chessgames.com
Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing
Lorenzo D Barbour vs Preston Ware
4th American Chess Congress (1876), Philadelphia, PA USA, rd 7, Aug-23
Scandinavian Defense: Ilundain Variation (B01)  ·  1/2-1/2

ANALYSIS [x]

FEN COPIED

Get this game explained with Decode Chess
explore this opening
find similar games 1 more L D Barbour/P Ware game
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: Some people don't like to know the result of the game in advance. This can be done by registering a free account then visiting your preferences page, then checking "Don't show game results".

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.
PREMIUM MEMBERS CAN REQUEST COMPUTER ANALYSIS [more info]

Kibitzer's Corner
Dec-22-12
Premium Chessgames Member
  GrahamClayton: Why is this game drawn? Surely White can capture the Black pawns and then mate the Black king?
Dec-22-12  shubhamkuse: yeah why is this a draw?!?
after ...75. h5 76. Rg7+ nd white captures either h pawn or f pawn and i see a clear victory...
Dec-23-12
Premium Chessgames Member
  Phony Benoni: Let's see. There's always the possibility of a scoresheet error.

Fatigue is a possibility. There wasn't a set schedule at the tournament; this and P Ware vs L D Barbour, 1876 were played on the same day. Barbour may just have wanted to go on home.

Maybe the janitor was trying to close up the club, and kicked them out before they could finish. We've all been there, haven't we?

In positions where one king has reached the eighth rank, I have seen even Master-level players get confused about which way the pieces are moving. You don't believe me?


click for larger view

Black to move can mate in four, but the game continued <1...Ra7?? 2.Rxa4+ Kb6 3.Rxa7 Rxa7 4.Re2 Ra8#. At least, Black thought it was mate; he had flipped the position in his mind and thought White couldn't play 5.Kd7.

So it does happens--but Black is still losing if the position is flipped, so that can't be it.

Wish I still had the tournament book. Instead, I have a research project.

Jul-09-19  OMH: The ending of the game is not preserved, but "White finally inadvertently stalemated his adversary", as the tournament book (p. 133) puts it.

NOTE: Create an account today to post replies and access other powerful features which are available only to registered users. Becoming a member is free, anonymous, and takes less than 1 minute! If you already have a username, then simply login login under your username now to join the discussion.

Please observe our posting guidelines:

  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, duplicate, or gibberish posts.
  3. No vitriolic or systematic personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No cyberstalking or malicious posting of negative or private information (doxing/doxxing) of members.
  6. No trolling.
  7. The use of "sock puppet" accounts to circumvent disciplinary action taken by moderators, create a false impression of consensus or support, or stage conversations, is prohibited.

Please try to maintain a semblance of civility at all times.

Blow the Whistle

See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform a moderator.


NOTE: Please keep all discussion on-topic. This forum is for this specific game only. To discuss chess or this site in general, visit the Kibitzer's Café.

Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.
All moderator actions taken are ultimately at the sole discretion of the administration.

This game is type: CLASSICAL. Please report incorrect or missing information by submitting a correction slip to help us improve the quality of our content.

Featured in the Following Game Collection[what is this?]
Round Seven, August 23rd
from Philadelphia 1876 by suenteus po 147

Home | About | Login | Logout | F.A.Q. | Profile | Preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | New Kibitzing | Chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | Privacy Notice | Contact Us

Copyright 2001-2021, Chessgames Services LLC