chessgames.com
Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing

Luis Argentino Palau vs Sadi Kalabar
London ol (1927), London ENG, rd 9, Jul-25
Bogo-Indian Defense: General (E11)  ·  1-0
ANALYSIS [x]

FEN COPIED

explore this opening
find similar games 45 more games of L Palau
PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: If you missed a Game of the Day, you can review the last year of games at our Game of the Day Archive.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.
PREMIUM MEMBERS CAN REQUEST COMPUTER ANALYSIS [more info]

Kibitzer's Corner
< Earlier Kibitzing  · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·  Later Kibitzing>
Mar-14-04  GoodKnight: I think it was due to a rule that was explained here:

Lindemann vs Echtermeyer, 1893

Mar-25-04  ArturoRivera: I think he could probably touch a piece that was ilegal to move, then he was forced t meve his king, and when you are a piece dawn, with no positional regain and without the capability of castling, well, i think it was too much for our little friend
Mar-27-04  GoodKnight: Rivera, on the game I posted a couple of weeks ago, <pawnificator> kibitzes:

<"I read that this same thing happened to a grandmaster (dang it now I forget who... maybe petrosian) because he accidentally moved his bishop to c3 instead of the knight and the rule was you had to move your king if you messed up like that. I hope that isn't the rule anymore.">

That was what happened here.

Mar-27-04  ArturoRivera: Goodnight: i think that you are right beacause why would he had moved the king without a rule obligating him?
Oct-29-04
Premium Chessgames Member
  Willem Wallekers: I guess he wanted to play 4 ... Qe7, and touched the K by accident. Who can tell whether he was drunk? Perhaps he was shaky with a hangover.
Oct-29-04
Premium Chessgames Member
  acirce: <nikolaas> posted this on the Kibitzer's Café just a couple of weeks ago:

<The first olympiad was held in London. One of the games went as follows: Palau-Kalabar 1.d4 Nf6 2.c4 e6 3.Nf3 Bb4 4.Bd2 Ke7 Kalabar came late at the game hall and was totally absorbed filling the scoresheet. Of course his intention was to put a queen at e7 square. 5.Bxb4 Kalabar continued his mad ride playing Kxb4??! and then he realized what he has done. Black resigned immediately.>

Oct-29-04  clocked: That would never happen to Leko.
Nov-19-05
Premium Chessgames Member
  FSR: I actually know another game where this exact sequence happened (except for the resignation)! Black played 5...Kxb4?!? and White pointed out that 5.Bxb4 was check in Ed Perelmuter-Ron Washington, Chicago 1980 or thereabouts (yes, a rated tournament game; Ed became a master within a year or so thereafter, and Ron was or later became an expert). Ed very kindly permitted Ron to substitute the intended 4...Qe7. White later won anyway in more normal fashion.
Nov-27-05  Chopin: Calabar's ke7 is more bizarre then Mike Tyson's ear biting incident. I will give Calabar the benefit of the doubt and assume he touched the King.
Sep-10-06  crptone: Very cool Bogo-Indian defense. I like how well the king protects the darksquared bishop. this particular line is useful if you want to get out of popular opening theory
Dec-22-06  sixfeetunder: This kind of thing can also happen, when the chess pieces are badly made and very similar to each other and if ones eyesight isn't clear.
Apr-01-07  waddayaplay: <acirce> Thanks. It is interesting to understand how such things can happen. It is like when your black opponent puts a bishop on f6 but mentally you consider it a knight. Or when he fianchettos his knight or queen, but you still think of it as a bishop. Maybe this only happens to me, when I play at 7 pm after a hard days work... but then again, Kramnik missed a mate in 1 because (as they said) it was such an unusual mate.
Feb-11-08  piroflip: Sadi once beat a guy rated almost 2400 so it must be a finger error.
May-30-10  Jitanjafora: Luis Palau was editor of Revista Ajedrez (Buenos Aires, Argentina) until his death. In an article he offered his memories about this game: Kalabar was a young man, who paid more attention to some postcards than to the board, so he pushed the pieces in a careless way. For that reason, Kalabar took his King instead of the Queen to support the black bishop, and in the same way attemped to capture the white bishop with the K. Suddenly became aware of the mistake, and resigned the game. Palau did not offered to take back the move, because they were playing in a national team tournament.
May-05-11  Tigranny: One thing to remember the setup, the king is taller than the queen.
May-05-11
Premium Chessgames Member
  OhioChessFan: Black was playing a Wannabe Gambit.
May-05-11
Premium Chessgames Member
  OhioChessFan: <Tigranny: One thing to remember the setup, the king is taller than the queen. >

http://www.cartoonistgroup.com/prop...

Oct-19-11  Robert Hill: Touch move probably?
Oct-19-11  GreenLantern: http://www.olimpbase.org/1927/1927i...

