored +22-=3-3 to set a new blindfold record.
The opponent here was a team from Ecole Polytechnique Paris.
See <La Strategie> 1925, pg. 28.
|Aug-22-15|| ||whiteshark: <Dec-19-02 Kulla Tierchen: According to Kotov, during his 1935 match with Euwe, Alekhine was so drunk he castled into checkmate! Perhaps that is the worst move ever made (or attempted) by a sitting world champion. The game would have been in the middle of the match most likely. Does anyone know which one?> |
Did Kotov really wrote such things?
Well, the only game that (partly) fits is game 14, Euwe vs Alekhine, 1935 where <9... 0-0 10.Rxh7> happend. But it's obviously NOT <the worst move made>...
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·