|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 381 OF 914 ·
Later Kibitzing> |
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: If I'm reading the comment to rule 9.02(c) correctly, the appeal on a half-swing does not have to be made immediately: <Appeals on a half-swing may only be made on the call of ball and when asked to appeal the home base umpire must refer to a base umpire for his judgment on the swing. Should the base umpire call the pitch a strike, the strike call shall prevail.Baserunners must be alert to the possibility that the base umpire on appeal may reverse the call of a ball to the call of a strike, in which event the runner is in jeopardy of being out by a catcher's throw. Also a catcher must be alert on a base stealing situation if a ball call is reversed to a strike by the base umpire upon appeal from the plate umpire. The ball is in play on appeal on a half swing.> Since the ball remains live, I would assume that the call can be appealed after the catcher throws to second. By the way, note that supposedly only the manager and catcher have this privilege, not the pitcher. So if say the count is 3 and 2 and the runner takes off while the batter checks his swing, I would have to assume that the catcher has the right to throw before appealing. To say he must wait would be unfair to the defense. If the ball call stands, then the throw is wasted, but it's hard to think that it wouldn't be made for strategical reasons. But here's a funny situation: the runner takes off, overslides second, and is tagged out before he gets back to the bag. He's out, even if the ball call stands. |
|
| May-18-12 | | Jim Bartle: I was not aware the appeal could be made later. That's interesting. But...3-2 pitch, ump calls a strike on a check swing, catcher throws the ball into centerfield and runner goes to third. Then the base umpire says no swing. Well, there's a runner on third instead of second. But let me understand. On a three-ball count, the home plate umpire calls a ball, the catcher fires to second as the runner slows down seeing the ball four call, he's tagged by the shortstop. Doesn't seem to matter, he's got second on the walk. Then the catcher appeals? Ump calls strike and we've got a double play. Of course these are major league players who shouldn't be throwing balls into centerfield and should run hard when stealing, so maybe it doesn't matter. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: <JB: But...3-2 pitch, ump calls a strike on a check swing, catcher throws the ball into centerfield and runner goes to third. Then the base umpire says no swing. Well, there's a runner on third instead of second.> If the home plate ump calls a strike, that's the end of the matter. The only appeal is for a pitch called a ball. <But let me understand. On a three-ball count, the home plate umpire calls a ball, the catcher fires to second as the runner slows down seeing the ball four call, he's tagged by the shortstop. Doesn't seem to matter, he's got second on the walk.Then the catcher appeals? Ump calls strike and we've got a double play.> Yes. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: Here's a game ending situation in the championship of a softball tournament I watched. One out, tie game, runners on first and second, line drive to the pitcher. Runner on second holds, but runner on first takes a few steps toward second. Ball is caught, two outs, then throw to first to double up that runner. Ball is thrown into right field. Runner on first is headed back to first when he sees the throw sail into right, and stops, and begins running to second. The ball is live, the runner on second is on the base after the catch, so he's free to advance. The runner on first never tagged up after the catch, so he's still liable to be doubled up. The right fielder gets the ball and throws home (he should have thrown to first), hoping to get the runner there, but wasn't in time. At that point, the defense walked off the field. Many fans were screaming for the fielding team to throw to first, but the appeal play, though the third out of the inning, would have failed to keep the run from scoring since that out would have been recorded after the runner crossed the plate. |
|
| May-18-12 | | Jim Bartle: "If the home plate ump calls a strike, that's the end of the matter. The only appeal is for a pitch called a ball." Honestly, I didn't know that. Now that I think about it, since it's only the catcher who appeals, it's obvious. The batter never appeals a strike call. King of dumb on my part. Overall it's a good rule, because the base umpire has a better view of how far the bat came forward than the home plate ump. |
|
| May-18-12 | | Jim Bartle: In that softball game, really dumb of the team on the field not to appeal at first. Not the rightfielder's fault, because he might not have seen, but certainly the first baseman and the manager should have noticed. My question is, after the exact same play, but if after the "winning" run scored, the team on the field had made the appeal to first, would the run have counted? Since that was the third out, I'm pretty sure it would have wiped out the run. If there had been no outs, the run would count and the game would be over. |
|
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: Again, the rulebook can be consulted at
http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y2... I think this is an appeal situation as covered by Rule 7.10: <Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when--(a) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to touch his original base before he or his original base is tagged.... Any appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play. If the violation occurs during a play which ends a half-inning, the appeal must be made before the defensive team leaves the field.> Like a force play, a later appeal can cancel runs that have scored. The rule gives the situation. Say there are two outs when a couple of runners score, but the first one misses the plate. If the first runner is later declared out on appeal, that cancels the run "scored" by the second runner. Then there is the famous "fourth out" possibility. Let's go back to <OCF>'s scenario, but say it's the eighth inning with one out and the bases loaded. Line drive to the pitcher is out two. Runner is off first, but pitcher throws wild into right field. Runner on third scores, but runner on second is thrown out at home for the third out. If the runner on first never retouched the bag, the defending can remain on the field, appeal at first, and get a "fourth out". This takes precedence on the play, and the run does not count. Or, even funnier, say the runner from first is eventually cut down trying to reach third. The defending team should still appeal to get their fourth out and cancel the runs, leaving the unusual situation where a runner makes two outs on the same play! |
