chessgames.com
Members · Prefs · Laboratory · Collections · Openings · Endgames · Sacrifices · History · Search Kibitzing · Kibitzer's Café · Chessforums · Tournament Index · Players · Kibitzing

(If you register a free account you won't see all these ads!)
Akiba Rubinstein vs Aron Nimzowitsch
San Sebastian (1912), San Sebastian ESP, rd 22, Mar-19
Old Indian Defense: Normal Variation (A55)  ·  1-0
ANALYSIS [x]

FEN COPIED

Click Here to play Guess-the-Move
Given 20 times; par: 92 [what's this?]

Annotations by Emanuel Lasker.      [80 more games annotated by Lasker]

explore this opening
find similar games 21 more Rubinstein/Nimzowitsch games
sac: 16.Nxe5 PGN: download | view | print Help: general | java-troubleshooting

TIP: You can get computer analysis by clicking the "ENGINE" button below the game.

PGN Viewer:  What is this?
For help with this chess viewer, please see the Olga Chess Viewer Quickstart Guide.
PREMIUM MEMBERS CAN REQUEST COMPUTER ANALYSIS [more info]

Kibitzer's Corner
Dec-08-02  pawntificator: Nimzovich makes a horrible blunder on move 25, and Rubinstein makes one on move 26.
Oct-19-03  Green Bishop: That was mate in two. Incredible blunders for such great players in the same game!
Nov-25-03  Kandelabr: Mieses` comment after 25. Black`s move: "Both players were in a huge time trouble". This should explain these horrible blunders, I think.
Nov-25-03  Dick Brain: My theory: blunders come in bunches. Once Nimzo realized that he had lost a piece he became only interested in looking for a attacking shot rather than worry about counterattack. Then Rubenstein, being a piece up, was more concerned about defending black's initiative.
Feb-24-04
Premium Chessgames Member
  meloncio: In "My System" Nimzovich comment on his defeat, but finishes the game in move 24. He writes "24. Rd2, and black resigns". Was he ashamed about the rest of the game?
Feb-24-04
Premium Chessgames Member
  meloncio: Of course, I mean 24. Rf2 ...
Sep-12-04  sneaky pete: <meloncio> The original German edition reads (translated) <24.Rf2 .. and white won>, so not Nimzovich but the translator of your edition is responsible. I can well imagine AN considered the rest of the game unfit as instructional material.
Nov-20-06  syracrophy: Now I see it: 26.♕xf7+ ♔h8 27.♗xg7# or 27.♕xg7#. What a disgraceful miss!
Dec-17-06  Archives: This is from the last round of the San Sebastian tournament in 1912.

Nimzowitsch had the chance to win his first grandmaster tournament here. He failed and lost the game ending only on a second shared prize.

Jan-05-07
Premium Chessgames Member
  Jonathan Sarfati: Something of an anticlimax after Rubinstein's masterful play earlier, undermining the N on f4.
Apr-16-07  BadTemper: almost as bad as kramnik's selfmate in 1
Apr-25-07  Archives: Heading into the last round Nimzovitch was leading Rubinstein by half a point. <The Field> of March 23 describes the action:

"Rubinstein v. Nimzovitch. - The most important game of the tournament, highly so to the two players, and particularly to Rubinstein. The difference between winning and losing was at least 3500fr. - a fair stake for a game of chess. If he won he gained the first prize, 5000fr., and if he lost he might have obtained fourth place, 1500fr., or even divided that amount with Dr Tarrasch, who still had an ending to finish with Dr Perlis. To gain the first prize he had to beat Nimzovitch - no easy task even though he had the first move.

"Nimzovitch, who had only to play for a draw, avoided his opponent's favourite Queen's pawn variation with an irregular defense; but after five moves the opening became a Philidor Defense [Sic. actually an Old Indian], which Rubinstein developed steadily, retaining the advantage of the first move, while Nimzovitch kept a cramped position. A quiet defensive attitude would have only increased the first player's advantage, so Nimzovitch boldy resolved upon a counter attack, which he conducted with great vigor, and in so complicated a manner that it was difficult to judge who had the better game. In these trying circumstances, Rubinstein, keeping cool and collected, emerged from the attack with a piece ahead; but even then Nimzovitch stuck to his guns, still trying for a draw, and only gave in when the last hope was gone. It is to be regretted that this interesting game should be marred by Rubinstein overlooking a mate in two moves - and Nizmovitch as well - which every one of the spectators saw."

Nov-13-07
Premium Chessgames Member
  kingscrusher: Nimzovich in My system made a convincing case as though White was winning after Nxe5, because of the d-file central control vs the supposedly easily to refute flank crude king attack.

