< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|May-08-12|| ||SteinitzLives: He may have intended to play c3 which would have been a fairly decent move and grabbed the d pawn instead? Still, I think they were out of the books, so I doubt it was an instinctive reach. Maybe Strip thought he had a "discovered" attack going on, and then discovered he had found horror.|
|May-08-12|| ||Jim Bartle: AlexMagnus: "Is this the earliest one-move blunder by a GM ever?"|
In Fischer vs Reshevsky, 1958 Reshevsky lost a piece with 8...Na5.
|May-08-12|| ||310metaltrader: Anand blundered in the petrov.
A Zapata vs Anand, 1988
|May-08-12|| ||solskytz: <310metaltrader>
you remind me of that joking piece they did one year on Chessbase on the 1st of April.
They said that Bobby Fischer (he was still alive then) proposed the 'take back' rule - saying that at any point any player can just take back a move.
They said that Fischer claimed that in this way, the true depth of the game of chess will be manifested, free from stupid blunders...
if you don't understand why this is a joke, you probably need to improve a little as a player.
One sure way that I know of improving your play, is to never agree to take back YOUR OWN moves (be nice to opponents from time to time - no harm in that... :-] )
|May-08-12|| ||solskytz: <Jim Bartle> Reshevsky fell victim here to a brilliant combination - which was very hard to see, and which gained eternal praise for the winner, not to mention placement in anthologies as a perennial brilliancy. |
The question was about a one-move blunder - as in, blundering something big, the result being manifested clearly on the next move (yes, the piece being taken :-] if the next move is a king-rook knight fork - it's already a two move blunder)
|May-08-12|| ||solskytz: I thought white had a horrible position already before the discovered threat on the Queen - probably already before taking the g-pawn with 'decoying' the queen in mind...|
I didn't like the idea of Qf3, then g3, then Qe2 - so artificial, so time wasting...
...d4 Nb1, so I think, already gives white an uncomfortable inferiority (though not yet a clearly losing game)
Maybe he said somewhere in the recesses of his unconsciousness - 'oh, to hell with it! I should be playing the opening better - this is the US championship for chrissake'
|May-08-12|| ||karnak64: Wow. This one even beats Christiansen vs Karpov, 1993.|
|May-08-12|| ||karnak64: Do you think they went to the analysis room after the game to replay it?|
|May-09-12|| ||superstoned: will this be GM Onischuk's lucky tournament?|
|May-09-12|| ||Granny O Doul: <Alex Magnus> Certainly not. For one, there is the game Blatny-Stripunky 1. Nf3 d6 2.c4 Bg4 3.h3 Bh5 4.Qb3 Qc8 5. Qb5+ Black resigns.|
<solskytzy> Most of the praise Fischer earned for that Reshevsky game was for subscribing to the right chess periodicals (I forget if it was 64 or Shakhmatny Bulletin from which Fischer learned of the ...Na5? trap.
|May-09-12|| ||JustWon: would have been worth a try in a bullet game, but doubt this Strip System will be seen again unless Magnus wants a challenge,|
|May-09-12|| ||King Death: <alexmagnus> Here's another one from a US championship and I saw this happen, 28 years later I still can't believe it! It was played in 1984 not 1986, so 28 years is right.|
K Shirazi vs J Peters, 1986
|May-09-12|| ||miamihurricane: Even Grandmasters need to work on one move tactics!|
|May-09-12|| ||whiteshark: S*it happens.|
|May-09-12|| ||zoren: I'm a big fan of the resulting Two Knights Variation,in the pawn structure after Qf3 because he can sit on the bishop pair until deep into the middlegame/endgame but after Qe2, it seems to me black gets his lions share... |
He was already forced to do something strange like 11.Na3 or 11.Kd1, sign that the position is not very good. Usually in these lines white can sit and play a3 / d3 and do nothing and I'm sure it was as much as an illusion as it was a "typical" routine move in this variation.
|May-09-12|| ||waustad: People keep saying that he probably thought the queen still protected it, but also he may have thought that the knight was in a different place and got move order mixed up in a prepared line. When Onischuk was interviewed afterwards he said that he was thinking, "Why can't I just take the bishop?", so he looked for a bit, looked up and saw that Stripunsky had resigned. He must have turned purple.|
|May-09-12|| ||vinidivici: can;t believe what i've just seen|
|May-10-12|| ||HeMateMe: This game is not from the USSR championships. I know this, because whoever was playing white would have been shipped off to the gulag to cut timber in Siberia.|
|May-10-12|| ||pericles of athens: since no one's said it yet i will...
"Alexander the Great"
|May-10-12|| ||Natalia Pogonina: This chess tragicomedy will be on many game collections, I guess. :)|
|May-10-12|| ||Jim Bartle: I see you benefited from an early blunder once as well. Not quite as obvious, but still: N Pogonina vs I Vasilevich, 2003|
|May-11-12|| ||beenthere240: That's a great opening trap! Unfortunately, it's hard to get people to fall for it ;-)|
|Aug-15-14|| ||Xeroxx: Triple question mark for da move.|
|May-12-18|| ||FSR: His Deluxe Caro-Kann.|
|May-12-18|| ||FSR: If you're wonder whether this is the quickest blunder or shortest loss in a U.S. Championship, the answer is "no." That would be K G Shirazi vs J Peters, 1984.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·