|
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: I don't want to alarm anybody, but Justin Verlander is up to his old tricks tonight. |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: Yeah, I see that J.V. is losing to the Pirates (of all teams, 14-0). Those interceptions will kill ya. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: <My question is, after the exact same play, but if after the "winning" run scored, the team on the field had made the appeal to first, would the run have counted?> Yes. When the third out is recorded on a non-force play, the determining factor is which happened first, the runner touching home, or the out recorded. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: <Like a force play, a later appeal can cancel runs that have scored. The rule gives the situation. Say there are two outs when a couple of runners score, but the first one misses the plate. If the first runner is later declared out on appeal, that cancels the run "scored" by the second runner.> That's because the first runner didn't legally touch home plate. Once that is established, no subsequent runs can score. <Then there is the famous "fourth out" possibility. Let's go back to <OCF>'s scenario, but say it's the eighth inning with one out and the bases loaded. Line drive to the pitcher is out two. Runner is off first, but pitcher throws wild into right field. Runner on third scores, but runner on second is thrown out at home for the third out.If the runner on first never retouched the bag, the defending can remain on the field, appeal at first, and get a "fourth out". This takes precedence on the play, and the run does not count.> I disagree. I need to review the rules since it's been a while. |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: One down in the 9th... |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: There goes the no-no... |
|
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: Blast it, why weren't they playing at Pittsburgh? The only hit for the Pirates was by their DH! |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: Why a runner missing home plate ends an inning even if others behind him touched home: <Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding
runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third
out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play,
neither preceding nor following runners shall score.> Why the run in the softball game would count:
Rule 2.0 <Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter flies out. Two out. Runner
on third tags up and scores. Runner on first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first
baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in umpire’s judgment, the runner from
third touched home before the ball was held at first base, the run counts.> |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: Funny Dusty Baker story: http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/id/7... |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: Does this goes into the box score as HBP (2)? http://espn.go.com/boston/mlb/story... Speaking of box scores, this is from Jim Capel's CSI Column. I came no where close, because I never heard of any of these pitchers. http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2012/051... |
|
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: <OhioChessFan> The last couple of paragraphs under rule 7.10 (see the link I gave to the rules above) cover the "fourth out" possibility. True, I cannot find a direct quote stating that getting the third out on an appeal play cancels any runs that have scored during the play; however, there would be no use bothering with the "fourth out" were that not so. Of course, my logic may be flawed. |
|
May-18-12
 | | Phony Benoni: <WannaBe>: Here you go: http://www.retrosheet.org/boxesetc/... The key was realizing that Washington's pitchers threw only 8 2/3 innings. The home team can never do that unless the game is stopped due to weather or some other reason. From the pitchers, I knew it was a late 60s-early 70s game, and then it hit me. The expansion Washington Senators forfeited their last home game in 1971 when the fans stormed the field. Also note that no winning or losing pitcher is given. There are none in a forfeited game. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: <True, I cannot find a direct quote stating that getting the third out on an appeal play cancels any runs that have scored during the play; however, there would be no use bothering with the "fourth out" were that not so. Of course, my logic may be flawed.> Bases loaded. One out. Line drive to pitcher. Two outs. Throw to first gets to the outfield. Runner doesn't go back to first. Appeal is made and runner is called out. Runner from third crosses the plate before the appeal is made at first. Run scores. However, the runner from third misses home. Defense now appeals to that base. That runner is out, the 4th out, and the run doesn't score. |
|
May-18-12
 | | OhioChessFan: Why exactly did the fans storm the field? |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: <OCF> From http://espn.go.com/mlb/story/_/page... (very funny article, by the way) <CSI: Box Score Answer
This wasn't easy, but there were a couple clues. One, the innings pitched for the home team add up to only 8 2/3 instead of nine. Also, there is no winning or losing pitcher listed for either team. That wasn't due to an oversight; it was because this was the last home game the Senators played in 1971 before moving to Texas the next season. The Senators led 7-5 heading into the ninth; but with two outs, fans swarmed the field for souvenirs, prompting the umpires to halt play and declare a forfeit. That cost the Senators (and reliever Paul Lindblad) a victory in what would be the final major league game in Washington for more than three decades.> |
|
May-18-12
 | | WannaBe: Oh goodie, that Washington-storm-the-field game only took place about 45 days before I was born... Maybe I can ask my Mom about it. |
|
May-19-12
 | | Phony Benoni: Before you go here to find the answer (look for the paragraph on Verlander's one-hitter last night): http://espn.go.com/espn/elias
See if you can guess which major league team has gone the longest without being victims of a no-hitter. |
|
| May-19-12 | | Jim Bartle: When I saw that CSI box score, and Kekich as NY's starter, I immediately looked for Peterson as well, thinking it might be an early double switch. No such luck. |
|
 |
 |
|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 381 OF 914 ·
Later Kibitzing> |
|
|
|