But instead of 18..Bxf1, would Nimzovich have been able to hold with Bg4 :


click for larger view

Rybka thinks Bg4 and black might be okay

e.g.


click for larger view

Rubinstein,A - Nimzowitsch,A, Blitz:3'


click for larger view

Analysis by Rybka 2.2n2 mp 32-bit :

1. = (0.06): 19...Nxe5 20.Qxf4 Nf3+ 21.Kg2 Nxe1+ 22.Rxe1 Qxf4 23.gxf4 Rd8 24.Re3 g6 25.Rd3 Rxd3 26.Bxd3 2. (0.30): 19...Qxe5 20.gxf4 Qh5 21.Be2 Bb4 22.Qxb4 Bxe2 23.Rxe2 Qxe2 24.Nc3 Qg4+ 25.Kf1 Qh3+ 3. (1.54): 19...Ne2+ 20.Bxe2 Nxe5 21.Bxg4 Nxg4 22.Qf4 Qe6 23.Qf5 Re8 24.Qxe6 fxe6 25.Rf1 Bc5 4. (1.54): 19...Nh3+ 20.Bxh3 Nxe5 21.Bxg4 Nxg4 22.Qf4 Qe6 23.Qf5 Re8 24.Qxe6 fxe6 25.Rf1 Bc5 5. (3.16): 19...Qe6 20.Bxf4 Bxd1 21.Rxd1 Nc5 22.f3 Qf6 23.Qf2 Rd8 24.e5 6. (3.22): 19...Qe7 20.Bxf4 Bxd1 21.Qxd1 f6 22.Bc1 Nc5 23.Nd2 Rd8 24.Qf3 7. (3.30): 19...Qg6 20.Bxf4 Nc5 21.Rc1 Nxe4 22.Qa5 Qf5 23.Qxf5 Bxf5 24.Be3 8. (3.88): 19...Qd8 20.Bxf4 Qe8 21.Be2 Bxe2 22.Qxe2 Bb4 23.Bd2 Be7 24.Qh5

Could it be that it really does depend on the positoin and even this theory of control of the center being able to generally beat off king-attacks still needs qualification - even in this classic encounter.

May-14-09  WhiteRook48: 25 Bd4???
Sep-29-11  sevenseaman: My first reaction is '<Akiba> has whipped a win out of <Nimzo>.
Jan-21-12
Premium Chessgames Member
  offramp: There is an oddity about what would be the winning move 26.Qxf7+, in that the only piece preventing the queen from being captured cannot in fact move. It is pinned.

But as we all know actuality precedes potentiality. So even if black could play 26...Kxf7 his king would be captured by the rook before black has time to take the white king with his bishop.

Feb-03-12  RookFile: Games like this make you appreciate what it was said of Lasker:

"He may lose a game, but never his head."

Apr-13-12  lemaire90: I appreciate those notes.
Dec-10-12  pericles of athens: Next time I miss an obvious combination I won't feel quite so bad :)
May-08-17
Premium Chessgames Member
  offramp: Sometimes in time trouble I play a sequence of moves, then freeze, thinking "Hang on, last move I think I could have played Qxf7+...." I reconstruct the position in my head as best I can, "Yeah, I could have done!" Pointlessly thinking about what moves I might have missed earlier while my clock is ticking down.
NOTE: You need to pick a username and password to post a reply. Getting your account takes less than a minute, totally anonymous, and 100% free--plus, it entitles you to features otherwise unavailable. Pick your username now and join the chessgames community!
If you already have an account, you should login now.
Please observe our posting guidelines:
  1. No obscene, racist, sexist, or profane language.
  2. No spamming, advertising, or duplicating posts.
  3. No personal attacks against other members.
  4. Nothing in violation of United States law.
  5. No posting personal information of members.
Blow the Whistle See something that violates our rules? Blow the whistle and inform an administrator.


NOTE: Keep all discussion on the topic of this page. This forum is for this specific game and nothing else. If you want to discuss chess in general, or this site, you might try the Kibitzer's Café.
Messages posted by Chessgames members do not necessarily represent the views of Chessgames.com, its employees, or sponsors.
Spot an error? Please submit a correction slip and help us eliminate database mistakes!
This game is type: CLASSICAL (Disagree? Please submit a correction slip.)

Featured in the Following Game Collections [what is this?]
Akiba the Great
by BAJones
Game 27
from Wonders and Curiosities of Chess (Chernev) by Qindarka
Round 22
from San Sebastian 1912 by Archives
Mate in two missed by both
from Grandmaster Blunders by alexmagnus
Rubinstein misses mate in two
from When masters overlook mate by MKD
Nimzo neglects the centre
from Learn from the great Rubinstein by timothee3331
Old Indian Defense: Normal (A55) 1-0 Notes by 4 GMs!
from Annotations by Various Authorities & Fredthebear by fredthebear
Old Indian Defense: Normal (A55) 1-0 Notes by 4 GMs!
from Deep Six Defenses to the Bottom of the Sea by fredthebear
26. ?
from Amaurosis Scacchistica by Scardini
It happens to even the best
from Missed Opportunities & Misfires by Benzol
zumakal blunders archivadas1
by zumakal
Rubinstein and Nimzowitsch both miss a simple mate in two.
from Outrageous Blunders by Zzyw
Curiosities
by Poohavez
Game 18
from Decisive Games (Pachman) by Qindarka
Old Indian, Main line
from Chess has something magic .... by arielbekarov
Great Games: 1900-1929
by ARubinstein
25...Bc5??? allows mate-in-2, but 26.Bd4?? lets White escape.
from Unbelievable Moves! (er, unbelievably bad ones) by 1. h4
Can you believe these fish were deciding an elite tournament?
from Unbelievable Blunders by Masters by Oliveira


home | about | login | logout | F.A.Q. | your profile | preferences | Premium Membership | Kibitzer's Café | Biographer's Bistro | new kibitzing | chessforums | Tournament Index | Player Directory | Notable Games | World Chess Championships | Opening Explorer | Guess the Move | Game Collections | ChessBookie Game | Chessgames Challenge | Store | privacy notice | contact us
Copyright 2001-2018, Chessgames Services LLC