< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 4 OF 4 ·
|Sep-15-12|| ||bachbeet: I saw the move and the resulting moves but after taking the Q, white's advantage isn't all that great because black takes white's R. Then white takes the knight and is up only a bishop. It will take a while to promote a pawn so it's not as decisive as other wins. I guess that is one of the reasons it's a "very difficult" puzzle.|
|Sep-15-12|| ||bachbeet: So, Qd6 was a mistake by black.|
|Sep-15-12|| ||jancotianno: I went with 34. Qxc4 dxc4 35. Rxd8 Rxd8 36. Rxd8 Nf6 then 37. Bxf6 Qxf6 followed by 38. Rd7 simplifying the position to a win i didn't even think to look at 37. Rf8.|
|Sep-15-12|| ||agb2002: White has a bishop for a knight and a pawn.
The black king lacks legal moves. This suggests a quick attack starting with 34.Qxc4, opening the d-file to invade the first black ranks with one or two rooks:
A) 34... dxc4 35.Rxd8
A.1) 35... Rxd8 36.Rxd8 Nf6 37.Bxf6 Qxf6 38.Rd7
A.1.a) 38... Qg7 39.Rxg7 Kxg7 40.Ne6+ Kf6 41.Nxc5 Ke5 42.f3 (to close the path to d3) 42... c3 (42... Kd5 43.Na4 followed by Nc3 and the black king is blocked) 43.Kf1 c2 44.Nd3+ Kd5 45.Ke2 Kc4 46.Kd2 + -.
A.1.b) 38... Qxg5+ 39.hxg5+ Kxg5 40.Rc7 + -.
A.2) 35... Re8 36.R1d7 looks crushing (36... Nf6 37.Bxf6 Qxf6 38.Rh7#).
B) 34... Nxe3 35.Qf4 Nxd1 36.Nf7+ Kh7 37.Qh6+ Kg8 38.Qg7#.
|Sep-15-12|| ||sorokahdeen: QxC4 with pain to follow.|
|Sep-15-12|| ||master of defence: Well, 35...Qf3 threatening mate, is best than 35...Rxd8.|
|Sep-15-12|| ||Archerforthelord: 35...Qf3 36. Nxf3|
|Sep-15-12|| ||bharat123: Nobody discussed 37.Rd6 Qxd6 39.Nf7+|
|Sep-15-12|| ||morfishine: <Abdel Irada> Thanks for taking a look! You are absolutely right, 35...Re8 isn't forced. I felt that <35...Rxd8 36.Rxd8> just looked so awful for Black, I couldn't imagine it being played.|
This leads to another point: I would think a GM would resign on the spot after <34.Qxc4>. But we almost always see 5 or 6 more moves in these type situations. Why do you think that is? Do you think the loser is simply giving the winner the satisfaction of playing out the win?
I recall the Byrne vs Fischer brilliancy (1963) R Byrne vs Fischer, 1963
In the notes, Fischer was disappointed he couldn't play the final combination of his brilliancy, namely <23...Re1+> [since Byrne resigned so quickly].
|Sep-15-12|| ||morfishine: <sorokahdeen> On your comment <34.Qxc4> with pain to follow|
I think that about sums it up
|Sep-15-12|| ||Jacob Arnold: Hmmm..... I saw this one almost immediately. Qxc4! seems very obvious....|
|Sep-15-12|| ||Cool a GM X Puzzle: Cool, an FM Hesse puzzle !|
|Sep-16-12|| ||Abdel Irada: <Cool a GM X Puzzle>: <Cool, an FM Hesse puzzle !>|
I see we have someone with a second account, apparently created solely to ridicule <LTJ>. Surely, if you object to anything he does here, there are better and more mature ways to do it.
|Sep-16-12|| ||Abdel Irada: <Jimfromprovidence>: While the line you present is indeed interesting, it seems to me that 34. ...e5 is a futile move. If nothing else, White can simply take the knight (35. xe5) without fundamentally changing the position — except in that Black no longer has the knight to defend with.|
|Sep-16-12|| ||Once: <Abdel Irada> Very well said! We really don't need another flame war around here.|
To <Cool a GM X Puzzle>, whoever you are ... please take a look at the posting guidelines. Rule 3 says "No personal attacks against other users."
That applies to everybody. And, no, the rule isn't waived if the person you are attacking has broken rule 3 themselves. Two wrongs don't make a right.
|Sep-16-12|| ||Abdel Irada: <Once>: <Two wrongs don't make a right.>|
True. But three lefts do.
|Sep-16-12|| ||Once: I heard a lovely joke the other day. A professor of linguistics was addressing a group of students. He said: "In some cultures a double negative is a strongly accentuated negative. In other countries, a double negative cancels the negativity out. It becomes positive. But in no country does a double positive ever become a negative."|
At which point, one student muttered: "yeah, right."
|Sep-16-12|| ||Abdel Irada: Reminds me of the one about the professor who told his students, "Question authority" until one of them replied, "Why?"|
|Sep-16-12|| ||Once: Or the Oxford philosophy exam question: "Is this a question?".|
To which one wag wrote: "Yes, if this is an answer"
|Sep-16-12|| ||Richard Taylor: I just realised I got mixed up - it was Smejkal who played well most of the game only to drift then blunder. Good shot by Hesse!|
|Sep-16-12|| ||Richard Taylor: " Once: I heard a lovely joke the other day. A professor of linguistics was addressing a group of students. He said: "In some cultures a double negative is a strongly accentuated negative. In other countries, a double negative cancels the negativity out. It becomes positive. But in no country does a double positive ever become a negative."|
No, in whatever country it really depends on emphasis and context. In logic the double negatives cancel but not necessarily in English. The "rules" are arbitrary.
But if you want clarity in say an emergency double negatives are bad news...
|Sep-16-12|| ||bachiller: I have known that lovely joke for years ... in Spanish ("sí, sí" properly pronounced is an ironic form of negation). I didn't know it translated into English as well.|
Once's posts are always
a pleasure to read. Thanks.
|Sep-16-12|| ||Once: <Richard> Two things: |
First, it's a joke.
Second, this article explains how different cultures apply different rules to double negatives:
It is tempting to think that we should apply the rules that we use to every other culture. That Johnny Foreigner should do it like we do it. Reality is a little more complicated.
One intriguing thing about the English language (UK and US english) is the influence of Samuel Johnson's dictionary in 1755 (and to a lesser extent Lowth's Grammar in 762). Up until then, double negatives in Enlish had intensified the negative (as you can see from Chaucer). But both Johnson and Lowth tried to apply classical principles, such as the ban on split infinitives and the idea of a double negative meaning a positive.
|Sep-16-12|| ||francis2012: Got this one also, the motif is simple to mate the black in h-file with the starting move xc4! black should take , dxc4 but after xd8 black is in serious trouble|
|Sep-20-12|| ||rannewman: <master of defence: <rannewman> Maybe 36.Bg7+ Kxg7 37.R1d7+ and mates.>
how is that a mate after 37...Kg8?|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 4 OF 4 ·