< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·
|Jan-07-06|| ||Sneaky: <weltschmertz: i happen to know yudasin... a very nice man by the way... i will ask him about this next wednesday, when i see him next...> All in all, a very unremarkable incident (notice how Davies says 'one example'... I'm sure any GM active during that period could regale us with many more accounts of Soviet backroom dealings.) In any case I am very curious what Yusadin has to say about it. If he denies it, then I would say it's probably bunk, but if he affirms it then everybody (except of course ughaibu) should be pretty well convinced.|
So this was an active qualifier? What were the time controls for this game--30 minutes per side or something like that?
|Jan-07-06|| ||Sneaky: <How often does Karpov get checkmated?> A lot more often than the world will ever know ;-)|
|Jan-07-06|| ||ughaibu: Sneaky: This was the first European active championship, sounds to me like a fairly high profile event. So far I cant find any other source backing up Davies' claim. If Yudasin can explain how it was done so that nobody other than Davies has found it worth remarking on, I'll believe him.|
|Jan-07-06|| ||weltschmertz: Joshka,
i will see yudasin on wednesday, jan 11th, and i will ask him about this incident... i'm sure he'll give me the skinny on the whole matter, if indeed anything out the ordinary did occur.
|Jan-07-06|| ||Prugno: My first post here, but I want to share what I remember about this story!
It was a crucial game in the Rapid Chess European Championship. Apparently Karpov had a good position but overlooked a mate in one. However Yudasin was so excited that he started delivering the mate BEFORE Karpov had pressed the clock, even though he had released the piece and so would have been forced to move anyway.
Karpov would probably have accepted the loss, since he had no grounds for any complaint. The real scandal was the behaviour of the arbiter and organizers, who preferred the world n°2 to win the championship instead of an outsider, and so ordered the game to be replayed on grounds of "unsporting behaviour" by Yudasin or something like that.
The (predictable) result was the game you see above, and Karpov became European Rapid Chess champion.
I might be wrong about a few details, but several magazines reported on the incident at that time, so it should be easy for a collector to check it out.|
|Jan-07-06|| ||Karpova: Thanks for throwing some light on this incident.
And welcome to the site! I hope you enjoy your layover here.
|Jan-07-06|| ||WMD: <Now we have all read and heard that Bobby didn't drive. But I have also seen somewhere on some Fischer site a photocopy of Fischer's Nevada Driver's License.> |
According to Najdorf, Bobby did drive, albeit badly.
|Jan-07-06|| ||weltschmertz: joshka,
i think fischer did sometimes drive... but he hated driving... i remember reading somewhere that everytime he had to make a right turn on a red light he would let out an anguished shriek of fear...
|Jan-07-06|| ||WMD: <Bobby Fischer Ran Over My Cat And Other Stories>|
|Jan-09-06|| ||Larsker: <i think fischer did sometimes drive... but he hated driving... i remember reading somewhere that everytime he had to make a right turn on a red light he would let out an anguished shriek of fear...> "I'm a very good driver" (Rainman)|
|Jan-09-06|| ||alexandrovm: Karpov arrives at an active position and with a rook for a knight.|
|Jan-11-06|| ||weltschmertz: ok, i spoke with yudasin today about the circumstances behind this game... |
this game was in fact a replay of a game that yudasin had played that same day against karpov.
in that earlier game yudasin, then still just an IM, was being completely trounced by karpov. his position was in total ruins and he was playing on with a material deficit of a bishop and four pawns! at this point, with a full minute and a half left on his clock, karpov picked up his queen and put it down on D4 (maybe yudasin said D5--- even in english he speaks extremely quickly and softly) anyway, kaprov took his fingers off the queen for a milli-second, and then, realizing that he would be mated if he left it there, he quickly retreated the queen to guard the back rank... yudasin said, "i'm sorry grandmaster, but you took your hand off the queen and now i have mate in one" and then, according to yudasin, karpov looked at him "like a little child" and asked, "did i really do that?" yudasin apologized again, and said "yes"... without further comment karpov stood up, signed his scoresheet, and walked away, looking crushed...
now yudasin said he felt absolutely terrible about winning in this way. he said he played much of the game just marvelling at the skill with which karpov was orchestrating his attack... yudasin said he had been completely outmaneuvered and now he just didn't want to win in such a manner against such a player as karpov. so, he immediately went to karpov---- completely uncoerced--- i repeat--- he approached karpov entirely of his own volition, and asked him if he wanted to play the game again... karpov thanked him, and they played again...
according to yudasin, no arbiter was present at the time: they were not present at the conclusion of their first game, and were not aware that their subsequent play was actually their second game...
|Jan-11-06|| ||offramp: Thanks, Weltschmerz. That is a far more likely scenario than <Prugno> gave.|
|Jan-11-06|| ||KingG: <weltschmertz> Thanks for that. It's amazing the lenghts some people will go to smear Karpov's reputation.|
|Jan-11-06|| ||WMD: Are you accusing Davies of that?|
|Jan-11-06|| ||KingG: No comment.|
|Jan-11-06|| ||morpstau: no comment.|
|Jul-29-06|| ||OhioChessFan: Wellllllllllllll. The scenario <weltshmertz> suggested is certainly more plausible than the way it looked at first, but I am hard pressed to believe nobody noticed they started their game 4 hours late.|
|Jul-29-06|| ||keypusher: <Ohio Chess Fan> It was a rapid game. Still, even an hour seems like it would be pretty noticeable.|
|Jul-29-06|| ||Gypsy: <according to yudasin, no arbiter was present at the time: they were not present at the conclusion of their first game, and were not aware that their subsequent play was actually their second game...> In other words, all this happened under the radar; nobody paid much mind to some game or games of a former World Champion and still #2 rated player in the World?|
|Jul-29-06|| ||OhioChessFan: After further thought, I think the whole story is nonsense.|
|Jul-29-06|| ||ughaibu: So, definitely not an accurate observer?|
|Jul-29-06|| ||OhioChessFan: LOL <ughaibu> I have to question his credibility. Anyone who wonders what that is in reference to, check out: Jessie Gilbert|
|Jul-29-06|| ||stimp1024: I remember seeing this on TV at some point, it was an active game and Prugno is 90% right. However I believe the rules were touch clock not touch piece, so Karpov was about to press the clock when Yudasin played to deliver the mate (over excited but who wouldn't have been!). However Karpov hadn't actually moved under the rules, his clock was still ticking, so he could have changed his move. I think there was mass confusion at this point and an Arbiter stepped in, I think Karpov's flag may have fallen to boot! However I am pretty sure the end result was that the game was replayed and Karpov won.|
|Jul-30-06|| ||OhioChessFan: <Stimp1024>, yours is the only remotely plausible story. A takeback of a move under questionable circumstances was what I was expecting to find. However, if by "the game was replayed", you mean an entirely new game, I again have to reject that claim out of hand.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 2 OF 2 ·