< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|Jul-18-17|| ||Iwer Sonsch: Qxd7+ Kxd7 000+ wins the rook.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||patzer2: Black's decisive mistake was the "automatic recapture" 12...Qxd7??, which allows 13. Qxd7+ Kxd7 14. 0-0-0+ solving today's Tuesday puzzle.|
Instead, as <Jamboree> observes, Black had to play 12...Rb7! to have any chance of surviving.
With 12...Rb7! play might go 12... Rb7 13. Nxf6+ exf6 14. Qa4 Qe7+ 15. Kf1 Qc5 16. Ne4 Qb4 17. Qxb4 Rxb4 18. Nxf6+ Kd8 (+0.40 @ 23 depth) when Black's active pieces provide some compensation for White's extra pawn and better pawn structure.
Earlier in the opening, instead of 6...bxc6!?, I prefer the popular move 6...Bxc6 as in Black's recent win in Q Ducarmon vs N Zwirs, 2017.
|Jul-18-17|| ||Willber G: <goodevans: <SirIvanhoe: Wouldn't 12.Qxd7 have been a more forcing way to play here? Then at least the win of the piece is guaranteed.>|
It is, although white will drop another pawn to keep it: <12.Qxd7+ Qxd7 13.Nxd7 Bh6 14.Nc4 Rxc2>. White is definitely better but black isn't completely dead. But you're right, this is probably better than 12.Nxd7.>
13...Rxc2 regains the piece for black.
|Jul-18-17|| ||patzer2: <SirIvanhoe> Not only does Black regain the piece after <Wilber G>'s <13...Rxc2!,> but after 12. Qd7+ Qxd7 13. Nd7 Rxc2! 14. Nxf8 Rxc3 15. Nxh7 Rxh7 Black also has an extra pawn.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Richard Taylor: I solved it: but first of all looked at Nd5 and as it looked a bit nebulous, then I saw the good old Q-side castle trick!|
|Jul-18-17|| ||mel gibson: Saw it in under 3 seconds.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||awfulhangover: Easy or difficult? It really depends on whether you have seen this idea before or not. It's pattern recognition. Blitz chess monsters like Carlsen can play high level chess in blitz coz they have ten thousands of such patterns in their superb memory bank.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Sally Simpson: "Saw it in under 3 seconds"
That was quick. How about this one. White to play.
click for larger view
|Jul-18-17|| ||King Harvest: 0-0-0.
Queenside castling always feels a bit louche doesn't it? Like wearing an ascot or leather pants.
|Jul-18-17|| ||MrCarciofo: The Black rook controls b1 - is it not irregular castling?|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Rama: I got to the rook-check but forgot I could castle!|
|Jul-18-17|| ||tobywan: Cute!|
|Jul-18-17|| ||patzer2: The Checkhover (B53) opening played here is an interesting option for White players looking to get Sicilian players off the beaten track and out of their opening book.|
84-year-old GM Evgeni Vasiukov has had good success with it, even as recently as last year.
Two notable victories by GM Vasiukov from the White side of the B53 Sicilian include Vasiukov vs Browne, 1970 and Vasiukov vs Van Wely, 2002.
|Jul-18-17|| ||Jonathan Sarfati: <MrCarciofo:> There is no law against it. Castling is officially a king move, so the king may not cross an attacked square, but the rook may.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||BOSTER: <FSR> <since I submitted this game>.
Certainly, it helps to find the solution.|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Peligroso Patzer: <MrCarciofo: The Black rook controls b1 - is it not irregular castling?>|
<Jonathan Sarfati: <MrCarciofo:> There is no law against it. Castling is officially a king move, so the king may not cross an attacked square, but the rook may.>
Yes, as <JS> says, that restriction on castling only applies to the king (i.e., when the king (i) is in check, (ii) would transit a square under attack, or (iii) would land on a square under attack).
Confusion concerning this rule is common. According to lore, in this game (Averbakh vs Purdy, 1960) a world-class GM disputed Black’s right to castle long when b8 was under attack; and in this game (Korchnoi vs Karpov, 1974) a world championship candidate is supposed to have sought verification from the arbiter whether castling short by White was legal with h1 under attack.
It is also part of lore that in the Korchnoi game, the arbiter responded with confirmation that castling short was legal in that situation, which, if that part is true, seems to have been a dubious decision on the part of the arbiter. (To be clear, what I regard as dubious was the arbiter’s decision to provide any response clarifying the rules, which it should have been the player’s responsibility to know, especially at that level of competition.)
|Jul-18-17|| ||BOSTER: < Sally Simpson><:It would have been better to start from pos move11 With white to play>.
This is wrong.
After 12.Bxf6 exf6! 13.Nxd7 Rb7, and white knight is pinned and white queen unprotected.
If 13.Qxd7 Qxd7 14 Nxd7 Rb7.
|Jul-18-17|| ||whiteshark: Sorta <Poisoned Pawn>|
|Jul-18-17|| ||DarthStapler: Got it|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Strelets: "A Close Shave" (Borbély means "barber" in Hungarian).|
|Jul-18-17|| ||ChessHigherCat: <Strelets: "A Close Shave" (Borbély means "barber" in Hungarian).>|
Now that's what you call an inside joke. Hungarian is supposedly non-Indo-European but Borbély seems like it might be related to "barbe" in French or "Bart" in German (and less probably, "beer belly in English :-)
|Jul-18-17|| ||King.Arthur.Brazil: Poor Kovacs, victim of 0-0-0+ is very sad! He could sleep without blow in his head! lgs|
|Jul-18-17|| ||Sally Simpson: Hi Boster,
As Jambore posted before me.
Really we should have skipped through the game to see if White was allowed to 0-0-0 but unless it can be proved White cannot castle then we must assume they can.
|Jul-19-17|| ||Richard Taylor: <mel gibson: Saw it in under 3 seconds.>|
I saw it in minus infinity seconds an infinite time ago.
|Jul-19-17|| ||gawain: Easy enough . . . assuming that neither White's K nor his QR has previously moved. Thanks to our kibitzers for clarifying the convention that governs this situation.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·