< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·
|May-14-07|| ||kevin86: This week's theme seems to have been to martial rooks and queens along a file to attack the opposing king. Today was a special case in that the attack was against a uncastled king.|
|May-14-07|| ||fm avari viraf: The only way to keep the pressure going is to sac Nxe6 so that Black's King is caught in the center & rest of his pieces will remain back rank watching the battle. White beautifully conducted the rest of the game with great vigour & style.|
|Aug-03-07|| ||Zorilla: Why doesn't black take ... 14 QxP? I cant see why.|
|Nov-17-07|| ||zealouspawn: i think it's becuase then the white rook can shift to the b file and chase the queen away, after which it will get on black's 7th rank|
|Nov-17-08|| ||Dr.Zoidberg: nice way to play a game...|
|Jan-11-09|| ||Phony Benoni: 15.Nxe6 is an instinctive sort of sacrifice, and not hard to find. It's the slow-motion Bb3-d1-g4 maneuver that really impresses me, especially when Black can't find a saving defense despite having all day.|
|Jan-11-09|| ||Jim Bartle: I sure hope Makarichev made the knight sacrifice with intuition, not calcuation. I can't even conceive of seeing far enough ahead for that bishop maneuver.|
|Aug-15-13|| ||Kingsfoot: 23.....Rf8 then 24.Ba6--if Q gets off the
4th rank--then--25.Qc8++ if 24....NxB then--25.RxQ..NxR.&W should win!? No?
|Oct-04-15|| ||Penguincw: It's Sunday. Now what moves are just screaming out to be played. I see a knight sac on e6 and f7, so got that part right. :)|
|Oct-04-15|| ||Chessgames Bookie: Dear <cg> puzzle solvers,|
Betting on Game 4 of the World Cup is open: ChessBookie Game.
Good luck! Today could be the last day of the Summer 2015 leg.
|Oct-04-15|| ||stacase: I got the first three moves. How many moves ahead are we supposed to see ahead in order to proclaim to the world, "I got it!"|
|Oct-04-15|| ||jith1207: <stacase>: Like I do, I tell "I got it" every few minutes every hour on Sunday until I truly get it on Monday morning.|
|Oct-04-15|| ||An Englishman: Good Evening: Giving myself 0.9 credits for this one. Solved it, but this has been a puzzle before and I might have unconsciously remembered the position. Still, 6.9/7 represents my best weekly result in a loooooong time.|
|Oct-04-15|| ||Once: <stacase: I got the first three moves. How many moves ahead are we supposed to see ahead in order to proclaim to the world, "I got it!">|
We've debated that question many times. Some folks think that we ought to see right to the end to claim a puzzle as solved. Others are happy just to see the first move.
I tend to work on the basis of whether I would be sure enough of the continuation in order to be able to play it over the board. In many of our more complicated puzzles, I don't think the player calculated every possible permutation of move and counter-move. There would be an element of judgement that an attack ought to be enough to win.
Today's puzzle carries on for 12 moves sides after the initial 15. Nxe6. Did Makarichev calculate all of that? I doubt it. I expect that his calculation would have taken him so far and then his chess intuition would have told him that the position ought to be favourable for him.
In the end, the only competition is with ourselves. We each need to decide what "solved" looks like.
|Oct-04-15|| ||offramp: <stacase: I got the first three moves. How many moves ahead are we supposed to see ahead in order to proclaim to the world, "I got it!">|
Good question! My answer is: 1.
If I find the correct first move I consider that I have solved the puzzle.
|Oct-04-15|| ||hcgflynn: How about 20. - Qxb2?|
|Oct-04-15|| ||wooden nickel: <A strong player requires only a few minutes of thought to get to the heart of the conflict. You see a solution immediately, and half an hour later merely convince yourself that your intuition has not deceived you. -Bronstein>
I partly got it!|
|Oct-04-15|| ||stacase: Thanks for all the responses. I have a personal rule that I don't post unless I get the first move. But that most of the time, well for probably Wednesday on, that doesn't mean, "I got it!"|
Today bein' Sunday an' all I felt good about seein' the first three, but it sort of dint just play its own self after that.
|Oct-04-15|| ||morfishine: Very impressive game by Makarichev. Very few examples exist of Alburt being outmaneuvered like this. While the sac on <e6> was impressive enough, the Bishop maneuver to <g4> was striking in its powerful simplicity (as noted by <Phony Benoni>); but combine this with a virtual gun or tripling on the e-file, and thats way too much for anyone to handle|
Its irrelevant how far Makarichev calculated, though without a doubt, he saw the entire line, clearly calculated, well before the sac on <e6>. He is, after all, a master at chess, and seeing/calculating ahead, in many cases up to 20-moves or more, is standard stuff for masters.
What defines a "solved" puzzle is murky at best with the POTD because these are technically not "puzzles" like what one would find in a chess puzzle book, but positions taken from actual games. Since there are frequently many winning lines as well as variable move-orders that result in a winning position, it would be inaccurate to say one didn't "solve" the puzzle, though they found a winning method. <jimfromprovidence> is an expert at alternatives
|Oct-04-15|| ||patzer2: For today's Sunday puzzle, we've been treated to a surprise demolition combination with GM Sergey Makarichev's 15. Nxe6!! winning against Lev Alburt in an off-the-beaten-path variation of GM Alburt's favorite Alekhine defense.|
Former three-time US Champion GM Alburt was, in his day, the world's top expert and practitioner of the Alekhine defense. As a matter of fact, Alburt played the Alekhine more often with the Black pieces than any other opening line, consistently meeting 1. e4 with 1...Nf6.
Here, in this game, Alburt deviates slightly from the beaten path with 5...c6 =, avoiding the more popular 5...e6 = as in E Torre vs Baburin, 2004.
However 5...c6 = does't seem to cause any problems as Alburt's
first slight mistake doesn't appear to occur until the not-so-obvious <13...Be7?!>, allowing 14. Bd2 (+0.73 @ 23 depth, Deep Fritz 14).
Instead of <13...Be7?!>, Fritz indicates Black can fully equalize with 13...dxe5 = when play might continue 14. Bd2 Qe7 15. dxe5 h6 16. Nf3 Nd7 = (-0.15 @ 22 depth, Deep Fritz 14).
|Oct-04-15|| ||The Kings Domain: Heh, this is one of those tough ones where the right answer is just under one's nose. Good game.|
|Oct-04-15|| ||1stboard: What is wrong with for black's 16th move ... K-d7 ? instead of the text move ??|
|Oct-04-15|| ||1stboard: Zorilla: Why doesn't black take ... 14 QxP? I cant see why.|
zealouspawn: i think it's becuase then the white rook can shift to the b file and chase the queen away, after which it will get on black's 7th rank
I agree with Zealouspawn on his comment - R(f)b1 followed by exb7 followed by ruin and destruction, nothing like a rook on the 7th rank ....
|Oct-04-15|| ||reticulate: I'm with Phony Benoni on this one. I "saw" pretty much everything EXCEPT the need to get the bishop to G4. Everything I tried after 23. Rae1 seemed to lead to a big advantage for White, but I couldn't find the clincher, which is the almost leisurely relocation of the bishop to the king side. Impressive.|
|Oct-04-15|| ||agb2002: I didn't find the time for this puzzle today.|
< Earlier Kibitzing · PAGE 3 OF 3 ·