Annotation for <4...Ke7??>

<A very poor move (??) Kalabar came late at the game hall and was totally absorbed filling the scoresheet. Of course his intention was to put a queen at e7 square.>

and after <5.Bxb4+>

<Kalabar contunued his mad ride playing Kxb4??! and then he realized what he has done. Black resigned immediately.>

Nov-14-11  njchess: Looks like Black meant to play Qe7, which is a standard line in the Bogo-Indian, but due to the "touch" rule was forced to play Ke7.
May-12-12
Premium Chessgames Member
  wordfunph: from the book International Championship Chess - A Complete Record of FIDE Events by Bozidar Kazic..

<A slip of the hand! The plan had been 4...Qe7 and when people started laughing he realized what he had done and immediately resigned. The press made the most of this game.>

Oct-09-12  Abdel Irada: I begin to understand what happened here.

In one of the stories in the _1001 Nights_, among the protagonists are three blind Kalandars. Obviously, this was a misprint, and they were really Kalabars, one of whom played this game.

May-12-13  solskytz: Well, you play a check, moving diagonally to b4. You're all focused on HIS half of the board.

So the guy parries the check. You still look at his camp - the K on e1, the B on d2, maybe some complications with undefended stuff on b2... you weigh and contemplate...

Then you just move your hand backwards, moving that big piece back there to e7. What? Oh, there's two of them... and so close together!

Aug-22-14  ketchuplover: This game is now mentioned on the chess forum at redhotpawn.com under "ever done something this stupid?"
May-15-19
Premium Chessgames Member
  Sally Simpson: ***

Tonight was looking at the 1927 BCM to see if they mentioned anything about Charles Lindbergh (long story see - Magnus Carlsen (kibitz #84798))

Came across this:

After 5...King e7x Bishop on b5.


click for larger view

White should have let it stand. It's mate in two with Qb3+ and Qb5 mate.

Been there. Played a sac-sac combo v a Black Queenside castled King. The winning move was Rf1-a1+.


click for larger view

The Rook turned out to be a Bishop I had moved to f1 a few moves earlier.

0-1

***

search thread:   
< Earlier Kibitzing  · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·  Later Kibitzing>
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply. Getting your account takes less than a minute, is totally anonymous, and 100% free—plus, it entitles you to features otherwise unavailable. Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should login now.
Please observe our posting guidelines:
  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, profane, raunchy, or disgusting language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, duplicate or nonsense posts.
  3. No malicious personal attacks, including cyber stalking, systematic antagonism, or gratuitous name-calling of any member Iincludinfgall Admin and Owners or any of their family, friends, associates, or business interests. If you think someone is an idiot, then provide evidence that their reasoning is invalid and/or idiotic, instead of just calling them an idiot. It's a subtle but important distinction, even in political discussions.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No malicious posting of or linking to personal, private, and/or negative information (aka "doxing" or "doxxing") about any member, (including all Admin and Owners) or any of their family, friends, associates, or business interests. This includes all media: text, images, video, audio, or otherwise. Such actions will result in severe sanctions for any violators.
  6. NO TROLLING. Admin and Owners know it when they see it, and sanctions for any trolls will be significant.
  7. Any off-topic posts which distract from the primary topic of discussion are subject to removal.
  8. The use of "sock puppet" accounts to circumvent disciplinary action taken by Moderators is expressly prohibited.
  9. The use of "sock puppet" accounts in an attempt to undermine any side of a debate—or to create a false impression of consensus or support—is prohibited.
  10. All decisions with respect to deleting posts, and any subsequent discipline, are final, and occur at the sole discretion of the Moderators, Admin, and Owners.
  11. Please try to maintain a semblance of civility at all times.
Blow the Whistle See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform a Moderator.

NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page. This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or this site, visit the Kibitzer's Café.

Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors. All Moderator actions taken are at the sole discretion of the Admin and Owners—who will strive to act fairly and consistently at all times.
Spot an error? Please submit a correction slip and help us eliminate database mistakes!
<This page contains Editor Notes. Click here to read them.>
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)

Featured in the Following Game Collections[what is this?]
5 moves
from Chess Miniatures, Collection VII by wwall
A Fingerfehler: Black meant to defend with 4...Qe7
from Indians Past Nimzo-, Bogo-, Anti-Fredthebear by fredthebear
Bogo-Indian Defense (E11) 1-0 Black meant to defend w/4...Qe7
from How d'ya spEll Hipoptamus? Is that 1 'p' or 2? by Jersey Joe
Bogo-Indian, 4...Ke7??
from Horrible theoretical novelties by FSR
A Fingerfehler: Black meant to defend with 4...Qe7
from Howlerz, Handy Trapz, Hidden Snarez Fredthebear by fredthebear
A Fingerfehler
from Super-brevities by FSR
Forgetting the setup on the board
from Historic Blunders by severus6
Bogo-Indian Defense (E11) 1-0 Black meant to defend w/4...Qe7
from How d'ya spEll Hipoptamus? Is that 1 'p' or 2? by moesje
A Fingerfehler
from Super-brevities by FSR. by PinkLedDoor
zumakal blunders archivadas6
by zumakal
And another King-move-for-illegal-move sub.
from ARGH! by Korora


home | about | login | logout | F.A.Q. | your profile | preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | new kibitzing | chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | privacy notice | contact us
Copyright 2001-2019, Chessgames Services LLC