|Oct-25-07|| ||Stonehenge: A famous endgame. It's a tablebase draw after 54.Rxc5 Bf6 but Velimirovic messed it up somewhere.|
|Jan-14-08|| ||Gilmoy: A few bad B moves stand out. Is 93..Bd2 forced for some deep reason? 94.Rh1+ flushes Black's K to 3, after which Bc3 is no longer possible, and the B cannot return to b2. But maybe 93..Bb2 94.Rh1+ enables a K-R mate in the lower right quadrant, where the B is out of position to defend.|
With the B unhinged, White can attack it for free tempi. 102..Bd6 is the last mistake (Bc5), costing Black's K a crucial tempo (103..Kd3 104.Rd8). Black must waste another move with the B (or Ke3), which eventually allows White's Kxa3-Kb4 winning the race to b7.
|Jul-24-08|| ||Stonehenge: I meant 64.Rxc5 Bf6|
|Nov-06-11|| ||GrahamClayton: <Gilmoy>But maybe 93..♗b2 94.♖h1+ enables a K-R mate in the lower right quadrant, where the B is out of position to defend.|
93...♗b2 leads to a similar position as in the game, eg 93...♗b2 94. ♖g1 ♔h3 95. ♔f4 ♔h2 96. ♖g4 ♔h3 97. ♔f3 ♔h2 98. ♔f2 ♔h3 99. ♖a4 ♗c1 100. ♔e2 ♔g3 101. ♔d1 ♗b2 102. ♔c2 ♔f3 103. ♔b3 ♔e3 104. ♖xa3.
Timman did some extensive analysis of this endgame, as the game was adjourned at least twice. He believes that Velimirovic's major error was 68...♔f8, allowing Timman's king access to the crucial g5 square.
Black could have drawn with 68...♗f6 69. ♔d6 ♗b2 70. ♔d7 ♗c3 71. ♖e3 ♗b2 72. ♖f3+ ♔g6 73. ♔e6 ♖g5 74. ♖f5+ ♔g4.
|May-31-13|| ||Chessdreamer: Black moves 18 & 21 switched. it should read 18...Rac8 / 21...Rg8.|
|Apr-05-14|| ||Tabanus: During the adjournments, Timman was assisted by his second Ulf Andersson. The game lasted 17 days, as it was finished the day before the last round (Tidskrift för Schack vol. 85 (November 1979) p. 270).|
|Apr-05-14|| ||john barleycorn: 68.Kf8 was the mistake as Timman supposed (or any other move by the black king as Kg8 or Kg7). Any move of the black bishop (except to e5) would have maintained the draw according to the table bases.|
|Apr-05-14|| ||AsosLight: Can you prove that Ulf assisted to this?|
|Apr-05-14|| ||zanzibar: <Tabanus> can you reexamine the moves from the tournament book here?|
Carolus gives 18...Rac8 (vs ...Rg8) as first divergence. 18...Rg8 (<CG> move) is clearly a blunder after 19.Qxc6.
Carolus also gives 57...Kf7 (vs ...Kf8) which is a move discussed above. Hmmm.
|Apr-06-14|| ||Tabanus: <AsosLight> No, but Ulf was in Rio as Timman's good friend and second (according to TfS), so it's fair to assume.|
<zanzibar> I will check the tournament book on Monday, it's in my office now.
|Apr-07-14|| ||Tabanus: Miles' tournament book: 18...Rac8 and 21...Rg8, 57...Kd5, and 67...Kf7|
Correction slip sent.
|May-02-14|| ||Bowen Island: Donner devotes a number of pages to the adjourned position in his book, "The King." He is continually expressing admiration for the first man to analyze this position out to a win and all the related variations...all the more so since this analysis occurred before the use of chess computers.|
Apparently, the only problem in this forced win, besides memorizing the arduous path to victory, was that the win was forced but over-stepped the 50 moves rule. Fortunately, an inaccuracy by Velmirovic shortened the final outcome in Timman's favour!! That rule has since been changed for certain positions, this being one of them.
|Apr-30-15|| ||offramp: The opening of Donner's long analysis of this game from <The King>, page 319.|
<It seems that Jan Timman is going to collect a full point at last. In the eighth round of the tournament at Rio de Janeiro, he was pitted against Velimirovic, who is known as a violent hulk and set up his game accordingly. With black, he
defended himself by means of the Tarrasch and tried to overcome the disadvantage of playing black with forceful play.
Timman knew how to cope with that all right! After a few accurate little
moves, Velimirovic had to allow a serious weakening of his pawn structure and towards the 20th move, Timman had managed to build up an overwhelming position.
On the 22nd move, he left Velimirovic just a single opportunity to escape
into an ending with an exchange down, but he knew what he was doing. He had
correctly assessed that the chances in the endgame would only be on his side. It is in this ending that the game was adjourned.>